We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet cosy, comfortable haven. The ideal spot from which to explore the Northwest.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrigans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Royd Country Home
Ranked #1 of 2 Carrigans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A quiet cosy, comfortable haven. The ideal spot from which to explore the Northwest.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent a night in Josephine and Charlie's lovely house and I was bowled over by their hospitality.

My room was spotless and very comfortable, having been recently redecorated. The bed was a delight and was dressed in pristine Dorma bedlinen. The bathroom was well equipped and contained Molton Brown toiletries.

Josephine and Charlie were exceptional hosts and even transported us to the restaurant we went to in Derry. Josephine delayed breakfast until 11 to give us a lie-in as we were there on a Sunday morning. The breakfast was just fabulous. Fresh juice, 10 fresh fruits, yogurt, homemade preserves and jams. Fresh apple and pear scones, brown bread and cakes. I had perfect poached eggs on an English muffin and bacon. Overall it was the best breakfast I have had anywhere.

I look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Of all the B&Bs we stayed at during a 2 week tour of Ireland and Scotland and Mrs. Martin put on the widest selection for breakfast. We were also greeted with tea and baking when we arrived. Mr. & Mrs. Martin obviously enjoy having guests and are very welcoming. The house and grounds are beautiful.

It is easy to miss the driveway (our GPS was out by 200 meters). When driving south into Carrigans it is on the left side just before the village itself.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cda33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Once you have an outstanding reputation some places coast or deteriorate. Not so for Josephine and Charlie. Well deserving of the accolades they have received, they continue to provide exceptional hospitality, top notch facilities, and most likely the best breakfast you will have on your entire trip. I stayed four days at the end of May while touring the north part of Donegal. Mount Royd is convenient to nearly all of the attractions in which you would be interested for both Northern Ireland and Donegal. If you can get reservations there is no other place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fullprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend and appreciated the care and attention which Josephine & Charlie lavish on their guests -it's not a business, it's a labour of love! We had a flight delay from Liverpool to Belfast which meant we didn't arrive at the house until 11pm but we were still welcomed with hot drinks and a selection of home-made cakes!. The bedroom /bathroom was well equipped with lots of soaps, shampoos, magazines and little pots of chocolates for us to discover. The breakfasts were the highlight of the stay. On the sideboard in the morning were no less than 15 different fruits to help ourselves to, plus yoghurt & cereals. We had a choice of freshly squeezed orange juice or apple, teas & coffees -and plenty of them. For cooked there was a full Irish (delicious bacon, sausage, black pudding, mushrooms, tomato, potato cake and fried egg from their own 'happy hens') or cheese on soda bread toast or smoked salmon or basically any combination you wanted. On the table was a selection of home-made soda bread /scones /fruit loaf and toast plus marmalade or home made preserves. We didn't need lunch!
Josephine and Charlie were welcoming hosts, the house was spotless, the garden beautiful and all this for 55 Euro a room. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My parents have stayed with Josephine and Charlie several times. Serving as their chauffeur for over 1800 miles, this was my first visit with them to Ireland and my first time staying with Josephine and Charlie. Needless to say it was all my parents promised it would be! I had an absolutely beautiful room with my own petite sunroom. The attention to detail, amazing, delicious food and feeling of "coming home" make Mount Royd my new Irish home. Josephine and Charlie are so generous and make one feel so welcome. My parents have always spoken of them, as if they were part of our extended family, who happen to live in Ireland. Now, I feel the same way and look forward to returning again! Thank you again for your hospitality and friendship.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganUSA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our host Josephine greeted our late evening arrival with the kind offer of tea. When I called to let her know we would be arriving late, she recommended a few restaurants for dinner on our way. The room was very romantic, with a canopy over the bed and ivy peeking in the windows. Bathroom was spotless. We had coffee and tea in the room early, and then breakfast was delicious. Josephine recommended we stop at the garden across the street to take a self guided tour ("Throw a few euros in the bucket at the entrance for the local parish charity.") The garden was amazing, a huge walled garden with an amazing variety of flowers, and fruit trees, herbs and vegetables. There were ponds, bridges, drying sheds, sundials, and even an old tennis court. It was a fantastic hidden treasure, called Dunmore House. We are grateful to her for sending us there. A highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: House is in a very quiet rural area and all rooms should be nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYgardeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent 5 nights a this Outstanding home. Josephine and Charlie are wonderful hosts whose knowledge of the area including what sights to visit, and where to dine with detailed directions was great. The home is lovely as described in other reviews and the food is fresh and delicious however; what makes a stay memorable are the hosts, and Josephine and Charlie are PERFECT. Stay here, you will not be disappointed..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Announcer1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Royd Country Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royd Country Home

Property: Mount Royd Country Home
Address: Flaxmill Court, Carrigans, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Carrigans
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carrigans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Royd Country Home 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing