We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed bed and breakfast and had a pub lunch on arrival. Hotel was really spotless, well presented and very comfortable. Enjoyed the "small" lunch - really had trouble finishing it! Service by young waitress was excellent and very helpful. Bedroom was a good size, well equipped for an overnight and the bathroom with the walk in shower was great. Bed was comfortable and I had a decent nights sleep! Breakfast was full Irish and choice of cereals and juices - everything you need to start the day off. Staff were excellent, reception, barman, bar waitress and breakfast waitress were all on the ball and did a great job - all very helpful. Will definitely return here - great area really friendly people.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferryport354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return. Many thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 343 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

The highlight of this hotel has got to be the staff! They were friendly and helpful.
We stayed for 2 nights.
Food was basic. Rooms were basic (we had a different room 2nd night as wifi only works above reception).
2nd evening we ate at the nearby Ballyliffen Lodge hotel which I guess drove it home as to how basic the Strand hotel was...
I guess you get what you pay for! Cheap deal= basics only!!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Geepopalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for your honest review. We are having the entire Hotel completely rewired for wi-fi which should be finished within the next month or so. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay plenty of places to visit staff very helpful loved the famine village would definitely return again in the future evening meals were very good value had lovely walks on the beach

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelmchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We offer great deals through Treat Ticket ets as well as our own website. On planning your return please don't hesitate to contact us and remind us that you were here and we will give you our best possible deal. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights on a treat ticket deal. The bedroom was very spacious, clean with a modern bathroom. Had meal at hotel on one of the evenings, which was very tasty with good size portions. Irish breakfast consisted of bacon, sausages, sliced tomato and egg, disappointed it did not include potato and/or soda bread. Staff all very friendly. The road behind hotel leads to Pollan beach where there is a nice walkway. Enjoyed a relaxing break and would be happy to return to the hotel at some future time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 98Jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return. Please contact us directly and we will offer you our best rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had a very pleasant two day mid week break; very friendly staff, well appointed room with a good shower; bar food plentiful and good quality but lacked a bit of flavour; breakfast a bit limited in selection of breads etc. Would definitely consider a revisit as excellent location for walking.

Room Tip: Some rooms at rear of building have a great ocean view but also may overlook the air conditioning un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 821John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

We are delighted to read your review. We are centrally located offering great access to the Urris Hills, Pollan Beach and Malin Head for some great walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed there one night and for the price I honestly think you couldn't ask for better.
Clean room, very powerful shower, good nights sleep and breakfast included. Would be back. Was visiting friends, that's why I was there just one night. Was tempted to stay longer but had to go back to work. Car park just out side. Would consider comb back for longer. Stay in second floor at the front, nice room.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleDD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

It was great to read your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly strive to offer great value to all of our guests. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Regardless of negative reviews we had a great stay here. Cleanliness brilliant, service brilliant. Family room could be bigger and I would recommend booking a room at the back. Food was good and reception area was great with fast wfi. Will definately be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.1 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
387 reviews
11 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
144 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
309 reviews
18.4 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: Strand Hotel Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range: $99 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Strand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel, near to Ballyliffin Golf Club and overlooking the beautiful Pollan beach. Ideal location for family holidays, a short break, your wedding or a conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing