We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible seafood, amazing ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kan Eang@Pier Restaurant

Kan Eang@Pier Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 87 Restaurants in Chalong
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible seafood, amazing ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Deeeelicious food. The tiger prawns were absolutely divine and the White Snapper was so tender it fell right off the bone. Couldnt have asked for a better meal. Only downside was the price, but I do think it was worth it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanghain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    212
    78
    34
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A must go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Kan Eang is a must go for food lovers!

Located next to the bay, this is a relaxing spot for a good night out with friends, or a romantic night out with your love ones. Great efforts to develop the cosy ambiance with live jazz band playing throughout the night.

Large food selections from japanese, western and thai food. We ventured for the local favourites which we were very impressed by. Even the locals gave it two thumbs up!

On overall, good value for money and a great night out!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveEatExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loango National Park, Gabon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Well worth the taxi ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

The Kan Eang sits on Chalong Bay near the pier and does exactly what it says on the tin, it serves up fresh seafood next to the water's edge. It has a large open air eating area and the staff are very attentive and helpful, with some guidance from our waiter we picked our own rock lobster and white snapper from the live fish tanks which were then cooked to perfection and more than enough for 4 of us. The salads and starters were fresh and the curried chicken wrapped in banana leaves should not be missed. Reasonably priced and with a post dinner stroll along the pier (beware of the rats at the very end!) to aid digestion the Kan Eang provides a very enjoyable evening out.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Major99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't believe we haven't discovered this before on previous trips.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We have been to Phuket many times but have not ventured much to this side of the island . We have discovered many favourite places to eat over the years, some cheap and cheerful, some a bit more expensive but still worth it. This restaurant just blew us away. It was recommended by the Manager of the resort where we were staying ...we wanted something special, authentic but not too expensive. Kan Eang was perfect.
The tip is to get there before 6pm to enjoy the sunset while having a pre-dinner drink.
It's a massive venue , you sit amongst trees overlooking the bay and the long pier.
The ambience is gorgeous, the food was delicious , the service a little slow with a waiter with little english, but otherwise great. With entrees ,mains and a couple of cocktails we paid approx. AUD25 per head. You can watch at the openair kitchens how they skillfully prepare the seafood (kept fresh in tanks) . Facilities are very clean.
We even got to meet the proprietor Wah-lee , a very charming lady.
We didn't experience any problems with insects but I recommend you take repellant just in case. We can't wait to go back on our next holiday.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Solsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“excellent......watch out for the mozzies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

went to this restaurant three times during a 5 night stay in Phuket......absolutely fantastic!!! the service was attentive, the food was fresh, tasty and very well presented....the price was great value....what more can you ask....

the only negative which is no fault to the restaurant the mosquitos were out in force and as I enjoyed my meal, they enjoyed theirs(me)......

This restaurant is without doubt........fantastic!!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank TheWaterside03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kan Eang@Pier Restaurant also viewed

 
Chalong, Phuket Town
Koh Kaew, Phuket Town
 

Been to Kan Eang@Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing