We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The gem of Donegal hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Annagry
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The gem of Donegal hospitality”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

From the minute we stepped into the hotel the welcome was amazingly warm and friendly. The staff smile all the time and service is second to none. Food was first class and service swift. Whether it was the trad group that played in the bar or Rosie who served breakfast their aim to make you feel at home succeeded in triumphs. Will definitely visit again, you have restored my faith in Irish hospitality. Thank you

Room Tip: We had a sea view. Would recommend you ask for same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    78
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
105
184
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home to Derry after a three night stay in Caislean Oir for my brothers wedding.

What a hotel!!! Pure class!

The lobby, bar, restaurant, toilets and rooms were clean and well kept. There was free wifi throughout, there was a homely comfort and great atmosphere throughout and a great buzz around the hotel.

The bedrooms had a stunning view across the sea and were very well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, large comfortable beds, tv, and ensuite.

The food was absolutely delicious. Great variety and fantastic value for money.

The bar had a great selection of draught beers & ciders and an extensive wine list.

But where this hotel really shone was the staff! James and Joe (the owners) run a fantastic show at Caislean Oir. They both could not have done more for us as a party. For four days they kept the Craic alive and made sure the wedding was a stunning affair, without a hitch! They made sure they knew us all by name and made the entire experience homely and warm. Their overall service was flawless.

James and Joe were supported by a friendly and very talented team of staff. The team made our stay even more personal and were all out waving us off from the hotel steps this morning... Where else would you get that!?!

The entertainment in the hotel all weekend was brilliant and many of the staff gave us a song! Rosie & Sean for XFactor!!!

Words cannot describe how amazing our experience was at Caislean Oir. They made the wedding one of the best we every experienced and we will be talking about it for years to come.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare0270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 day wedding party at Caislean Oir and it was absolutely fabulous. The hotel staff could not enough for us, Sean, James, Joe, Sean, Rosie, Aisling, Mairead. Nothing was a bother. It was a small occasion with 40 guests and the hotel was ideal. Food was superb and a wide menu is available. The ambience in the bar on the 3 nights was great and the musicians played until daybreak. The rooms were great and the sea view is to die for.
Caislean Oir is certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BOH4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a mega friendly welcome. There's lots of parking adjacent to the hotel. This entire and proud county has happy, friendly in its DNA. It's everywhere you go and it's great. Our room was comfortable, good size with tea and coffee facilities, a TV on the wall, table, chairs, sideboard and as our room was at the front we had a lovely view across the bay. We used the hotel as a great cosy base to tour around Arranmore island, Burtonport and Dungloe. The hotel has wifi throughout. There are simply stunning beaches close by and what's most amazing is that they are pretty much empty. The breakfast choices were just ace, smoked salmon with scrambled egg, fish of the day (haddock) great brown bread and the usual meat stuff that we avoid when there's fish choices. They also make their own muesli and it's darn good too. Dinner was very good and fairly priced. Their garlic mussels were very tasty. I also enjoyed the vegetarian pasta which had only one error, the pasta was over cooked. My wife also enjoyed her prawn cocktail starter and roast chicken main. Another thing about this county; the Guinness is always served up perfect and at €4 in most places it's a bargain. There were two American movie types about town. They have a holiday home in the area, Ms Sarah J Parker (whom I never heard off) and her husband Matthew Broderick (who I recalled was Inspector Gadget). They were there with their kids - when we saw them, she looked unhappy and he looked distracted. No one bothered them which is how it should be. We return again and again to different parts of this diverse county and we enjoy it but honestly many of the roads are crap so when you visited, which you must, be prepared.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Newryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We booked this hotel via the phone. The receptionist assured me that we would have a sea view room which was the sole reason for our booking . Our view was of plant machinery and a scabby little yard. We were told at check in they were booked out. The food was at best well fried. The breakfast was well fried too. Poor choice for vegetarians or vegans and it is unfortunate but I am one. No fresh fruit, no cheese, no rolls only bread was white toast or brown bread.The waitress was indifferent so we did not ask. The bedroom was at best clean but all the furnishings were dated and tired. It had good internet access so I guess that was a plus. Security wise the window was at ground floor level and had no security locks so this may be a consideration for solo travelers.

Room Tip: insist on a seaview room in the front if travelling alone do not take a room at the back of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here from Sunday to Tuesday using a Groupon voucher that I had bought.
The village is really picturesque and the hotel holds a dominating position overlooking the bay.
On arrival I was given a complimentary upgrade to a sea view with king size bed.
The room was a really good size and was spotless. Only slight gripe was the full length window in the room! But the hotel did offer to fit special lace curtains for modesty if you wanted them!
Having normally stayed in Dublin whilst visiting Eire, this was a real eye opener on how truly beautiful Ireland really is!
The hotel prices were very reasonable in comparison to the prices I had been paying in Dublin.
In the morning I was treated to a brilliant full Irish breakfast that was cooked to perfection.
All the hotel staff were polite, courteous and professional. They were truly a credit to the Management of the Hotel.
I very rarely say this, but I will visit again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Wonderful food in a lovely bar. Great seafood choices and well cooked. Great views of this lovely part of Donegal. Staff very efficient and friendly too. Friendly atmosphere and fine for families into the early evening

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siobhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annagry
19.8 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
25.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,999 reviews
2.7 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
18.0 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
22.8 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caisleain Oir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caisleain Oir Hotel

Property: Caisleain Oir Hotel
Address: Caisleain Oir Caisleain Oir Main Street, Annagry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Annagry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Annagry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caisleain Oir Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned & Operated Hotel in the heart of the Donegal Gaeltacht Region. Caisleain Oir Hotel Overlooks Annagry Bay. we are only one mile from Donegal Airport and Open all year round Caisleain Oir Hotel has a warm welcoming atmosphere, well apointed rooms with bay views. Free WiFi and Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Caisleain Oir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caisleain Oir Hotel Annagry, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing