We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday in a magical setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Living room with open fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with open fire
Carrickfinn Holiday Cottage 4* Failte Ireland approved Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Living room with open fire
Carrickfinn Holiday Cottage 4* Failte Ireland approved
Dining area
One of the 3 Ensuite Bedrooms in the cottage
The sauna in Carrickfinn Cottage
Carrickfinn Blue Flag Beach
Mt. Errigal visible from Carrickfinn
The Boat Strand Beach Carrickfinn
View from the top of Mt. Errigal, just a short drive from the cottage.
Boat trips to Aranmore, Gola and Tory Islands
Cruit Island Golf Club
Carrickfinn Cottage is fringed by  golden sandy beaches
Dunlewey Church with Mt. Errigal in the background
Glenveagh Castle & National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Annagry, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Phelan117...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday in a magical setting”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the "Old School House" with our four young children. The house is full of character and our kids loved this house, as did we. The house was spotless and very well equipped from pegs for the clothes line to a high chair for the baby. It also has a lovely decking area to the side with a fabulous view of Mount Errigal. The area Carrickfinn has to be one of the most beautiful places we have been in Ireland. There are numerous beaches in the area, all of which are safe and clean and absolutely breathtaking in their beauty. Our family had so much fun, playing on the many fantastic beaches, exploring the area and taking in the wildlife. At the end of our holiday our kids did not want to leave and were upset about going home, so we will most definitely be back. My only regret is that we didn't bring our bikes with us as Carrickfinn is along with "Wild Atlantic Way" The owners Elma and Cathal are lovely people, they are so helpful and are only down the road if you need them during your stay. Roll on our holiday next year !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina K
Dundrum, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The ideal getaway in a stunning location!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Carrickfinn Cottage is a comfortable, well equipped cottage sited in the stunning scenery of North West Donegal. It is very closel to a number of stunning blue flag beaches and Donegal Airport. The Area is ideal for walkers, watersport enthusiasts, photographers or those simply wishing to get away from it all. It is perfect for families, groups or couples and is located in a quiet setting approximately 5mins from the local amenitities. The owners, Cahal and Elma are always on hand to offer tips advice or help if needed. We have visited approximately four times and never tire of the beauty of the area.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlies W
Duisburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A GETAWAY FROM CITY LIFE”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Carrickfinn Cottage is away from it all, meaning away from the hustle and bustle of city life, though certainly not away from beautiful scenery, as there are fantastic beaches very close, i.e. in walking distance from the cottage. We loved taking walks along thre beaches and climbing the sand dunes. The cottage itself is very spacious and well equipped with thebedrooms being ensuite. It is cosy the relax in front of the open fire. Elma and Cathal are very friendly and hospitable people. This has been our second stay and certainly not the last.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaKirk
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect adventure playground for a family holiday”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The area around this cottage is one big nature playground - you couldn't bring your children to a better place to explore their world. The mountains are high, rugged and spectacular,, the beaches are expansive, stunning and uncrowded. There are coves to explore, harbours to potter around, rocks to clamber, sand dunes to run down, rock pools to hunt, safe sea to swim, forests to forage in, Irish music to dance to, crab to die for, and a sky so large you think you're at the end of the world. The cottage is a little piece of history, and perfect for a family. We stayed there for three summers in a row, and my three girls love it. It's clean and so well stocked, and when you sit on the decking with a glass of wine to watch the sun settle behind Mount Errigle, life just slows down around you. The owners are wonderful, always there with a smile and a helping hand. This isn't a holiday cottage, it's a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, owners and view
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leftypark...
Middletown, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderful cottage!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Carrickfinn cottage is very comfortable, and in a lovely setting. Everything one would need is provided, including a large sauna. The area is convenient to beautiful beaches, pubs and all kinds of places to explore.
Elma and Cahal are so hospitable and friendly, we felt at home.
We highly recommend this beautiful cottage, and plan to visit again, soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gogocon
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
5
people found this review helpful

An amazing time was had by my husband, my 21/2 yr old and myself at this wonderful cottage. Blue flag beaches, ship wrecks, sand dunes, donkeys, ponies, goatsand much much more - plenty to keep our daugther entertained. Fabulous cottage fully equiped with everything you could think of for a break away. I took advantage of nap times by running alongside the airport and back over home via the sand dunes - meeting our good friends Cathal and Elma along the way. It sounds silly but we were very sad to leave this 'Little Piece of Heaven'........... Cathal and Elma went above and beyond the call of duty for us.... provided useful visitor attraction suggestions daily and were great craic - after having met them for 5 minutes I felt I had known them years!!!!!!!!!! Everything about the cottage was perfect - very clean and easy to keep clean - I would certainly recommend Carrickfinn to anyone looking a break away with small children - private beaches on your door step - what more could you ask for? Cathal and Elma you will certainly be seeing much more of us!!! I have no doubt Charlotte will want to take her friends or future family there in years to come!!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND Carrickfinn xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Turf Fire and Cathals comfy outdoor seats!!!!
Liked least: There is nothing we could say we didnt like
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We were very glad that your partners sickness was short lived and that you both enjoyed your holiday in Donegal. We send our best wishes, and would be delighted to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing