We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hedgerow Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage hall entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Cottage hall entrance
Cottage kitchen
Cottage kitchen table
Kitchen table set
Cottage sitting room
Wood burning stove
Cottage double bedroom
Cottage double bedroom 2
Cottage single bedroom
Double bedroom en suite
View from double bedroom
Nearby forest walk
Ramelton  Quayside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ramelton, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Michael S
1 review
“Stunning!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Made very welcome by Barry and John. Great location, great play space for kids, very spacious and clean house.

No negatives - hope to return again

Michael

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
purdidevo...
devon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

As soon as we arrived we we were delighted with this just beautiful comfortable warm cottage. We were made to feel so welcome by Barry,and also later in the week a knock on the door to see if we were okay from John. What a lovely caring family, having as many logs as we needed,with milk etc in the fridge for our use, on arrival. There were flowers in each room,a lovely touch. The situation is ideal for touring Donagal, with 1.5 hour drive to 'The Gaints Causeway'We are would thoroughly recommend this pretty cottage,a gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Thatch ...... A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Perfect location & fantastic property. The Thatch is a home from home. Warm welcome by the owners on arrival, who make sure that each & every stay is special. Attention to detail is second to none. We shall be returning for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfastMa...
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Heaven is a place on Earth and its outside Ramelton !!”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed for two night and would struggle to find fault in any aspect of the break. The owners were very welcoming and helpful, they called to introduce themselves and to let us know if we needed anything just to shout.
There was plenty of wood for the fire and the heating was on when we arrived. The weather was great so we were out and about quite a bit but we could easily have spent the weekend indoors, if needed, we even found a deck of cards to play !
Could not recommend this place highly enough

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shicksonw...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Thatch”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We are just back from an amazing week in the thatch at Ramelton. Fantastic and so relaxing. The owners were so helpful and friendly. They did everything to make us feel welcome, even decorating the house for the kids for Halloween. The house was so well equipped and cosy. All the fuel was included. Brilliant value for money. Cannot wait to return. Barry and John are wonderful hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpbfood
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage, great location all round brilliant”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked the cottage as it was around the same price as the smaller holidays lets in the area. It looked great great in the pictures but they don't do it justice it's even better in the flesh. Your free to do what you like and and not restricted. All the fule for the fire is included and there was plenty of basics there to keep you going. Many a night spent sitting by the fire with a few glasses if vino. Would defently come back and just wishes it was my home. Thanks for a great time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqh
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous home from home cosy cottage!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in August (just home yesterday)!
It is an ideally situated fabulous cottage, the hosts here are very friendly and accommodating but never intruded, we received a warm welcome to a well equipped house, well stocked fire, very comfortable furnishings, the house was very quick to heat, and had fantastic views from the top of the hill! Our dog cleo was also most welcome!
We really made this out home from home for the week,
We did miss our curtains in the mornings, with the bright mornings, but the fantastic views compensated this and although the house was well stocked with hand utowels, toilet rolls, washing up liquids and soap, we did have to go and buy bath towels for ourselves!!

Highly recommend this property, great value for money, excellent location and accommodating hosts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing