We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Divers Thailand / Kamala Dive Center - very professional and good service”

Local Dive Thailand
Ranked #3 of 53 Tours in Chalong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Local Dive Thailand is one of the few full stack Phuket diving companies, with two operational & fully purposed scuba diving tour boats, the M/V Chok Somporn & M/V Kepsub running daily dive trips to Phi Phi Island, Racha Yai/Noi & the King Cruiser Wreck. Though there are many other dive companies and some other dive boats to choose from, LDT is simply the only choice to make if you want to ensure that you have the best day possible while diving and access to the most exciting scuba diving sites Phuket & Phi Phi have to offer!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Local Divers Thailand / Kamala Dive Center - very professional and good service”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Local Divers Thailand / Kamala Dive Center

From the time we entered the van from the hotel to the return trip, the service was excellent. The dive boat staff took our dive gear from the van, took it over to the dive boat, and on return the staff took our gear out to the waiting area were the hotel shuttles were.
Unfortunately the staff took away my exercise for the day. But for those who find difficulty in carrying their own gear - great. Talk about unexpected personalized service.

The Divemaster assigned to us was excellent, locating marine creatures that we had never seen before at dive sites that we had dived before. It was amazing, our DM constantly came across subjects, and with no hesitation brought it to the attention of the other divers in the group.
All dives were no less than 50 minutes (or maybe a little more) in duration from the time you entered the water to surfacing from the safety stop.

Overall, we had an extremely good experience.
Hopefully on our return, we will again have a positive memorable experience.

The food on board:
Breakfast - eggs sunny side up, toast, sausages, jam, coffee, etc.
Lunch - if you like Thai cuisine ... excellent.
And throughout the day light snacks, and after the last dive pancakes.

Cost: well over $120.00 for 3 dives including breakfast, lunch, snacks, water, etc. Rentals will incur an additional cost based on the booking agent. Soft-drinks are available at 30 Baht. Beer is available at 60 Baht

The only negative issue that we have with this operation is that at the end of the day, there was no briefing on the part of the dive/boat crew (that we were aware of) as to which shuttle would take us back to our respective hotels. We had to ask each individual shuttle driver if they were heading out to our hotel. No concern about missing the shuttle, as each driver verified prior to departure, that they had the correct guests in the van.
The other issue, though to us would be deemed a minor concern is that the staff's English may be limited or even poor, they still provided an excellent diving experience and service.
If you are concerned about on-board facilities, they have 3 heads available for use.

Would we recommend this operation: Yes

Would we use this operation again: Yes, without hesitation

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Divevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocalDiveThailand, Owner at Local Dive Thailand, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Divevoyager

Thanks so much for your great review. I'm glad that you have good time with us on the boat. As for your comment about the briefing by the end of the day , I would like to assure you that we actually have debriefing 30 min before the boat arrive to pier to assign the bus that take customers back to the hotel but as you mention about the language barrier maybe possible that there was some miscommunicate somewhere.

Therefore we will take this comment to improve our service,as most of our staff are Thai who have long experience in diving industry so maybe their English is not perfect but we will make sure that this subject will be improved and make your diving holiday even better next time.

So hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Noon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first

Travelers who viewed Local Dive Thailand also viewed

 

Been to Local Dive Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing