We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay (almost) ruined by one event” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice stay (almost) ruined by one event”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Went for a weekend stay to this hotel to relax!

The hotel and room are nice. There is Wifi only in the lobby but that wasn't a big problem. Lovely lobby area with settees and two tv screens. There is also a nice bar, though we didn't make much use of it - just bought a drink and sat in the lobby area. The wellness/spa, which is advertised on the website, is no longer available, as we found out when we emailed in advance for prices. However, there are other beauticians offering treatments in the area and Ballyliffin is so small that you are not put out by not having them available in the hotel.

On the Saturday night, we wanted to eat in the hotel. When we first went to eat, the staff were just clearing up from a big booking that had been using the restaurant beforehand so we were asked could we wait 10 or 15 minutes. This wasn't a problem as we had nothing planned for the evening anyway. The food was delicious and we were well attended by the staff.

We had planned to have an early night on the Saturday and this point, the weekend took a bit of a dip. The hotel was hosting a wedding that night and the music was thumping. At 2.15am I had to go down to reception to ask at what point the music would finish as we couldn't sleep due to the loud music. At points, the music was so loud we may as well have been sitting in the function room. There was an Indian member of staff who was very apologetic and said the wedding was just finishing up. However, a local member of staff more or less said the hotel had weddings every weekend and I should have known to expect that. I told him I was not happy with that reaction as people also stay in hotels to get a weekend away and should not be expected to "know better" and stay up until the early hours because of pounding music in their bedroom. I asked for a late check-out the next morning, which we were given.

A nice hotel, excellent food, (mostly) nice staff but don't come on a Saturday night unless you are either going to be in the wedding function or are happy enough being kept awake.

Room Tip: I was recommended to ask for a room with a beach view as it would not only have a nice view (though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keentraveller1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    94
    32
    15
    14
See reviews for
76
123
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast Northern Ireiland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at The Strand for a weekend in September 2012. It is a small hotel but everything about it is big. The first thing I have to say is the staff are the best!! Nothing was too much trouble if you wanted something they did their best to make sure you got what you wanted. The rooms were big and very clean as was the bathroom. We ate both nights in the hotel and the food was excellent plenty of it, well cooked and beautifully presented. Breakfast was included and left us so full we did not eat lunch! On the Saturday of our stay there was a wedding reception at the hotel this did not take away from the high standard of service or quality and quanity of food in the dinning room. We had a lovely time here and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saraflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just after returning from a few days stay in this hotel, and I must say it was a brilliant experience. Staff were first class, and so was the breakfast. We had a room on the 2nd floor which was overlooking the beach. it was a fantastic view to look out on. The bedroom was large and clean and so was the ensuite. I am not sure where the bad review comes from but for the price it was really good. I have stayed in 4 stars not as good. A final word Andy is a very unusual manager and always on hand to advise and answer questions. great location, great sightseeing and ample parking.

Room Tip: Great views from the rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deckie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 day trip last weekend I have to say my first thought was oh no, but that changed we had booked a room inside the hotel but were given a room at the bottom of the garden, the first room we were given was small but have to say the 2nd room we were offered had lovely views over the bay although it was not in the hotel it was big and it had a single and double bed in the room.
The guy Andy who is the general manager in the hotel couldnt do enough for us he was so helpful in getting us what ever we needed, Johnny is the owner of the hotel and is really nice they made our stay very enjoyable, and make you feel home from home, the food was excellent and the staff were wonderful, nothing is a problem for them so if you are reading this and have been put off by any other negative reviews please give them a chance and book this hotel, I have stayed in many places and would be very fussy My husband and I will book and stay in this hotel again.

My Thanks once again to Johnny and Andy and all the staff of the Strand Hotel for making our stay very enjoyable and relaxing.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same but no 65 which is at the bottom of the garden is the best as you have wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mckinneybelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Ok, so we were on a Living Social deal and so the cost was low but this is a hotel to be avoided.

Good points : Staff were mostly friendly, breakfast was fine, location is convenient for golf/sightseeing & there's free parking.

Bad points : The double glazing in both the main windows in our room was 'blown' so the view was non-existent (same applied to our friends who were staying in a different room). Someone had scribbled several lines in ballpoint pen on our tablecloth at dinner, right between my knife and fork, yet no-one thought to replace it. The food at dinner was of a poor standard, the plates were cold and we had to wait ten minutes for a glass of wine. Many areas of the hotel smelt damp. Someone has started re-tiling our bathroom - putting the new tiles on top of the old ones - they just forgot to finish it. The mattress on our bed was very firm, so that I had to abandon my wife and sleep in the single bed, which was better.

I will never stay there again. Mind you, I don't expect it will be open for much longer, unless there's a radical overhaul.

Room Tip: Stay at either Ballyliffin Lodge or McGrorys Culdaff instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarringtonWealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Strand at Ballyliffin is well situated on the Inishowen Peninsula in Co Donegal (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inishowen). The welcome is warm and friendly. There are great views from the rear of the hotel over Pollan Beach, which has a bracing one and a half mile walk to a fort at the other end of the strand. The Atlantic rollers are very impressive.

The food is of good quality,and plenty of it. Breakfast will keep most people going all day. The rooms are clean and of good size. The Strand has a sheltered and well kept garden, ideal for someone who wishes some peace and quiet to read or simply contemplate. Staff are friendly and can't do enough to make tour stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the car park (front of hotel) can be a little noisy with passing traffic - if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loadsfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Was at The Strand Hotel for an overnight stay on Saturday 18/8/12. for an anniversary break. Great hotel, good food and sevice second to none. Great location,it was really easy to get to lots of tourist sites, would totally recomend this hotel. Hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: I was at the front, it was fine, but back rooms overlook the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RUTHY1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.1 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: Strand Hotel Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Strand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel, near to Ballyliffin Golf Club and overlooking the beautiful Pollan beach. Ideal location for family holidays, a short break, your wedding or a conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing