We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Slanghoek Mountain Resort
Nearby Hotels
$104
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$135
$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
$753
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$314
$283
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
26
16
8
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
16
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafari tentputt putton stiltsoff roadtwo nightscape townprivate ablutionperfect locationbeautiful surroundingscamp sites areablution facilitiesget awaytentsdamlapacampingcampsite
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 53 of 53 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were there for a wedding and stayed over for the weekend in the permanent tented accommodation. The tents were clean and quite well equipped; it had an on suite bathroom with a shower, very basic inside – camping, but without the hassle. There is a braai (BBQ) area and outside seating in front of every tent. The area is really lovely and peaceful. We had a great time and will definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Tent 6 is on the end and nice and private.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The place looks inviting on arrival, the safari tent we stayed in was clean and so were the towels and the bathroom. Its a very peaceful and quiet place at first glance. After our 1st night we started noticing the small things, such as no change of towels, no broom to even sweep out the tent! There is only a trampoline n jungle gym for the smaller children, and 2 pools for everyone else. There is a tv room next to the pool with seating for 4 to accomodate all who are camping in the tents. The flies are straight out of a horror movie! And this is an understatement! Once you start a fire for a braai or barbeque the flies start swarming around the fire area. You need to run with you meat from the fire to the kitchen area to prevent the flies from attacking your meat. The horse rides are extremely expensive with R65 per adult for just 15mins! The river advertised has been dried up for a few years so if you want to go fishing, you need to have an SUV or similar vehicle to reach the next closest dam below the campsite. No day visitors are allowed so forget about having friends or family members pop in for even half a day. Another couple cut their visit short by a day and rather lost out on 1 day than to stay another night. If you're going to stay then be prepared to drive out for entertainment or bring a good few books. No music is allowed which can be a good thing or not and if you're in a chalet you need to stand in the kitchen if you want to watch tv. It might have been a different case if we were quite a few friends but then the noise levels would be an issue and then there is still the case of the flies to contend with.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr Adams n family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakkieRawsonville, Owner at Slanghoek Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

As you have said: We are a clean, peacefull and quiet resort and very proud of that! We would like to keep it that way. Allow me to respond on the remarks in this review:
Towles: We are a water-wise resort and because of that, the towels of the units are changed after every two nights stay. If quests need clean towels before that, they are welcome to ask at reception, as with any other needs they might have.
Brooms: All the tents have a hand-brush with dustpan for cleaning purposes.
Kids entertainment: Like you said, there are two swimmingpools, trampoline and jungle-gim. The kids can allso enjoy our 18 hole put-put coarse, the 100 ha farm to do mountain-biking, hiking and pony-rides.
Television: Most of our tent-quests do not want to watch television, but if you need extra chairs in the Television room, there is enough chairs at the lapa-area next to it.
Flies: We are located between wine farms and the flies are only a problem certain times of the year. We work on a professional and constant spraying program and we sell fly repellants in our shop on the premisis.
Pony-rides: Children only pay R5 for pony-rides in a riding-ring. Our rates for adults after the Dec holidays, are R130 for an hour ride and R65 for 30 minutes.
Fishing: Our river-systems are in flood each winter and flow lower in mid summer. We stay in a winter rainfall area. There is a fishing dam next to the campsites and one at Platbos Log Cabins with stocked bass, trout and other fish and are available for fishing 12 months of the year.
Noise: We do not allow day visitors or music on the premises.
Chalet kitchens: All our chalets have kitchens with enough chairs for everyone in the chalet, so you don't have to stand to watch tv.
Thank you for allowing me to make corrections on the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had a few nights at the resort and stayed in a chalet - it was nice but very basic. Good value for money, and a good location for the wedding we were attending. We did not know we had to turn on our hot water, which granted was our fault - but there was never anyone around at reception to ask. We eventually found out from our friends how to do this and enjoyed at least 1 night with hot water. Bed was a bit small for us (when someone is over 6'' tall) but comfortable. Very nice grounds and swimming pool, and we had a great hike around the area. I would recommend to anyone wanting something simple and independent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aelliott21921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakkieRawsonville, Owner at Slanghoek Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

We have a 24 hour call number if quests need something. Since November 2012 reception is manned over weekends and public holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

If you are like me and you love the outdoors but you hate camping and the effort of pitching a tent and dealing with the bugs and the uncomfortable sleeping area and the overall lack of everything we're used to then Slanghoek Mountain Resort is for you.

The Safari Tents were wonderful, clean, comfy beds, hot showers, electricity, thick and fluffy towerls and whatever else you need to have a comfortable camp-like holiday.

We stayed for 3 nights with our 3 year old daughter who didn't want to leave. She enjoyed it very much. The only thing that wasn't so great was the ice cold pools and no pool loungers around the pool area but overall it was a lovely weekend away.

Room Tip: Bring reading material and other entertainment because there's only putt putt aka miniature golf (not so fun actually), kids play area, icy cold pools and walks around the property.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheAbduls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews