We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this....”

Suwit Muay Thai Training Camp & Gym
Ranked #26 of 43 things to do in Chalong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Suwit muay thai camp are welcomed anyone to train muay thai with us. Suwit muay thai camp can train from professional or beginner.
london
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“loved this....”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Within a very touristy county and resort, this felt like an evening of true Thailand culture - and a wonderful experience. We saw 9 bouts, from men fighting, down to young children aged 5 or 6 fighting.

We chose the normal seats - ring side and VIP are a lot more and really unnecessary - unless you want a comfy seat. We sat on the steps with the locals, fantastic view in a great gym, drinking Chang and Leo beers and watching a true piece of Thai culture.

I would recommend this over boxing events in bigger areas such as Patong - as this evening isn't a staged event for tourists. You are watching boxers fight for their living and for a passion. The fighters are well looked after and protected.

Highly recommended and would love to go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve_lansdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best gym in phuket”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent gym if you want to be trained by real muay thai experts, whether for a fight or just to get fit. Great accommodation and pool, I went twice fir 3 months in total and it was an unforgettable experience. Visited in 2009 and 2010, kittisak and his family are superb managers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Didn't train there but watched BS fight”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I don't know about the training there but I watched one of their "fighters" at the fight night involved in the worst, fat white kid versus Tuk-Tuk driver match ups and I honestly feel like somebody needs to call them out on this. It was such a disgrace.

That being said, the other fights of the night (the Thai on Thai) were fantastic that night.

Oh, they don't check your ticket, so just get the cheapest and you can still sit in VIP if you want.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fun, Legitimate Muay Thai fights”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We didn't stay in the accommodation or train at the gym, but just went for the fights on a Friday night. We'd also been to Bangla Stadium in Patong, and found this stadium had better-matched fights (on the night we were there) and was *MUCH* cheaper.
The view was just as good, if not better than Bangla, and there were a few extra fights.

A word of warning, there are very young kids fighting at the start and end, so if you're not comfortable with that better to get there 10-15min late and leave after the main event.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Maybe the best Traingcamp, but very dirty”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It supposed to be the best training camp, i dont know but it sure is the oldest, and it sure is not clean!!!!!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank wzrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suwit Muay Thai Training Camp & Gym also viewed

 

Been to Suwit Muay Thai Training Camp & Gym? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing