We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vset

Vset
Ranked #37 of 87 Restaurants in Chalong
Cuisines: European, Thai, Seafood, Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

After reading other reviews and seeing Vset in the "where to eat in Phuket", we went to Vset after visiting Big Buddah. We had two options for the day, the other being on Rawai beach. I sincerely wish that we had driven a little further. There were four adults in our party and to my surprise, two of the drinks requested were unavailable. I ordered fresh mango juice (as listed on the menu) to be told that it isn't fresh - it comes from a can. It was clear that the waitress was suggesting that I choose something else. My wife ordered a soft drink that was on the menu to also be told that they didn't have any. Not a great start - but these things happen. We were given the menu and were disappointed at the selection. After waiting for quite some time to place an order, we were then asked if we were interested in the Thai menu (we had only been given the Western menu). After due consideration of the Thai menu, we made the food order, which was clearly repeated back to us by the same waitress. We received the starters and the first two main courses (off the Thai menu) at the same time. We then waited for the other two dishes (off the Western menu). They arrived after another ten minutes or so - after the Thai meals had already been finished and were the wrong meals altogether. We advised the staff who were not unduly concerned about this. As we had waited so long already, we elected to keep the two dishes and make do. A couple of meals (although incorrect) were good, as was one of the Thai dishes. The Thai omelette was disappointing.

All in all - we were not impressed and will certainly not revisit. The service was below average (incorrect meals, not giving us the full menu, not really concerned over the incorrect meals), the food did not live up to expectations after the reviews of others and the lack of availability of drinks listed on the menu was a shame. Maybe we visited on a bad day and this was an isolated incident, but we will not be going back to check this theory out.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Extraordinairy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

extraordinary flair of culinary skills.....................
wonderful restaurant beautifully decorated with an excellent menu and fine wines. We opted for a tasting menu by Chef cook Ronnie Macuja a real winner. Service from the staff as if we in europe everything perfectly arranged. Here we come more often and I recommend to everyone, It's one of the best restaurants in Phuket.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanskrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a restaurant definitely worth trying if you are around the south of Phuket. It's right near the Chalong Pier and is next of the Kan Eng on the Pier.
Recently they redesigned the restaurant and bar area. You can sit right next to the water and Tapas and cocktails or in the air-condition restaurant and enjoy some really great cuisine from Chef Ronny.
Last night we had his degustation menu. It's was fantastic, but I could get through it. We should have shared one.
The staff are friendly and very well trained in service and knowledge of wine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuePhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Vset = Extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Overview – Vset is Thai for ‘extraordinary’. This restaurant and especially Master Chef Ronnie Macuja lives up to its name in all respects. Tourists tend to stick to the West side of Phuket, but a trip to this restaurant will be well worth the effort. Their own website is very basic, but look them up on Facebook for a good idea of what they offer.

Type of Cuisine – Modern Western

Where – At Chalong Pier, East coast of Phuket.

Decor & Ambiance – Extremely tasteful and classy and a feast for the eye. Furniture and decor is of the highest quality and very tastefully done – good mix of textures without compromising on comfort or warmth. The glass encased, air-conditioned wine room and open kitchen adds to the relaxed atmosphere. We were there at night and the intimate lighting added a surreal and pleasing touch to this already remarkable place.
There is a also a wooden terrace in beautiful surrounds for a cocktail or al fresco dining and a bar that is situated right on the water’s edge. A perfect place for sundowners.

Food & Wine – Chef Ronnie and his exceptional creations has long been part of the Phuket scene. His has won multiple international awards and 3 gold medals which are proudly displayed as part of the decor. A look at the menu, will give you an idea of the inventiveness of this remarkable man and his team. The menu changes regularly, but at the time of our visit, these were some of the items on the menu:
• Lobster Salad (Crisp Iberico ham-eggplant salad, crustacean dressing, carrot-cumin oil) THB280
• Ravioli (Wanton wrapped blue swimmer crab, chives butter sauce) THB280
• Red Snapper Steak (Rice paper saltimbocca, dill puree, cherry tomatoes, basil-burnt butter sauce) THB480
• Black Angus (150 days tenderloin. Grilled tournedos of beef, herb-potato confit, lobster medallion, pearl vegetable vinaigrette) THB1090 - AWARD WINNING
• Pudding – (Hot chocolate-banana cream, summer berries, French vanilla ice cream) THB280 – AWARD WINNING

For us the Lobster Bisque (Phuket lobster based soup, cognac and scallion – THB280 and also AWARD WINNING) was the ‘find’ of the evening.
The wine list is adequate and covers the range from basic to top-of-the-range and includes wines from various wine producing regions around the world.

Service – The only negative of our evening was the slow service, but this only applied to drinks orders. Food orders were well handled. The staff is attentive and friendly.

Value – This is a top-class restaurant with top-class dishes and is very reasonably priced. Do not expect to pay what you would at your local Thai restaurant, but in comparison to similar restaurants, it is good value for money.
Wine in Thailand is expensive. Taking this into account, the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TomYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vset also viewed

Phuket Town, Phuket
Phuket Town, Phuket
 
Chalong, Phuket Town
Chalong, Phuket Town
 
Chalong, Phuket Town
Chalong, Phuket Town
 

Been to Vset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing