We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really friendly relaxed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Omagh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really friendly relaxed hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here with 6 family members and it was a great experience with the surrounding countryside being absolutely amazing. The staff were very friendly and evening meals were very well priced for such quality food. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 317SandraA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi Sandra,

Many thanks for posting your kind review and im glad to learn you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will be passed on to the rest of the team here and i hope to see you back again soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    198
    77
    35
    24
See reviews for
257
418
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed on a Groupon deal. I telephoned to book 2 twin rooms and asked for upgrades and quote for same, we were booked into the 2 balcony rooms. Our reason for upgrades were some reviews said the Attic rooms are small. (Some of my group are clausaphobic). On checking into our rooms we discovered double beds and had to ask twice to have them changed into twin beds. Female at reception not at all helpful. When checking out at reception with another female we were told a different price than had been quoted for upgrades so we requested to speak to the Manager, who turned out to be the person I had spoke to on the phone. After quite a lengthy discussion and asking for the Groupon Voucher where I had written down the quotes and their refusal to get the voucher we were able to proceed with the original quote. Again let down by reception staff. The staff in Jacks bar were very friendly. The Spa is lovely and the staff in the Spa were fantastic. Lovely hotel and Spa but let down by Reception Staff that we encountered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shootingstar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, cus at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, im sorry you felt our reception team let you down during your time with us. We do our best to keep all our guests happy and try to respond to requests as quickly as possible, the delay in getting your beds split was down to our housekeeping department being finished for the day so we had to call someone in to do this for you which was within the hour. We have a set rate for Superior upgrades of €25 per night which was confirmed by confirmation email also but im sorry that this wasn't explained to you properly at the time of your enquiry by phone. I believe this issue of the upgrade cost was rectified on departure amicably . I do hope this experience would not put you off returning to the Ballyliffin Lodge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for 2 days last week on a Groupon offer, the deal was £99 sterling for two nights bed and breakfast. It would be difficult to find fault with this hotel. The room was a very good size and spotlessly clean. The.staff were warm & welcoming. The food was lovely and the leisure facilities first class. To cap it all...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Patrick, Many thanks for posting your kind review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. Your comments are very much appreciated and will be passed on to the rest of the team. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Having booked into the bridal suite, we were greated at reception by an extremely friendly informative lady. The room was fantastic with sea views, a king size bed and a huge jacuzzi. The bathroom was tiled floor to ceiling and had a twin rose head shower. Evening meals in the resturant was a culernary delight, service was fantastic. Breakfast was a real self service treat with everything you could want. An excellent establishment, staffed by friendly, helpful staff. Strongly recommended for singles, couples or families.

Room Tip: free car parking, use of the gym and pool facilites are free, in house meals are fantastic and a 4 c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harry140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your lovely review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your break and i hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed on a group on deal and upgraded to the bridal suite with the jacuzzi and sea view which was gorgeous! All the staff were very helpful and friendly, we ate in jacks bar which again was lovely, nothing fancy just good honest food. On one evening we used the swimming pool and spa which was very relaxing. The hotel itself was very clean and rooms cleaned everyday. I would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah2192003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Sarah, Many thanks for your kind review. I am delighted you and your partner enjoyed your break here with us at the Lodge. The Bridal Suite is indeed a beautiful room and im glad you liked it. I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in October and found the local area very relaxing. The room and the spa were good and the lodge had a good ambiance. Unfortunately the dining experience was awful. Not anywhere near what is expected from a 4 star hotel. The dining room although stylish had absolutely nothing soft to deaden sound so every noise generated reverberated around the room. I have been to quieter cattle markets, one had to raise your voice to have a quiet conversation. The layout of the tables meant you were bumping elbows with people at the table next to you - we moved ours to give us a little bit more room. There was confusion over the menus. We both had steaks, one med/rare and one very well done - I couldn't tell the difference. Then one hour later when we were just about to leave our desert finally came. All in all it spoilt what could have been a lovely trip. The next night we dined elsewhere. We did mention our experience to the reception when leaving but got an unsympathetic response. I believe the dining experience is an important part of a trip and the lodge has failed miserably here.

Room Tip: There are sea views at the front and views of the hills at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Norman, I am disappointed to learn you weren't happy with your dining experience on your recent stay with us. Our restaurant has been renovated recently and we have received tremendous positive feedback on it so i am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy it. I would also like to apologize for the delay on your dessert order which i can assure you is not the normal service provided here at the Lodge. I certainly agree that the dining experience is a very important part of a hotel experience and i believe this was a once off. I would like to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future and should you wish to do this , please get in touch with myself on jo@ballyliffinlodge.com Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for two nights on a Groupon deal. Superb setting, very friendly and helpful staff. From the moment we arrived everything was just right. We had asked for a room with a seaview and we actually got a room with 2 views, one of the mountains and the other of the sea.

We ate in the hotel throughout our stay. The food was equally delicious in the bar or in the restaurant.

The pool and spa areas are outstanding in cleanliness and ambience.I visited the pool at various times of day and the changing rooms etc were always excellent.

We'll certainly be back again, with or without a Groupon deal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDBL, customer care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your fantastic review , it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Ballyliffin Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
1.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
21.3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Property: Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing