We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Hotel in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Annagry
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendliest Hotel in Ireland”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the hotel and ate in the bar on 2 of them. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was magnificent and we have never tasted crab claws as good as in any top rated restaurant. There is a lovely ambience about the Caisleain Oir. The view from the rooms overlooking the sea is breath-taking. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diarmaid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    78
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
107
189
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a lovely family hotel out on the west coast of Donegal. Came across it on a deal for 2 night and took a chance having read Tripadvisor reviews. My wife and myself had a very pleasant and quiet break made very enjoyable by one of the most helpful staff we have met. We had dinner on Sunday night after a walk on the beautiful beach behind the airport. and were served by a very pleasant girl who works partime and studies. We shared a starter of mussells, my wife had breast of chicken and I had perfectly cooked monk fish served with a selection fresh vegetables and potatoes and again shared a desert, which was plenty. Monday after a hearty breakfast, try the Caisleain Oir special, we went over to Aaran More on the ferry bringing our car. It was end of season and you need a car on the island. A little piece of heaven. Tuesday morning again the Caisleain Oir special to start the day before the long drive back to the midlands. We will certainly return even with the long drive as this is a piece of heaven on earth where you are well looked after by excellent staff. You do need your car as it is a little isolated which is part of it's charm.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are to the front and over the bar but were well insulated against sound. Main pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBoyinGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I spent a fantastic night here with great dinner and breakfast, very welcoming and friendly. Best thing was that I had left my Kindle in the room and they posted it back to me in the UK , FOC.
I would highly recommend the Caisleain Oir Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter24758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with online deal - Princess Sylvia and I both delighted with quality, service and value. Hotel is well furnished and cleanliness is first class. We got a front facing room at the end so quiet and scenic - funny how such a wide mud flat can fill with water (bird lovers would love this) Rooms well finished and reception/sitting area very welcoming. Breakfast very good, we had one evening meal which was typically Irish but really good quality. Staff, mostly young men, could not have been nicer and are a credit to themselves and the hotel, everything was "No bother." Highly recommended.
Short drive to a fantastic beach beside the airport. Annagry has a few shops, pubs and carry-out food outlets - nice Chinese!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgieB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from a night here and felt compelled to tell everyone how fab it was. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a seaview room by James, and the views were stunning. The room was nice, immaculately clean and bottled water for the guests was a lovely wee touch. Both dinner and breakfast were really superb, the best crap claws I have ever had, and a speacial mention to Sean, who was great throughout. Overall a great wee night away in rugged Donegal. If you like warm hospitality, fab food and time away from life, this is a place for you. We personally loved it.

Room Tip: A room with a view is a must. Stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxytaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited recently for lunch and I was pleasantly surprised by both the quality and quantity of the food on offer.

The staff were friendly and attentive, I had the steak sandwich in ciabatta, my wife had the omelette and her friend had the fish & chips.

All 3 meals were superb, good sized and promptly served nice and hot.

Can't review the Hotel part or main menu - but if you're in the area and want a big, good quality lunch at a reasonable price you could do a lot worse than giving here a try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditchers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just returned from an enjoyable two night stay at Caisleain Oir Hotel. Beautiful scenery and excellent food including a good selection at breakfast!!. Rooms are comfortable if a bit outdated but that's part of the experience. Overall a great stay, close to Dungloe which has lots of shopS and bars. If in this part of the country again we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisin991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annagry
25.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,104 reviews
4.5 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
758 reviews
18.0 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
397 reviews
22.8 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caisleain Oir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caisleain Oir Hotel

Property: Caisleain Oir Hotel
Address: Caisleain Oir Caisleain Oir Main Street, Annagry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Annagry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Annagry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caisleain Oir Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned & Operated Hotel in the heart of the Donegal Gaeltacht Region. Caisleain Oir Hotel Overlooks Annagry Bay. we are only one mile from Donegal Airport and Open all year round Caisleain Oir Hotel has a warm welcoming atmosphere, well apointed rooms with bay views. Free WiFi and Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Caisleain Oir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caisleain Oir Hotel Annagry, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing