We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the very best in ireland. raymond & sheila/ kevin & maire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Royd Country Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrigans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Royd Country Home
Ranked #1 of 2 Carrigans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the very best in ireland. raymond & sheila/ kevin & maire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

this is our second visit this time with raymond ann sheila who have
been coming here to mount royd house for 35 years, and it just gets better and better.
each year. the hosts josephine & charlie, and family are just the greatest.
the breakfast and bedrooms are superb,with luxurious decor, fabulous home cooked food ,
A spotlessly clean house and the little special touches that make it so comfy,
we look forward to each visit to mount royd country house

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevino905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a find Mount Royd County Home is! My friend and I spent several nights there recently and were greeted with warmth and graciousness that threaded through our entire stay. The accommodations were impeccable and the host, Mrs. Martin, was beyond lovely. When we returned one night with a flat tire on our rental car, she sprang into action the next morning to sort everything out for us. We had a new tire and an experience of genuine care and kindness that will not soon be forgotten. Thank you, Mrs. Martin, for opening up your wonderful home, fo creating an atmosphere of hospitality and comfort, and for your informed assistance in planning our excursions from your house,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabelinroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My family and I have stayed at Mount Royd for nearly 20 years while travelling to see family in Ireland for summer holidays. It's so much more than a bed and breakfast / guesthouse. Josephine and Charlie Martin show a typical warm Irish welcome into their beautiful home, with luxurious decor, fabulous home cooked food, a spotlessly clean house, and all the lttle special touches that make it stand out from the crowd. All the bedrooms are decorated to the highest quality, all with en-suite showers, tea/coffee and biscuits in each room, along with flat screen TVs, hairdryers, toiletries etc. The gardens are gorgeous with beautiful flowers, outside seating and of course the chickens. The scenery from the back bedroom is looking out onto open fields with the River Foyle in the background. It's ideally located for touring in the north or south of Ireland, with lots of historical places on the doorstep. Mount Royd is located in a quiet little village, where the only noise to interfer is the country sounds of cows and sheep in the fields around, and the morning cockerel. But special mention should be made of the fabulous breakfasts. You need a lie down afterwards! Starting with a fruit buffet, or cereal/porridge, yoghurts, then fruit juices, toast or croissants or muffins, tea, various coffees, then the "full Irish" cooked breakfast. Josephine also offers a breakfast menu with all kinds of lovely choices, from omelettes, smoked salmon, pancakes, any kind of eggs......... You don't need to eat for hours afterwards. A warm and cosy atmosphere, where nothing is too much trouble for the Martin family. One visit is never enough, hence we've been going back for years and they have become our friends. I can't recommend this guest house enough.

Room Tip: The back bedroom offers the views of the fields and river at the back. The front bedrooms look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were on a family holiday for 5 at Mount Royd. When we arrived there was a warm welcome from Josephine and we were greeted with hot drinks and lovely homebaking. Everything was spotlessly clean and it felt like you were staying in a mini mansion. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated and very comfortable - there were lovely little touches and extra things in it. Nothing was too much trouble for Josephine and she went the extra mile. Breakfast was the best ever - there was a wonderful selection of freshly prepared fruits, yoghurts and cereals, (poached pears were a favourite of mine!) There was also a delicious choice of cooked breakfast and my daughter was particularly pleased with the vegetarian cooked breakfast choices. It was fantastic - we'll be back!

Susan & Amy Ellershaw and the Cooks.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiEllershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Co.Wexford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying once more with Josephine and Charlie last saturday night and were greeted as usual with open arms and the customary tea and home made goodies! As I had booked 2 rooms then I had first choice and chose my usual on the right at the top of the stairs which overlook the front and side garden. We needed a taxi to take us to a family dinner in Derry and Charlie kindly oblidged. The breakfast was outstanding as usual with approximately 14(maybe more) different fruits and berries, yogurts, cereals and an array of nuts and seeds and preserves and juices. The home made breads are mouthwatering and then after all that you are asked what you would like for breakfast!!! There is not such an array or choice in any hotel in Ireland or England to surpass it, even the five star hotels. The coffee is freshly brewed and not our normal instant.
The beds and the linen are just so comfortable that they would and have lured us back and I had no hesitation in recommending it to another member of my family who stayed with us for the first time there and was certainly impressed.
I just love staying there and will definately be back. Thank you.

Room Tip: Book well in advance of your visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The best bed and breakfast,we ever stayed in,,,The bedroom was perfect
in every way,The breakfast was excellent,every thing so fresh,
The owners Josephine and Charlie made us very very welcome.
with tea and home made cakes.
You must have walk around outside to see the chickens where you
get your fresh breakfast eggs from,
and check out the rare breed of sheep...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevino905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent a night in Josephine and Charlie's lovely house and I was bowled over by their hospitality.

My room was spotless and very comfortable, having been recently redecorated. The bed was a delight and was dressed in pristine Dorma bedlinen. The bathroom was well equipped and contained Molton Brown toiletries.

Josephine and Charlie were exceptional hosts and even transported us to the restaurant we went to in Derry. Josephine delayed breakfast until 11 to give us a lie-in as we were there on a Sunday morning. The breakfast was just fabulous. Fresh juice, 10 fresh fruits, yogurt, homemade preserves and jams. Fresh apple and pear scones, brown bread and cakes. I had perfect poached eggs on an English muffin and bacon. Overall it was the best breakfast I have had anywhere.

I look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrigans
5.2 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royd Country Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royd Country Home

Property: Mount Royd Country Home
Address: Flaxmill Court, Carrigans, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Carrigans
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carrigans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Royd Country Home 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing