We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cosy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Annagry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice cosy hotel”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just returned from an enjoyable two night stay at Caisleain Oir Hotel. Beautiful scenery and excellent food including a good selection at breakfast!!. Rooms are comfortable if a bit outdated but that's part of the experience. Overall a great stay, close to Dungloe which has lots of shopS and bars. If in this part of the country again we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisin991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    78
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
105
185
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Small professionally run family hotel in the village of Annagry. Thoughtfully furnished and very clean. Staff are friendly and ever eager to help. Food is excellent, and quantity is good, especially in the bar with prices very fair. Rooms are are a reasonable size and have almost everything a guest could want. The views from rooms facing the bay are amazing. Wifi is available, but is only of any real use in the public areas, maybe a few boosters on the corridors would help.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doaghtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night and thought it was a beautiful area with gorgeous views. We were greeted at the door by a grumpy man, who didn't offer to carry our bags. We got up to our room and it was beautiful but had a not so good view, of a digger and a old fruit and veg van. Our room was very cosy, occasionally it got too warm but that couldn't really be helped. We then went for a meal, which was delicious and staff were very friendly and attentive to service. In our room, there was a few faults, the television didn't work, the sink broke and the iron and hair dryer were poor quality. The Body wash was also bad quality. But There was soo many other excellent things. I enjoyed my stay, but would have enjoyed it more if these faults were seen to ! Breakfast was good, overall an average stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room was a sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harper2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a long weekend traveling around the Donegal gaeltacht and choose Caisleain Oir as our base largely because of the consistently good reviews on TA. It's perfectly located nearby both to the various villages (like Gweedore and Dunfanaghy) around the coastal road and also for accessing the national park at Glenveagh. It's pleasantly decorated inside and is kept pristine clean and we had a spacious comfortable room that looked out to a beautiful view across the bay. There's a wide range of tasty choices for breakfast and we ate there two evenings for dinner; the cooking is great quality all round, genuinely home-style and with huge portions. The staff are also exceptionally friendly and strive to make your stay just that little bit special. The place exceeded our best expectations, we thought it was really terrific value for money, and since we came back (to Dublin) we've been recommending it to anyone who wants to visit this beautiful part of the island.

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a good view of the bay but ask to be sure you get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My mum and dad, husband and I all stayed here in March 2013 and had a fantastic time! We didn't know anything about the hotel before we arrived so didn't know what to expect. When we arrived we received a warm welcome from the reception and were given our keys.

The rooms were very well kept, very clean and had tea and coffee facilities and two bottles of water, which makes all the difference. The hotel was very warm and cosy and all of us were delighted with our rooms. This is not a big hotel, which I think it makes it all the better.

The food was outstanding in the bar, big portions and of a high quality, never disappointed (and at a reasonable price). The breakfast was fantastic also and had a great choice of things, cereals, hot cooked breakfasts, toast, fruit and juices, tea and coffee.

But I have to say the thing that made this hotel brill was the staff. We spent many hours in the bar at night chatting with the owner and getting a background on a truly family run hotel! The locals in the bar were also very helpful and gave us great advice about were to go during the day and tales from years ago and stories about the surrounding area. A good place to see is the castle which is nearby in a fabulous setting! Would definitely return here for a lovely peaceful weekend away beside a fantastic beach and lovely scenery.

To sum it up a lovely, quiet trip away in a stunning location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicstar2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Arrived at Caisleain Oir at 8.10pm and ordered bar food which arrived quickly. Portions were large although I asked for my chips not to be salted ..an they were. Had to wait longer than I would expect to have plates taken away. Was never offered a desert menu and couldnt catch the waiters eye.. eventually went up to bar at 9.20pm and asked for menu. Was told kitchen closed and chef away but could have ice cream!! Excuse me but sign says "serve food all day" - in this day and age bar/resturant in a hotel closing at 8.30pm....AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is a beautiful warm friendly and clean hotel, and the food is absolutely gorgeous. We arrived hours too early but we were given a room immediately wish was very nice. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was spotless. This hotel is situated in a very scenic part of donegal and only five minutes from carrickfinn airport. I highly recommend a visit to this hotel if your travelling in the area and I will definately be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annagry
25.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,053 reviews
19.8 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
716 reviews
2.7 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
23.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
329 reviews
18.0 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caisleain Oir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caisleain Oir Hotel

Property: Caisleain Oir Hotel
Address: Caisleain Oir Caisleain Oir Main Street, Annagry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Annagry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Annagry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caisleain Oir Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned & Operated Hotel in the heart of the Donegal Gaeltacht Region. Caisleain Oir Hotel Overlooks Annagry Bay. we are only one mile from Donegal Airport and Open all year round Caisleain Oir Hotel has a warm welcoming atmosphere, well apointed rooms with bay views. Free WiFi and Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Caisleain Oir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caisleain Oir Hotel Annagry, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing