We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just returned from this hotel after staying for a two night groupon deal. We upgraded to one of the two luxurious suites with a massive jacuzzi in the room overlooking the bay with a total of three sea views! (room 116) Well worth the extra money. Hotel was spotless, staff very helpful and friendly and enjoyed delicious warm scones with little pots of fresh cream and jam with a pot of tea in Jacks Bar after a cold walk in the afternoon. We also ate that night in Jacks Bar and found the food to be excellent and extremely good value for money. We arrived on Sunday in time for the carvery which was also was excellent value at 13.50 euro each for two courses. (Three courses available, but dont think we could have managed it!)
An excellent stay and cant think of any negatives at all, we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, Customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi Claire, thank you for your lovely review on our hotel, you really did get to enjoy all the treats ballyliffinlodge has to offer from our delicious Sunday carvery, afternoon tea and of course the best room in the hotel, a real treat! Your comments will be shared with the rest of the team here and thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    203
    80
    37
    25
See reviews for
277
431
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Bedrooms and the public rooms are excellent, as is the leisure centre, but the food is a major let down! Treated by our kids and we upgraded to an executive room which was superb. Enjoyed the whole place, the pub grub was reasonable but the main restaurant was poor. The waiting staff were inexperienced, and the tables lacked dressing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, Customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your comments on our hotel, I'm sorry you did not have a good dining experience in our restaurant, Your feedback is very much appreciated and will certainly be passed on to our restaurant manager for addressing. Many thanks and i hope you will return to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

On a two day mid-week groupon offer my wife and I really hit the jackpot with this hotel. Stunning location close to beach with excellent walks. All staff at reception,restaurant,bars and chambermaids make your stay very enjoyable with high levels of professionalism in their respective roles coupled with a very warm welcome. Standard room is very comfortable,large king size bed and single bed. For a real treat consider upgrading to superior or executive room with sea views and extras. Range of food available in bar and restaurant is excellent quality and value prepared to a very high standard by the chef. Leisure facilities are first class swimming pool,sauna,steamroom and jacuzzi are all well maintained and free to guests.We highly recommend this hotel for any kind of stay.

Room Tip: consider superior or executive room for superb seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your kind review and your comments about our staff which are very much appreciated. Your review will be shared with the rest of team here at Ballyliffin Lodge, I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The recession has taken its toll in one very welcome manner on Irish hotels: they are generally friendlier places as staff now seem to care more about their role and are better at it because that is how they know they will survive. I got a great warm welcome at Ballyliffin Lodge at reception and the lady I dealt with at the leisure centre was that lovely mixture of professionalism, courtesy and charm. Actually, so was the receptionist. Big comfy room, complimentary wi-fi, nice furniture, a good hot shower and a homely feel throughout made my one night here a pleasure. Had a good filling meal in the bar/restaurant and got very attentive, but not overbearing, service throughout. Some of the fixtures and fittings were a little loose in my bedroom, but really it was very well appointed. My complaints are extremely minor ones and would not put me off returning. A lovely place - the gym and swimming pool were great and I got to have a good chat with some of the people living locally who were using the leisure centre. So glad I found this tucked-away gem.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry_Callaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Mr Callaghan, thank you for your wonderful review on our hotel. Our staff are a real credit to the hotel and do their best to ensure our guests enjoy their time with us. A warm welcome awaits you on your return visit. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I spent two nights with my wife. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful. Check-in was quick and friendly. Our room was excellent and very comfortable. The food in the bar is very reasonable with a good choice. We used the spa and leisure area which was relaxing and well worth a visit if using the hotel. The nearby beach is excellent for a walk even in the snow !!. The views from the front room are out of this world and a relaxing afternoon can be spent here. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing few days away and will definately be back. Keep up the good work and service

Room Tip: If you want to splash out a bit more upgrade your room for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishrambler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review on our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Ballyliffin Lodge. Our superior rooms with wonderful sea views of pollen bay are well worth the upgrade indeed. Your recommendations are very much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed one night with a large group of family an friends, celebrating a special birthday. Rooms very nice an cosy & very warm, staff so friendly lets us book in early. Had a spa treatment, a wonderful experience an friendly staff couldn't do enough. We also used the leisure facilities. Celebrated my birthday in the restaurant, meal was lovely an we were given few bottles of complimentary wine. I had a wonderful time an so did all my friends can't wait to go back with my family. Would recommend this hotel for their excellence in food, value for money an most certainly the friendly mannerism of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandNoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here just after Christmas for a few days, had a great break, staff very efficient,helpful and friendly.Food was great and very good value for money.Great spot for a few days away, beach beautiful, great for walking on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
129 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,891 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
324 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
898 reviews
21.3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Property: Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing