We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siam Safari - CLOSED

Siam Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Book directly via Siam Safari's website for best rates and promotions. Siam Safari operates nature tours in Phuket with over 25 years experience and is the only Royal Thai Government Certified Elephant Camp in Southern Thailand, which guarantees that our elephants are well taken care of. In the interests of guests' safety, we only use female elephants on our elephant trekking tours.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
cardiff
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Myself and my husband booked with this tour after reading the reviews on TA and were not disappointed. We were picked up promptly from our hotel in Patong and transported to the sanctuary by jeep. It was a 40 min journey. We had booked for the 45 min elephant trek and it was well worth the money. Everyone was informative and it wasn’t the least bit nerve wracking or at any time did you feel as though you were going to fall off. Both my husband and I said it was one of the highlights of our holiday.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,386
    271
    44
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had an awesome time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Did the half-day 4-in-1 tour. It was an awesome time. We were picked up at our hotel in and taken to Siam Safari. I was concerned at first after hearing about the way some companies treat their animals, but it is clear Siam Safari treats their elephants humanely.

We enjoyed a rubber making demonstration, thai cooking demonstration, and other demonstrations about the local agriculture and Thai culture.

What really made the day though was the elephants. We watched a demonstration with a couple of baby elephants and were able to have our picture taken with them. We then went on the elephant trek. Our guide was awesome, he was truly in tune with his elephant. The elephant would often take several side trips to grab a bite to eat, and the guide allowed this, it was very cool. There were some awesome views of Chalong Bay along the way. Our guide had a small hook, but never used it.

Finally, we did the lunch on Chalong Bay, the traditional Thai food was very good and our hosts were very gracious. All in all, I would recommend this for anyone looking for a fun day, it is very family friendly and worth the trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_T31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We loved our trek with swim safari. We were picked up promptly after booking online the day before. Only a short trip away, and it was all professional. Very informative and all the elephants we saw looked well looked after. My kids - 2 and 4 had a great time. We all felt safe and after passing a few other companies that offered elephant treks, we defiantly picked the right one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merctaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borås, Sweden
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Did the half day elephant trekking - very educational and fun as we learned about everything from growing rice to what a coconut can get you to elephants. We met water buffaloes and both grown up an baby elephants. It was a very nice and relaxing experience to ride the elephants through the jungle. Fun to feed them fruits afterwards! Seems to be a very serious company that really takes care of their animals. Would highly recommend to both kids and grown ups!

Helpful?
Thank Hippolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

My first time Thailand and I wanted to go and see the elephants. So we booked the half day with lunch. We got the recommendation from our destination Asia rep. I wanted to go to somewhere that looked after the elephants and not exploit them, and Siam safari certainly looks after them. Our guide Ma was brilliant and funny at the same time. She gave us loads if facts about them. The 30min ride was out this world, great to get close to them. The elephant we rode on was still young and a bit naughty at times, but loads if fun. Her keeps was brilliant and so much fun.

They also showed us traditional ways of Thai life, like what they do with coconuts, rice. The Thai spice cooking was good and a bit hot, but what do you expect. I'm also going to change my coffee to a proper Thai coffee as it was the best I have ever tasted. The rubber tree, and how they make rubber was very interested.

The lunch we had was very good and in a nice setting looking over Chalong bay.

It's great to see that someone is looking after these great animals. And great to know that what you pay s gong towards looking after and protecting them.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Safari also viewed

 
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing