We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

stayed two nights in ballyliffin lodge and would highly recommend,the service, great staff and spacious clean rooms all added up to make it a great stay .excellent menu and really good value. fantastic leisure facilities would most definately go back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lol82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, Customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post your great comments on trip advisor, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been to a number of weddings over the past few years in this hotel and found the food and service to be excerllent. We had the opportunity to stay there last night and were not disapointed. The room was spotlessly clean with one of the most comfortable beds i have slept in, the staff were more than helpful and the spa facilities very relaxing. We had eveningmeal in the restaurant 5 star dining, and the breakfast the following morning was no disapointment.
Donegal being one of the most ruggedly scenic places in Ireland Ballyliffin and surrounding area are among the top ten.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donegaldanny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review , i am delighted you were able to enjoy an overnight stay here recently and that it lived up to your expectations. Your kind comments on our food and hotel are very much appreciated. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards from all at the Ballyliffin Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We last stayed here in May 2011 and my review at the time was less than favourable. I am pleased, however, to report that having just spent 3 nights at the Lodge, standards have returned, A refurbishment carried out since last time works really well. The bar and restaurant now flow into one, although with distinct areas. While this may not please everyone, it works for us. The quality of food has improved and the choice of both the set menus and the a la carte is excellent. Service from the friendly and helpful waiting staff is beyond reproach. The Spa and pool area is not exclusively for use of hotel residents, being used for various classes and by local schools. While these community based activities are commendable, it would be useful to have this knowledge prior to booking, especially if you are planning an early evening swim, only to find 15 ladies of a certain vintage engaging in a vigorous water aerobic session!

We received a room upgrade and enjoyed wonderful views of Pollan Bay and the sweeping Atlantic - what more could you ask for?

A large blue sign over the entrance is a little bit unnecessary, but otherwise, we fully enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms on the first floor - Room 104 is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurence_kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest, We were delighted to welcome you back to the hotel during the week and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We believe the refurbishment work done in the last 12 months has worked really well and is complimented by many of our return guests.
Swimming lessons are given to the local schools during the week and we restrict children's hours to 9am - 7 pm to allow adults quiet time in the pool but we do have an adults aqua aerobics session twice a week in the evening time which last about an hour and i am sorry if this disrupted your evening swim. Your kind comments on our staff and food will be passed onto the rest of the team here at the lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My Husband and I are just back from two days at this hotel and we will definitely be returning. From start to finish we were made to feel special. We had to change our original booking because of a hospital appointment and Lisa on the reception was so understanding and helpful. The hotel itself is gorgeous with some lovely features - loved the entrance hall and the room we stayed in was bright and clean with lovely views. We ate in the Bar on both nights and the choice and quality of food was excellent. Breakfast was a real feast with everything and more one would expect to have.

We used the pool area twice and perhaps if there was one area I felt needed looked at it would be this. Sauna and Jacuzzi definitely needed some attention. Having said that the pool and steam room were fine.

However, having said all this the main advantage of this hotel was it's staff - they were all absolutely amazing and I mean ALL. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they were so friendly and helpful. They are a real asset to this hotel which I feel is very important.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking a nice place to stay, lovely food and friendly staff. Many thanks to you all for making our break so special.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripster056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were made feel special,our staff are a great asset to the hotel and enjoy ensuring each and every one of our guests has an enjoyable time with us. The sauna and Jacuzzi are in perfect working order so i am unsure of what needs attention here but i will ask our maintenance team to have a look at them. Your recommendations will be very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I recently attended a wedding in the Donegal area. We stayed in the Ballyliffin Lodge where the wedding reception took place. From arrival we were made welcome by the friendly staff. The rooms were comfortable and clean with coffee making facilities.. First night we eat in the bar where the food was delicious and plenty of choice. Breakfast in the morning was just as good. The wedding reception the following day was just perfect, the food was fresh and hot and very tasty considering the numbers catered for.
The hotel have special deals on at various times during the year, the next one appears I will be booking.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms at the front with the balcony, beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budgie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just back from a two night stay and I cannot praise this hotel enough the staff and facilities are second to none I even indulged in a spa treatment and was treated like royalty from start to finish needless to say we will be staying here again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lurganasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked the ballyliffin hotel and spa through a group on deal.
Stayed on February 2013 for a two night stay.
We brought our 9 year old daughter and we were able to add her to the booking for €25 per night.
As it was my wife's birthday we upgraded to a bigger room which wad extremely spacious with 2 sofas which turned into beds ( which my daughter loved).
Everyone was extremely helpful anf friendly. We had the Sunday carvery which was average but all the other meals we had were of the highest standard.
If your looking to relax and chill out this is definitely the place.
Ballyliffin has little to do which suited us fine.
Lovely beach to walk along with a park of the kids.
Would like to return at a later date.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
379 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
335 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
935 reviews
21.3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range: $109 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing