We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7/2013 - Step Back in Time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kincasslagh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Donegal Thatched Cottages
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I spotted these on these cottages on the internet some 11 years ago when researching our next trip back to Ireland and luckily kept the info. On a fluke, we acquired bargain airfare during July and decided to "get away from it all". Donegal Thatched Cottages meets that definition. The road is single lane once you cross the bridge, with intermittent pull-offs that allow two cars to pass. Although relatively close, it takes about 25 minutes to go to Dunglow for groceries. It is for this reason that we did not venture out to the pubs in the evenings, as I didn't want to navigate the road at night with a single Guinness under the belt. I must admit that I missed the internet and TV a little, but brought a portable DVD player and numerous Irish movies that I have collected for entertainment. The cottages are excellent replicas, and the turf fires were quiet enjoyable, even with the unseasonably high temps we were experiencing. Scenery is unlike most other parts of Ireland that we have visited. Connor and Mary were a delight. The furniture is not especially comfortable, and a couch and an outside grill would be a nice addition. Ireland was experiencing a drought as no rain had fallen for three weeks! As such, the midges were out in swarms when the wind died down. These tiny critters ate me alive and left my wife (not very tasty to them) alone. If you want to step back in time and get away from it all, then this is the place. Be sure to bring bug repellant or benadryl spray. Larry & Kelly

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Awful mattresses, most of the windows dont open and generally poorly equipped. Beautiful location, just a shame that the interiors dont match the location. New mattresses and and overhaul of building fabric long overdue.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
10  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Cruit Island, in West Donegal, is utterly beautiful. And Conor and Mary Ward's Thatched Cottages are perched atop the hill on the West end of the island, with a glorious view. From cottages one and two you look out your front windows over the Atlantic toward the rough barren cliffs of Arran Island, and out the back windows at Mount Errigal, and up along the sweep of the northern coast. You can walk on the huge beach, almost all the way to Kincasslagh--and Iggy's pub. There is a wonderful spot for cockling half way across; go just after the tide goes out, and scratch in the sand--you'll find hundreds of them.

I have stayed at the cottages since they were new, thirty years ago. And they are still new, and beautiful. Two bedrooms downstairs, and two baths. A three-bed loft bedroom. A nice kitchen, and a wonderful big sitting room with a dining table. The fireplace is good for making wonderful turf fires--and if ever the salmon come back, you can cook your salmon over the turf fire!

Bert Hornback

Room Tip: Cottages one and trwo--up on top--are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hornback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We were truly looking forward to our stay at Donegal Thatched Cottages - an entire week away from everything, enjoying the ocean in a traditional thatched cottage. What could be better?! We arrived in the early afternoon and promptly proceeded to turn on the heat - although the weather had been uncustomarily good for our vacation, April in Ireland is by no means warm! As another reviewer mentioned, the scenery is truly spectacular. Unfortunately, though, the cottage fellow below our expectations. (Before I continue, I must say that the proprietor graciously resolved our concerns after we returned from vacation. We think many would love these cottages, but they did not meet our expectations.) We were a little disappointed in the furnishings, which bring an authenticity to the cottages but are not the most comfortable. One of our primary concerns, though, was the cost of fuel - on top of the cottage rental, we had to pay the electricty, based on the meter. We have stayed in many self-catering facilities (in Ireland and the United States), but none have ever charged separately for the utilities. After less than 24 hours, the cost was already quite hight. Despite the cost, the cottage never warmed up. In fact, the cottage stayed quite cool, which was only accentuated by the dampness of the ocean air. For those reasons, we opted not to stay at the cottages and instead went to another location the same evening as we arrived. Don't be discouraged though if you are looking for a genuine thatched cottage furnished with period furniture. You will get all of that in a beautiful location, where you can explore beautiful landscape.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Luvtravels33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed at Donegal Thatched Cottages in August as a family with 2 adults and 4 young children. We found the location to be out of this world! The cottages themselves are located on Cruit Island which is joined to the mainland by a small bridge but the setting is simply breath taking.

The cottages themselves offer a totally different way of life and are ideal for anyone that needs to relax, unwind and simply recharge their batteries. Sitting each night at the open turf fire listening to the Atlantic Ocean lapping was certainly a highlight.

Our children caught their first ever fish -wrasse, pollack and makerel and swam each day at the beautiful safe sandy beach directly opposite the cottages. They also went to a local pottery class in Kincasslagh for couple of hours which was great and we took a day trip to Owey Island on a local ferry.

The concept at the cottages is to "turn the clock back " so is not suitable for those seeking the city lights. For us this was perfect! We will be returning to Donegal Thatched Cottages and have already booked our next stay for 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublinhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We just spent a week at the Donegal thatched cottages. Specifically, we were in cottage #9, which costs a little more, but is in a slightly more secluded spot, with its own view down to the roiling north atlantic.

I do not agree with the other poster, in that I found the amenities entirely satisfactory, and we were very happy with our stay. The living area is warm and cozy, the bedrooms are comfortable, and we had plenty of hot water. The kitchen was well kitted out with cooking utensils, various coffee makers, etc. Sheets and towels are provided, but don't expect anything else - eg toilet paper.

The scenery is indeed spectacular, and this is the perfect place for families who want to stay put, take long walks and enjoy the beauty of nature. On the downside, it is a little bit far from everything, and if you are the active type who likes to get out and do things you will do a lot of driving. Even getting to restaurants is a bit of an expedition. The tiny village of Kincasslagh has nothing but a small grocery store and a pub where they serve soup and sandwiches for lunch. For more you have to drive to the next village of Anaghery, another 10 kilometers or so, or to Burtonport and Dungloe, about the same distance.

As much as we loved the scenery, next time we might locate in a town, like Dunfanaghy, where we won't have the same view out the window, but will be closer to amenities, as well as beautiful walking areas.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkC98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

My first experience with the traditional Irish cottage concept (at other locations in Ireland) was in the 1970s, and this was my first return visit in more than 30 years. We stayed in these cottages in July 2010, and while the setting is genuinely spectacular (overlooking the North Atlantic, and Aranmore and Owey Islands), the amenities in the individual cottages were not all they could be, especially given the prices charged. One is naturally prepared to put up with some minor inconveniences when staying in a rental property, but if one is paying premium prices one does expect things to be a bit above average. Small things like a refrigerator held together with duct tape, electric showers that could not be used simultaneously, (very) dated appliances and so on served as irritants, especially when we saw what other were getting at similar properties in the same location but at significantly lower prices. But all that said, if one is looking to really get away from it all in a genuinely spectacular setting, then these cottages are certainly worth checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dfwmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kincasslagh
1.8 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
228 reviews
3.9 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
427 reviews
19.0 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
6.2 mi away
Waterfront Hotel Dungloe
5.9 mi away
Inisean B&B
Inisean B&B
#2 of 10 in Dungloe
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donegal Thatched Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donegal Thatched Cottages

Address: Cruit Island, Kincasslagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Kincasslagh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kincasslagh
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Donegal Thatched Cottages Ireland/County Donegal - Kincasslagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing