We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A weekend break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramelton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Ramelton B&B and Inns
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A weekend break”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights.We booked the spa room which was luxurious, comfortable and beautiful.Lin greeted us on arrival with fresh scones and a cup of tea. She is a wonderful host. Lin recommended two great restaurants to eat in. The breakfast is the best I've had in Ireland .If you would like a lovely break this is the place to stay. Thanks Lin Mike and Christine

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moorfieldlodge, Owner at Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you Mike and Christine - an absolute pleasure having you stay with us! With guests like you, we are so happy to be in this business - you made it all worthwhile ..........thank you again and we so hope you will be back in the sunshine - then you can make good use of the private deck off the Spa Suite. TAke care till then. Lin xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
88
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for one night 4th April but wished we had been able to spend longer there. We booked the spa room which was luxurious, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The property itself and hospitality were excellent. We were greeted on arrival by Lin who made fresh scones with cream for afternoon tea, a dinner reservation at a local recommended restaurant was also made for us which also proved to be fantastic. We had a very pleasant night and in the morning had a lovely 2 course breakfast. Would thoroughly recommend this place for a romantic getaway or even a sound base for travelling around Donnegal.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you want something special chose the spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moorfieldlodge, Manager at Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It was our pleasure having you, thank you for choosing to stay with us. Yes, the Spa Suite is special and I will always remember your husband's comment as he walked in .." we went to Dubai for our honeymoon and stayed in a 5 star hotel and this is every bit as good, if not better" .....wow! what a compliment. We hope you will be back soon when the sun is shining again, and you can also enjoy the private deck for this room - sip a vino and soak up the sun and the peaceful pine forest views out the back. TAke care till then, and please keep spreading the good word - but please ask your friends to call me directly as a referral from you, so that I can give them something special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

As I was working in Donegal today I logged into tripadvisor to find a nice place to stay. Moorhall Lodge came up no 1 so I phoned to check availability. I spoke to a lady called Lynne who after checking her schedule told me that she had availability for a single room at a cost of €110 for the night. I asked her was there any room for negotiation on the price as I would be in Donegal on a regular basis and she agreed that we would do a deal when I arrived. She also explained that they 'do not take credit cards and accepted cash only"- which I thought was a little strange.

As Ireland had been playing an international WC qualifier I'd decided to pop into the local hotel on my way to Moorhall Lodge to watch the match and also get my dinner while I was there. At half time I recieved a call from Lynne who asked me if I still itended to stay. I'd explained that I'd popped in to have dinner and watch the soccer match. Her reply was that I was no longer welcome as I had told her I would be there in 40 minutes, and an hour had since passed. She politely recommended that I stay in the Silver Tassie Hotel- which is where I was eating my evening meal. I was gobsmacked- as was a fellow customer at the bar who had heard the whole conversation.

I have never been so rudely spoken to on the telephone in the way that Lynne spoke to me this evening. Perhaps if she reviewed her 'cash only' policy then I'd have saved time going to the pass machine to withdraw cash for her convenience. I cannot understand how a place like this has 5 stars (without setting foot in the door) unless stars are given out for being rude, impatient and obnoxious.

I will not be returning to Moorfield Lodge- regardless of how often I have to return to Donegal.

Room Tip: Make sure you get there on time or Lynne will be on your case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CiaranMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moorfieldlodge, Manager at Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello, I have been expecting this review from you, so it does not come unexpectedly.
I wish to put the facts on record, for those reading this. You called me at approx. 7pm to book a room for the night and when asked you said you would be arriving within "40 minutes" which was perfectly fine with me - as I was unwell and intended on an early night. You would have been aware that this was important as I had vascillated as to whether I should take your booking in the first place, making a point of asking how long before you would check in. I therefore expected you before 8pm. At approx. 8.45pm, I called your mobile to ask if you had changed your mind (which does happen on occasion) to which you replied that you had stopped off to watch the "match" - your review says that I called you during half time which would suggest that you may have been even further delayed before checking in! I suggested you might like to stay at the local hotel, being more convenient for you, seeing you were already there watching the match. You seemed peeved and put the phone down on me....This was said in a very friendly manner. I am sorry you felt this was rude, but I wonder why you did not think it courteous to call to tell me you would not be arriving till much later? You then called me back at 10.30 pm waking me up, to berate me, questioning me on why I do not take credit cards, etc and you told me you were on Trip Advisor, searching for any other negative comments from other guests, over the years. Sadly you found one! I wish to apologise for offending you, and wish also to make it quite clear that I spoke in a friendly and courteous manner to you at all times, including when you called me back later on during the night to question me further, putting the phone down on me yet again. I also had a witness here who heard these conversations and was amazed that you were offended in any way as he felt I had been most courteous in both calls, despite being woken up for a "grilling". (Our website clearly states that check-in after 8pm needs to be arranged with us.) Maybe we could chat over a cup of coffee when next you are up here? My treat. Take care in the meantime. With Respect, Lin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Moorfield lodge most definitely lived up to our expectations. From the wonderful hospitality to the luxurious room with the most wonderful spa bath you could ever dream off...
Lin Crossle is a wonderful host and fantastic chef to go with! She will have you well looked after from the moment you arrive.
Fresh scones on arrival is just the start. Her breakfasts are to die for and we thoroughly enjoyed our Irish fry and freshly made crepes packed with fresh fruit.
A*** accommodation and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moorfieldlodge, Owner at Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much Kelly, for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to welcome gracious people to our home, and you were just that! You should come back again in the Summer when you can make use of your private deck - relax, sip a vino, and read a book with the pine forest as your backdrop - invigorating! I love cooking and it makes it even more gratifying to cook for those that love my food, so that was a pleasure also. We are expecting a busy season and the Spa suite is booking out quite quickly - but the Bayview is also a nice option - it has the double bath and double shower and is even bigger than the Spa Suite. Take care till then. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very positive experience here ... you will not find a tidier, cleaner place to stay anywhere. The food is top-notch, and Lin is very friendly. Yes, it's not an inexpensive place to stay, but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingOfBreifne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindylooRamelton, Owner at Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your most gracious review - you were especially lovely people to have in our home, and that makes all the difference really! We try to go that extra mile to make our guests' stay an amazing one, and it is so much easier when guests appreciate our efforts - so, thank you to you! We are away on our annual holiday to visit family, and re-open mid Feb, so we hope you will be back with us again soon after that. Wishing you and your loved ones a peaceful, blessed Christmas. Thanx again, Lin and Bobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Such an enjoyable stay in Moorfield Lodge. Pure luxury. Friendly, helpful and hospitable host!
A great place for luxurious relaxation. Breakfast was absolutely beautiful. Best scrambled eggs you'll ever eat! Well worth a stay. P. Belfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTom1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindylooRamelton, Owner at Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We are delighted you had such a good time at Moorfield Lodge, it was our pleasure having you stay. Thank you for your lovely review! We look forward to having you back again in the Summer - great to spend time out on the deck of the Spa Suite, enjoying the stunning views whilst sipping your chardonays! Take care of each other, you are special people. x x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Tom & I had the most pleasant stay in Moorfield Lodge in August. The accommodation was top class, breakfast was delicious, the scenery/location was breath-taking and finally, the host, Lynn, was warm, friendly and very professional. She was also generous with her time. Thank you both, Lynn & Bobby for making our stay so memorable. Donegal at its best!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindylooRamelton, Owner at Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thankyou Tom and Pauline for that wonderful review. We loved having you stay with us too, and we honestly found it a pleasure spoiling you. You are most gracious people, and we hope to see you again soon. We are going to take a break from mid-November till mid-Feb and visit family and friends in South Africa and Australia, but open for business as usual, refreshed and ready for the fantastic season ahead of us. With Derry-Londonderry being the Cultural Capital this coming year, and the "Gathering" in Ireland throughout the year, it should be madly busy! Take care, and see you in the new year. All the best, Lin and Bobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramelton
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
4.6 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
353 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
315 reviews
5.6 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B

Property: Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B
Address: Aughnagaddy Glebe, Ramelton, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ramelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ramelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorfield Lodge B&B Ireland - where design is contemporary, hospitality is instinctive and the atmosphere tranquil - setting new standards in home from home comfort - a successful mix of old and new highlights the richness of antiques and luxury accommodation. Perfectly located minutes from Letterkenny with Rosapenna Links Golf Course approx. 20 minutes away, and Glenveagh National Park, one of Ireland's top tourist attractions also 20 minutes away. The most beautiful beaches are on our doorstep including Rathmullan, and a little further north to Portsalon. Indulge in the captivating views of the Ocean and the reflective twinkling night lights whilst relaxing in your luxurious suite. Easy day trip to Giant's Causeway, Bushmills and Dun Luce Castle. We go that extra mile to add to your holiday experience - you will be spoilt at Moorfield!Comprising 3 sumptuous bedrooms en suite, offering an all encompassing luxury stay. Beds and fabrics are of the best quality with the emphasis on classic chic. You won't want to leave. Awarded "100 BEST PLACES TO STAY IN IRELAND 2011" and "TOP 10 MOST Romantic Places in Ireland 2011" and again in 2012 for the 2nd consequetive year, as well as Trip Advisor's Excellence Awards for 2011 and 2012. Recently chosen to feature in the Michelin Guide 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorfield Lodge Boutique Bed And Breakfast
Moorfield Lodge Boutique Hotel Ramelton
Moorfield Lodge Boutique B&B Ramelton, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing