We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect refuge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rising Sun Residence
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Chalong
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect refuge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you are looking for relaxing solitude, Rising Sun Residence is the perfect place. The bungalows provide a good sense of privacy, despite being next to each other, and the staff are helpful and friendly. The perks are numerous, and having a car with driver gives you the opportunity to explore the hustle and bustle of the tourist-ridden beaches without having to stay amongst them. Without a doubt, we will stay there again next time in Phuket. Top suggestion, book directly through the hotel to get the perks.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Hagbard_Celine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife, the kids (ages 10 & 8) and I stayed here in June 2012 and it truly is everything the website describes as well as what these reviews say.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa sharing the pool with the 4 other villas. The pool is plenty big for everyone to use, although we only saw a few people in it as we were in (and they were) in and out of the villa and out and about Phuket. The villa was fantastic, clean and despite basically being in a jungle, fairly (there were a lot of lizards but thats good because they eat all the nasty bugs) bug free (which was a worry of my kids). The AC in the master works really well and we never had an issue with staying cool. The beds are nice and comfy, and they provided a decent sized rollaway (at a minor extra cost) for the kids.

Breakfast is good, choose either western (eggs, bacon, sausage and/or ham) or asian (rice soup - which is quite good). We typically started our day with breakfast, then a swim, then had our driver pick up up mid/late morning to head out. A few points here (in no particular order):

1. The location of the villa's make it so it is not accessible to walk anywhere from here. You really don't need to either. Everything you may need is available or you can just have your driver take you to Tesco (supermarket) or Boots (pharmacy).

2. The resort is really quiet and private. It was exactly what we wanted, but for those of you wanting the night life and party scene of Patong Beach, DO not stay here. The staff is very attentive but never bothersome, available when we needed, but otherwise out of sight.

3. Having a driver (ours was Sukin (sp?)) is a HUGE benefit that you may not otherwise be aware of. Yes, you have him for 9 consecutive hours (you pay him if you go over), but he takes you wherever you tell him, and waits for you. His english is good enough to have passing conversations, but don't expect him to be a tour guide, telling you about this and that as you pass bye, because his english is not that good. He was perfect for us, polite, friendly, and patient. We spoke to several other tourists (from other resorts) we met during our stay and they all said they were spending close to $50 USD a day on taxi's and tuk-tuks. It was nice never having to hassle with negotiating a fare each time, never knowing if you're getting ripped off. Also, the driver picks you up at the airport and drops you off, another big benefit.

4. We did the cooking class with the owner (Khun Wipa) and it was excellent. Starts off early (6:30 am because the market gets really busy at around 8am which makes it hard to walk around) where she picks you up at the villa and takes you to the local market to buy all the goods you will cook. Very interesting trip, took lots of photos of stuff you just don't see at your local supermarket. Then you go back to your villa and eat breakfast and have a quick swim, then back to the hotel kitchen at 10:30 to start cooking. You cook several dishes, including a green curry, and the hot/sour soup. Then you eat what you cooked for lunch. We made so much we ended up having the rest for dinner the next night (since we have a fridge and microwave in our villa, all you have to do is order some fried rice and eat leftovers).

5. Coordinate your days with Khun Wipa or her husband, Khun Methee. They have invaluable advice on where to go (and where NOT to go) that is perfect. They can help you plan your days and even book things for you.

6. Book directly through the hotel website, NOT through an outside one (like Agoda or expedia) as you get extra benefits (like the free massages).

7. Having unlimited bottled drinking water (its in glass bottles) and a fridge/freezer was invaluable. We ended up buying couple of plastic water bottles and refilling them with the villa drinking water, then freezing it the overnight so when we explored Phuket the next day, we always had at least a couple of bottles of cold/clean drinking water. Not that there isn't enough bottled drinking water to buy wherever you go, but it does make it a little easier (esp. with 2 kids).

8. Villa's had wifi, although it worked better by the pool. My guess is that its probably located up at the office, which is a little ways away. We never had a problem getting on when we sat around the pool, but it was hit and miss inside the villa). Can't really complain as it was free, available and speed was good.

We recommend this place to anyone who wants a quiet and private location to go and relax, yet still have accessiblity to everything in Phuket with the drive. We hope that next time we visit Phuket, that we stay in one of the larger 3 bedroom villas and bring some of our friends.

Quick notes on Phuket:
1. Visit the weekend night market for souvenier shopping and to try all the local foods (yummy).
2. Big Buddha is quite impressive and the views from the top are quite good. Make sure you look up what you should wear (to be respectful), but there is a girl at the entry that hands you a sarong you can wrap around you to cover your shoulders and knees.
3. Wat Chalong is very close (less than 10 minutes by car), and worth visiting. Again, make sure you're dressed properly (no sarong handout here).
4. I exchanged money at the local mall (Central they called it) where they have about 6 exchange banks inside (all in the same location, 2nd floor). No exchange fees, and very good rates.
5. Nai Harn Beach (recommended by Wipa) was quiet, and had some good restaraunts on the beach (we ate at "the original sunset restaruant" twice. Hardly and souvenier selling people walking on the beach, fresh fruit stands are close too.
6. If there are signs on the beach that say "No Swimming"....Do NOT swim. We saw a man drown our last day at the beach. Apparently, during the May-Sep season, the riptides are really strong. Its not worth it...swim at the villa and enjoy the sun, food and sand at the beach. We went up to our knees and in the ocean, and you could really feel the riptide pulling you. There are lifeguards but its better to not even risk it. The drowning happened so fast even though the lifeguards got to the guy really quickly.
7. There are dogs and cats everywhere. I guess nobody spays or neuters their animals, so its strange to see. We were never scared by them, as they just keep to themselves. Not a worry, you'll be aware of it when you get there.
8. Mopeds/Scooters everywhere on the roads. It's fun to see how many there are, don't be surprised to see more than 2 on a scooter. The most we saw were 4!
9. Patong beach is for partyers, especially at night. We went during just after lunch to look around, nothing worth visiting again. Nai Harn is a much better beach for beaching.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend any more than 2 adults and 2 young kids (ours were 10 and 8) in the villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spent a wonderful 3 nights at the Rising Sun Residence in May and wished we had of stayed longer. I conducted quite a lot of research before heading to Thailand and booked the Rising Sun based on other great reviews and we weren't disappointed. The staff are very accommodating and nothing was ever a hassle. They organised a great trip to Phi Phi islands on our request, sent us to a couple of great restaurants and organised fantastic massages for me and my partner in our villa's . Our room was clean, Wi-Fi capable and had all the accessories to make you feel like you were right at home. The in-house restaurant is a must we had one of the best green curry's we have ever tasted and the staff also made me feel very special on my birthday with a special birthday dessert and a lovely happy birthday song. We would most definitely stay at the Rising Sun in the future and thanks to Wipa and the team again for a wonderful stay in Phuket.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I went for one week and stayed for two -- which, perhaps, says it all.

Caring, attentive staff. On-site, involved, caring owners. Quite, peaceful, utterly relaxing and far from the maddening crowds. (If you want the maddening crowds just let the driver of your available-nine-hours-a-day car know.)

The food is excellent -- with breakfast being prepared and served in your villa.

My advice is to book directly through RSR's website. Not only is it less expensive than the prices offered through internet booking agents, you are given a number of services and extras that the internet booking agents prices do not include.

Rising Sun residence is one of those rare, small gems to which I would return in a heartbeat. I was reluctant to leave.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell there are no bad "rooms" (villas).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We found the hotel from internet and decided to book it because of the high rating in tripadviosr. The service and the place are really as good as what other reviewers wrote. We did not want to leave and hope to stayed longer at the end of our trip.

- the pool
We were group of 7, stayed in 3 one-bedroom villa which placed around the a pool. There are only 5 one-bedroom villa, but we never met other guests during our trip. Therefore, the pool was just like our private pool. We could enjoy swimming every morning and also after coming back to hotel at night!

And it was great that we could have breakfasts at pool side instead of in our own villa. It was really enjoyable whenwe have breakfast under the sunshine and wind at poolside.

- location
The villas are on the hillside, having a seaview. Although it is not at town center, it didn't hurt us as our package which booked though the hotel webiste including van and driver. It was really convenient to go everywhere.

- food
The dinner in Wipa's Thai Cuisine was family style thai dishes, it was really decisious. Many thanks to Ms. Wipa for preparing the brithday cake for one of my friends.
The breakfast was good, too. As the omelette & sausage are served hot every morning, the choices are plenty enough. And it was really a good place to enjoy breakfast at the poolside.

- villa
The villa is big, the living room of the villa is always cool even without conditioner. And I like the flower decoration in the villa too.

- service
The service were really great! It was really a home away from home as the owner said. We found the driver were waiting us once we went out the airport. Every of us recieved a flower ring once we arrived the lobby. Ms Wipa helped really much to arrange our trip. The driver's helpful too. He's waiting us everyday with smile, ususally 20 mins earlier than we booked.

In conclusion, it was really a great trip to Phuket this time. We loved Rising Sun Residence. We also loved those restaurants on the beaches. I would defintely return to Phuket soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hydro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. Wipa, the owner and her staff can't do enough to make your stay special.Seeing it is out of the rush & bustle of Phuket having the car & driver for 9 hours is a real treat. The setting is great, with a beautiful swimming pool right outside your door. Breakfast is brought to your room each morning which is a real treat.

I had to do a business presentation and seeing one of the 3 bedroom luxury apartments was free Wipa allowed me to use that at no charge which was very decent of her.

Good old fashioned service! Nothing is too much of a trouble. Eager to please.

Planning on staying here every time I go to Phuket on business & pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celebrate2Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

My Stay is from 22 April - 26 April 2012

I always have bad sleeps in the hotel...even in any other 5 Stars Hotel.. I need 2 days to adapt to the bed!!
But in RSR!! I Really have Great Sleeps in the 4 days of staying!! "Wonder what brand their bed from :) "
And Food from Mdm Wipa's Kitchen is a must try!!

Rates below for everyone to Feel on :

Relaxing >> 5 Stars ( You will feel that your out from everything that cause you stress)

Driver >> 5 Stars (Anywhere you like to go/anyplace you are just give them a ring!!)

Food >> 5 - 6 Stars (Don't feel sad if u gain 5kg during the stay!! Its all worth it!!)

Host and Staff >> 5 - 6 Stars ( When Mdm Wipa and the staff knows that me and my friend are allgery to some food but they change all the menus just for us and still its very YUMMY!!!! WE REALLY so TOUCH!! Thank you Mdm Wipa !!)

Place they recomanded the island trip >> 5 Stars ( Mdm Wipa and Mr Methee told us about the island trip, we was just having a trying feeling to see whats happening... BUT!!! Ladies and Guys!! Remember to Wear/Bring along your swimming items Its a MUST MUST!! and SUN BLOCK"SPF50"<A MUST to bring along>.. and the trip to the island... hehehehe!! You got to go there yourself to be in the place xD no words can fill it up!!

Swimming Pools and jacuzzi >> 5 Stars ( Its just infront of your Villa, Me and and friend just jump in the pool and jacuzzi every morning ;D its So fun and relexing!! And they will clean the pool every morning )

Spa >> 5 Stars ( The spa <Tara Tara Spa > is located down the road "recommand by RSR" , they do provide for pick ups for us and the view is totally beautiful<if your lucky to get the special rooms ;D we got one on the 1st day of the spa :p .. Well we got a normal rooms on the 2nd day cause too many others travlers on the 2nd try :) > But overall if you like the spa, its worth to try )

Sea Food Restaurant >> 5 Stars ( Its recomanded by Mdm Wipa :) .. the Guava juice<must try if you like the fruit>, The fish<so fresh and sweet> and their mixed fruits salads <its way spicy don't try if you can't stand it but its still yummy xD> and... if your there at a right time, you will have your dinner with the sunset infront of you..

And there is so many other things you can try on "ask Mdm Wipa and Mr Methee for recomandation !! " Do have some time for RSR to feel the place !! Cheers Everyone!!

Room Tip: Try to wake up at 6 am from their time!! We can see sun rising every morning from the villa bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeJoyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalong
2.2 mi away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
4.8 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 83 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Signature Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
#2 of 12 in Chalong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
5.6 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
6.8 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Sun Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Sun Residence

Property: Rising Sun Residence
Address: 48/13 Moo 6, Soi Sai-Namyen, Chao Fa West Road, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Chalong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Chalong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rising Sun Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rising Sun Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Residence Hotel Chalong
Rising Sun Residence Phuket/Chalong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing