We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Attentive Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Attentive Staff”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I felt welcome and thoroughly enjoyed my stay
Food was excellent. The rooms were immaculate.
The staff were very attentive and checking that everything was ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    94
    32
    15
    14
See reviews for
76
124
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We went to Donegal this weekend for a family wedding and spent our second night in The Strand, in a separate part of the hotel named 'The Annex' that could only be accessed by going outside the hotel and walking out the back (not ideal in the rain). It looked like a converted house, our room was outdated, cheaply furnished and extremely small. The windows are single pane and don't close properly, the bulb was blown in the ceiling light so we had to use one from the bedside lamp and even at that it barely made a difference, and the curtains were hanging off the railings in places. This would not have overshadowed what was a great weekend except for the fact that when we woke up on Sunday morning there was no hot water to have a shower. The receptionist advised us the boilers hadn't been turned on and to wait 20 mins, over an hour later there was still no hot water so we gave up. The bathroom itself was fine and everything was clean, but the size and condition of the rooms do not reflect the price the hotel are charging. It seems to be the part of the hotel that an overspill of guests are stuck but are charged the same rate as the newer rooms in the main building. There are better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jules964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

A very relaxed stay and even got to do some Surfing on the beach a stonesthrow away. Got talking to the owner and he said nearly all of his staff live locally & have been with him for at least ten years which is great as they knew all the local info.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJ N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERRY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This hotel is excellent and in a beautiful part of Donegal. The staff are all delightful and the food is superb and very reasonably priced. Lovely bar and friendly atmosphere-very helpful with the Manager Johnny always around chatting with the customers to see if all is well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYNDIFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great wedding venue food fantastic friendly staff, six in our party pleasant rooms (although some were looking a little tired) but a enjoyable place to stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeldrewManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killybegs, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed in the lovely Strand Hotel recently with two colleagues we we could not find fault with the Hotel . We got a very friendly greeting on arrival and as we were late and hungry asked for menus and what a great choice of menu we did receive ! We were promptly led into the lovely Dining Room overlooking the Bay - The food and service were superb as was breakfast . We will definitely be back and many thanks to the owner Johnny and his great staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westielover315867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

REally not worth the money unless you are just looking for somewhere to sleep and are happy with pretty tasteless, bland food. Food really disappointing, a lot of it but very little flavour.
Room was large but furniture placed all wrong - hairdryer stuck behind wardrobe and you would have to be a size 0 to get in there to use it. Burn marks on carpet.

No ifnormation about what is happening/available locally. I would not recommend it there is much better value for money very locally.
In an ideal location but that is all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank granann2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.1 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
204 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,820 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: Strand Hotel Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Strand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel, near to Ballyliffin Golf Club and overlooking the beautiful Pollan beach. Ideal location for family holidays, a short break, your wedding or a conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing