We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous home from home cosy cottage!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hedgerow Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage hall entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Cottage hall entrance
Cottage kitchen
Cottage kitchen table
Kitchen table set
Cottage sitting room
Wood burning stove
Cottage double bedroom
Cottage double bedroom 2
Cottage single bedroom
Double bedroom en suite
View from double bedroom
Nearby forest walk
Ramelton  Quayside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ramelton, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Aqh
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous home from home cosy cottage!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in August (just home yesterday)!
It is an ideally situated fabulous cottage, the hosts here are very friendly and accommodating but never intruded, we received a warm welcome to a well equipped house, well stocked fire, very comfortable furnishings, the house was very quick to heat, and had fantastic views from the top of the hill! Our dog cleo was also most welcome!
We really made this out home from home for the week,
We did miss our curtains in the mornings, with the bright mornings, but the fantastic views compensated this and although the house was well stocked with hand utowels, toilet rolls, washing up liquids and soap, we did have to go and buy bath towels for ourselves!!

Highly recommend this property, great value for money, excellent location and accommodating hosts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElFranjo
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Thatch at the beginning of February 2014 for two days and there are not enough words in my dictionary to say how fantastic it was. First we got a discount for reserving in February, then we got detailed instructions to get to Ramelton from Barry. When we arrived to Ramelton, we called him and his brother came to "pick us up" and took us to the house. We arrived late and it was raining but he was very nice and showed us around the house and told us how to get back to town to get something to eat. By the way, if you want to eat in Ramelton try The Bridge Bar, it is very good.

The house is big and beautiful. The fire place is amazing and it was ready to use, which we did on Saturday afternoon. I didn't cook but there were pots and pans for anything you decide to do. Everything was spotless clean and beautiful. The house is very near town (2 km) which is very handy. The day we had to leave I went to Barry's house to pay the rest of our stay (I had paid only a deposit) and they did not have change for my 20€ so they charged me 10€ less. When I got back home I PayPal-ed the 10€, and they returned it! They are amazing people with an amazing place to stay, we recommend it 100%.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cozyness, the chimney, quiet
Liked least: nothing at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superdrea...
Thirsk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely warm and cosy”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Cottage was exceptionally warm and well equipped. Barry and John were very welcoming and helpful and we would have no hesitation in booking again or recommending 'The Thatch' to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Level of heating provided
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Reviewed February 5, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neil C
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage, lovely area with great views”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I were looking to stay a week in Donegal to relax, do some hill walking and enjoy some of the great scenic drives the county has to offer.

We came across 'The Thatch' in Ramelton and we were really pleased with the week we spent there during August. From start-to-finish, John and family where especially welcoming and we could want for nothing during our stay.

The quality of the accommodation is first class, a real home from home. Beautiful view of Muckish and a short walk to even better views of Lough Swilly, old ruined churches and the charming village of Ramelton.

We got everything we were looking for in a stay in Donegal, and at a very reasonable price. I will certainly be staying in 'The Thatch' when I return to Donegal next.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feel of a real fire in the Thatch while enjoying the great views of Muckish
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewed November 20, 2012 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael R
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing