We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best B&B we stayed in in Ireland!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrigans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Royd Country Home
Ranked #1 of 3 Carrigans B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Our Inn keeper was lovely. The room was well decorated and the entire home elegant. But the most fantastic part was her breakfast with fresh plumbs prepared in a port wine and orange sauce, a variety of sweet breads, fresh fruit, delicious omelets, etc. and she gave us an excellent tip on the best walking tour in Derry. We highly recommend this stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scooper1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 105 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

I first stayed at Mount Royd back in 2009 and have returned again and again. Josephine and Charlie always provide excellent service and accommodation, they take a genuine interest in their guests and want to make their stay perfect.

I thought it was time I wrote another review but after reading through several reviews on here, I can see they say it all. So my advice - if you are considering staying at Mount Royd read the reviews and book to experience Mount Royd for yourself.

Room Tip: The upper rooms at the rear has views of the River Foyle. The upper rooms at the front overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simply-peregrinating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was one of our favorite B&B stays while touring Ireland. The home had a classic manor house feel to it from the outside in. The room was spacious and clean...it even had a sitting room and doors that led to a backyard garden. Breakfast was delicious and the hostess was very knowledgeable about there area.

If you are going to Ireland, you gotta stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Covered in Ivy, Mount Royd is strikingly picturesque. The host was kind to us, and we loved our room. The bed was supremely comfortable, and the shower had surprisingly good pressure. The decor is a bit of a blast from the past, but even so, everything is well put together and well thought out in this home. There's even some pleasant livestock in the back. I can honestly say that this breakfast was the best we had in our time in Ireland. The food was fantastic, and the selection of sides, breads, and fruit was overwhelming. It's a great place, comfortable, delicious, and scenic. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homingpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay in this very comfortable home. We were made very welcome with tea and very nice homemade cakes on arrival and our room was a delight with so many interesting touches, as indeed were the other public rooms. The breakfasts were probably the best we had during our trip to Ireland with a wonderful selection of fruits etc. in addition to the full Irish - we certainly didn't need lunch! Josephine was a mine of information on what to see and do in the area and very helpfully arranged an onward booking for us. I would definitely recommend this B & B and we would love to stay again if we return to the area..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Fabulous welcome with tea, scones and biscuits. Our room was spacious, nice bath with heated towels and power shower. Very Victorian with all the details. Scrupulously clean throughout. Breakfast as an unexpected delight that should put Mount Royd House on the map if for nothing else!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I, with another couple were on our first trip to Ireland in July and we stayed at Mount Royd Country Home, unfortunately for only one night. On our arrival, Josephine welcomed us with a beautiful afternoon tea with lots of lovely homemade biscuits and cakes. Josephine was very helpful when we discussed where to go for dinner that night. We ended up at Custom House and had a great dinner. Breakfast the next morning was amazing. Everything was homemade and there was certainly plenty of choice. Beautiful fresh fruit, cereal, muffins, toast and eggs any way you prefer plus more. The home was clean and very comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Josephine and Charlie are great hosts and we thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Royd Country Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royd Country Home

Address: Flaxmill Court, Carrigans, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Carrigans
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carrigans
Price Range: $25 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Royd Country Home 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing