We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful situation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Annagry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful situation”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The views from this hotel are stunning, even in the rain! Our room was perfectly clean and in good condition. The breakfast produce was of good quality and served hot. Evening meals couldn't be faulted. The staff were friendly and efficient. Would certainly stay again if I was in the area. The only negative was on a personal note both my husband and I found the pillows uncomfortable which led to poor sleep quality and sore necks!

Room Tip: try to get a room at the front of the hotel for the tremendous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    78
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
111
192
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tintagel, Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short stay at this hotel. The views from the bedroom were breathtaking and a real treat at the start and end of each day. The room was cleaned to perfection every day and the meals and service in the restaurant were very good. We will certainly be coming back here and recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front for the great sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryatstnectan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

had an evening meal in the bar, and had two and half courses, had yummy local mussels and then for main meal the chicken in peppered sauce, and then the cheesecake , and it was hmmmm, and i really can't fault the top class restuarant.

Room Tip: meals are really good, first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed here with my family for a two night weekend break, we had booked 4 rooms, all of which were lovely and clean.

The staff were more than helpful and really friendly.

To top it all of the food was fantastic.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grainne1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamble
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

It's hard to believe a place like this exists in such a wild and rugged part of Ireland. Friendly efficient staff keep the wheels oiled here. Our room was large with a table and chairs by the window with a view of the bay. The bed was super king sized made up with quality linen and super comfy.

I had a bath which filled quickly and most welcome after a day cycling and climbing.
Even though it was the week before Easter, the bar was busy with families and couples enjoying snacks or meals.

The locally caught crab claws were delightful. And our evening meal was equally delicious. We had a house red which was fairly priced and palatable.


There are plenty of historical snippets hanging on the walls to read and ponder.

Really enjoyed this family run Hotel and our bikes were stored safely overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meraid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed for two nights midweek on a Groupon deal and had a excellent time. The value for money was unbelievable. The room we were given was large with a large double bed and single bed (although there was just the two of us) and faced the front with lovely views. Tea and coffee making facilities were available and replenished each day. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed lovely walks on the beautiful beaches a few miles away which we found after being given directions from the receptionist who was so lovely and genuinely friendly. She is a great asset to this hotel. We enjoyed our delicious, generous breakfast which left us so full we could not eat anything more until late in the evening. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the bar on our second night which again was plentiful and truly delicious. Service from the young waiter was efficient and he had a lovely warm and friendly attitude. Although there was no live music in the hotel (only on Saturdays I believe) we traveled to Bunbeg where there was Irish music and dancing in Teac Jack's and on the second night in Leo's which is a bit nearer the hotel.This area of Donegal is rugged and wild with beautiful views so if that's what you like then this small hotel offers a great base for touring this wonderful area.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I know this area of Donegal well and had eaten in this hotel a number of times but had never stayed there before. But this Easter changed all that and a truly lovely and relaxing experience it was. There is a very welcoming feel to the place, and the staff are all very efficient, helpful and genuinely friendly. I had one of the delux rooms at the front looking out over the bay. Well appointed room, with a very comfortable bed and a homey feel to it.
I woke early after a great nights sleep, (the Donegal air of the previous day had knocked me out) I pulled back the curtains and the sun was just beginning to rise and the tide was far out. I made a cup of tea from the facilities provided and sat and watched as the sun rose and the tide crept in so quietly. It was a beautiful start to the day. For breakfast I tried their scrambled egg with smoked salmon, it was a very generous portion served on a big slice of moist wheaten bread. There was tea and toast and a whole range of cereals and some fresh fruit to chose from. The second morning, I didn't rise in time to watch the sunrise, but I did have a little sit with a cup of tea again to look out and enjoy the sun shimmering on the water in the bay. I had their special fry for breakfast and was not disappointed, delicious.
I was there with my elderly parents and my young niece joined me on the second night. We all had a great experience and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. We didn't even get to enjoy the music provided in the bar each night as we were so exhausted after walking around beaches and along country roads in the fresh air all day, but as I dragged my weary legs up to bed each night, I could hear the great craic in the bar, but I was beat and I knew that big comfortable bed awaited me zzzzzzz.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little more for the delux rooms with the beautiful view over the bay. A great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shinner72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annagry
25.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,149 reviews
4.5 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
787 reviews
24.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
23.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caisleain Oir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caisleain Oir Hotel

Property: Caisleain Oir Hotel
Address: Caisleain Oir Caisleain Oir Main Street, Annagry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Annagry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Annagry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caisleain Oir Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned & Operated Hotel in the heart of the Donegal Gaeltacht Region. Caisleain Oir Hotel Overlooks Annagry Bay. we are only one mile from Donegal Airport and Open all year round Caisleain Oir Hotel has a warm welcoming atmosphere, well apointed rooms with bay views. Free WiFi and Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Caisleain Oir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caisleain Oir Hotel Annagry, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing