We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel”
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went to the hotel on the back of a Groupon offer - the value was great at £79 for 2 B&B with one evening meal. So good I must admit to being a tad worried at what I would find.
No need all was good.
Yes I could split hairs and be overly critical - but at the price the hotel was great.
Location is excellent - great lay-out of reception with large TVs to watch sport and the bar was friendly and welcoming.
Rooms were a bit tired but the shower in my room was worth going for alone - lots of hot water with great power.
Breakfast good as was the evening meal - again good honest Donegal fayre.
All in all a great break - I will be back.
Only negative - noisy guests on the Saturday.

Room Tip: Away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strawhat139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    97
    33
    16
    14
See reviews for
77
130
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lisburn
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at the Strand when we took the kids to see Santa in December, we have satyed in the strand many times before and have seen the great changes over the years. Excellent friendly staff who would do anything for you, from the minute you arrive you are made to feel at home. The hotel is not ultra modern and as other reviewers have said the rooms could do with some updating, however the rooms are spotless, warm and comfortable. The food is excellent both lunch, dinner, breakfast and even mid afternoon sandwiches in the lounge. The strand is a fantastic place to stay we are going back in March this year and really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

got this hotel on a wee deal of groupon, arrived on the friday afternoon and was greeted warmely, given a room on the first floor, well laid out good for two people, had a wee problem with the hot water for a shower on the Friday but was soon fixed, Went down to the bar and had a good nights craic with Tricia from the bar, made everybody welcome will serving the bar and waiting on food service. Had the two course early bird menu for 11 euro great food , good quality and plenty of it, had the baileys cheesecake for desserts absolutley to die for. Excellent hotel for a weekend away some beautiful scenery and good walks and good excellent friendly staff, well worth the visit.

Room Tip: all the rooms in the hotel seen to of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Well located hotel with great views of the Atlantic. Rooms need a serious overhaul, including bedding and curtains. Basic issues with torn towels, broken keys and poor quality TV. Rooms cold on first night of stay, no hot water. Very expensive for the level of service provided.

Breakfast basic, with no dietary options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaschG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had a one night stay in the Strand Hotel in November 2012..Would recommend accomadation to anyone as found hotel to be clean, good location, helpful staff and good food. Rebooked today for weekend stay in February :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

got a groupon deal for this hotel found the central location good and easy to find our double room was big and so was the bathroom our room was at front of hotel but did not find it noisy the staff were very friendly and helpful and the place was spotless would definately recommend it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skanker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here after receiving a Groupon offer, which was £80 for 2 nights, quite cheap but I guess you get what you pay for. The reception staff were not rude but there was no friendliness or chat that you would normally get at a hotel reception. The decor in the whole place needs updated, including the foyer, the bar, dining room and the bedrooms. The bedroom was quite spacious as was the bathroom and also clean but just very old looking bed covers and carpet and furniture etc. The shower was also a disabled access shower which seem to pulsate at different pressure and heat throughout the shower and also came off its handle at the slightest touch, not very enjoyable. I also think an extractor fan is necessary when there is no window in the bathroom. The bed was extremely soft which I quite like when I'm alone but it is difficult when sharing with someone because if you want to lie beside each other you just sink into the middle. Breakfast was fine, cereal or cooked breakfast, I was only having bacon and eggs and I thought they could have given me more than 2 slices of bacon since I was having so little (half the plate was empty) but taste was nice, as is the view from the dining room. For lunch we had a starter from the bar menu, got the chicken wings which were good and the vol au vent which was not. However the service was good from the waitress Sarah who was extremely busy working between the bar/foyer/kitchen.We didn't like the look of the menu for dinner so decided to ring the Ballyliffin Lodge which was fully booked so instead drove to Bunchrana to The Beach House which was gorgeous and good value (3 courses for 30 euros on set menu). Wifi only worked in foyer, not in bedrooms. I'm not very fussy and for £40 a night it's fine but if it's a special occasion I would recommend somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvhols0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.1 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: Strand Hotel Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Strand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel, near to Ballyliffin Golf Club and overlooking the beautiful Pollan beach. Ideal location for family holidays, a short break, your wedding or a conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing