We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gods Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Annagry
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gods Country”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived on Friday for a family wedding on the Saturday. Friendly staff, good room with stunning views of the bay.

Room had a kettle, iron & board, a hairdryer and a powerful shower.

BTW, it will always be Jacks to me and never Caisleain Oir.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnAllison8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    77
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
102
181
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

What can I say excellent in every way all catered for.Food service and hospitality were second to none.Could show Danny Minnies a thing or two.Breakfast great and dinner and lunch were amazing.Well done will be back soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maj085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
250 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Caisleain Oir in April on a deal and really enjoyed the place, the food, the Wednesday quiz night, and the really excellent service from James and all the team. We promised to return and did this last weekend.
The traditional music session on the Saturday night was great fun, and the food, cooked by James' sister Anita was simply fantastic. Once more the service from James, Kevin and all the staff was excellent, and nothing was too much trouble.
The recently refurbished rooms are of a very good standard and the breakfast is worth getting up early for!
There is nothing more certain than the fact that we shall make Caisleain our regular haunt in Donegal!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights and didn't want to leave. James, his family & all the staff made us feel so welcome. Nothing was to much trouble, all the hotel staff worked with a simile. You could tell that everyone really enjoyed their guests conversations & craic.
We had a seaview room, and its was great to wake up each morning with the view of the sea metres away from the front of the hotel.
The food was excellent, James sister is the chef, and the seafood is so fresh and tasty. The restaurant is very popular, judging by the number of locals who also eat there during the day. Then to top this the breakfast, salmon & scambled eggs on the 1st morning, and then the Caisleain Oir special fry on the second morning, fantastic.
James gave us recommendations of places to go and see daily, and we seen loads of local attractions, thanks to his helpful advice.
We can't wait to get back, and have recommended the hotel to all family & friends.

Room Tip: Visit the Leos Tavern nearby, ask James or any of the staff for advice, they are so helpful. The sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneCeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Situated in the sleepy village of annagary, caislean oir has a natural advantage over most hotels in Ireland even in Donegal. It's view of the sea and surrounding mountains is breathtaking, especially at sunrise and sunset. The hotel is small and homely with James and his delightful wife ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. The food is excellent and the steaks are worth the visit alone although all tastes are catered for. The beach at castlefinn must be the finest in Ireland and Ireland's best kept secret. After dinner take a taxi to Leo's tavern, a few miles away for the finest music sessions in the county. The hotel is ideal for touring Donegal with many attractions within easy access. All the rooms are of a good size and beds are comfortable. Come visit caislean oir. You'll come back, I promise you

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Most have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flybj450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights mid week and had a lovely time.

First of all the hotel is just across the road from the sea so there are lovely views of it from the front bedrooms, the restaurant and the bar. Annagry is a very peaceful and relaxing place.

There is a great friendly atmosphere in the hotel. Everyone will speak to you; cleaners, receptionists, bar staff, waitresses, gardener and make you feel welcome. We stayed in another hotel in the Gaeltacht before now and felt cut off. That is not the case here.

The room we stayed in was very clean and spacious with a large double bed and a single bed, plenty of hanging space, a safe etc. There are tea and coffee making facilities too. The shower is in the bath so it's a bit awkward to hop in and out of it.

The food is very good. We ate there on both nights. There is a wide menu and the service is excellent. During the week the restaurant is closed so you eat in the bar but it is a pleasant bar and not a hardship to eat there.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant until ten every morning. On the breakfast menu there is smoked salmon and scrambled egg and fresh fish as well as kippers, traditional fries etc.

At the hotel you are less than one mile from Donegal airport. You can be in the Caisleain Oir from Dublin or Glasgow in less than forty minutes. Some air crew stay in the hotel. Right beside the airport is the blue flag beach of Carrickfinn. Lifeguards are there during the summer. The beach is beautiful and when we were there at the end of June we had most of it to ourselves A track runs down the side of the airport to the sand dunes at the end of the beach.

We used the hotel to explore The Rosses for it is a part of Donegal we do not know so well. We visited Donegal town, Killybegs, Dungloe, Burtonport and other places. We enjoyed a lazy day at Portnoo when the tide was out and you could walk to the island.

Because of the hotel it was a very good break and we would go back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visittyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A lovely friendly hotel, breakfast nice and dinner in the evening was fab. Rooms basic, but lovely view. Great view over the bay, Music was very entertaining in the evenings, a traditional set was playing. A great place for scenery and friendly people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckymayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annagry
19.8 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
643 reviews
25.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,933 reviews
2.7 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
22.8 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
372 reviews
18.0 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caisleain Oir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caisleain Oir Hotel

Property: Caisleain Oir Hotel
Address: Caisleain Oir Caisleain Oir Main Street, Annagry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Annagry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Annagry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caisleain Oir Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned & Operated Hotel in the heart of the Donegal Gaeltacht Region. Caisleain Oir Hotel Overlooks Annagry Bay. we are only one mile from Donegal Airport and Open all year round Caisleain Oir Hotel has a warm welcoming atmosphere, well apointed rooms with bay views. Free WiFi and Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Caisleain Oir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caisleain Oir Hotel Annagry, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing