We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siam Safari - CLOSED

Siam Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Book directly via Siam Safari's website for best rates and promotions. Siam Safari operates nature tours in Phuket with over 25 years experience and is the only Royal Thai Government Certified Elephant Camp in Southern Thailand, which guarantees that our elephants are well taken care of. In the interests of guests' safety, we only use female elephants on our elephant trekking tours.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I did this with my partner and was great. Staff were nice. The elephant tracking was cool. Learning how they make rice and different things from coconut was an experience in itself. Would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank SkunksMonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,386
    271
    44
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Elephants & Thai Culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I did this same tour more than 10 years ago, now the company has grown and integrated this tour into 1 place. The children and ourselves enjoyed the half day tour, we did the elephant & water buffalo cart rides, baby elephant show, then you are shown how they process coconuts manually to get the copha, oil etc out by hand, rice growing and processing, Thai cooking & coffee. I was not aware that Thailand was a coffee producer.
It is an interesting cultural tour to observe some traditional Thai skills, the guide even said that younger Thai kids do not know these skills anymore, they are disappearing.
Then we enjoyed a Thai lunch outdoors in their restaurant before heading off to do something else in the afternoon.
This tour would suit individuals, couples, families or groups.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BinCShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“was nice to see elephants exceot for the chains”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have seen elephants before on many of my travels, my partner has not had an elephant ride or seen one so we opted for this ,all in all he loved the trek, our guide was great, me im an animal lover and i probably get too emotional, i didnt like the chains round the elephants legs, i know its a business and they have to do this , this in one part of it i didnt like, they are looked after you can see that and they are such lovley animals, we have to go on a truck which is pulled by a tracrtor so you have you trek by all the grenery which was nice.
overlall this would be a great day out for a family if they have young ones.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank vanyalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Educational and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Really impressed with the organisation of the activities in Siam Safari. Our experienced tour guide Au, gave a clear and comprehensive briefing at each station. At each station, staff demonstrated how various tasks (curry making, coconut processing, rubber tapping etc) were done and there were even tasting session at curry making and coconut processing station. The elephant trekking was the highlight as it is seldom that one gets to ride on the big animal. It is like a mini roller-coaster ride when the elephant went down some slope. There is even a tea break session where you get to taste some mini pancakes and coffee/tea. We signed up for the junk cruise and it was a relaxed cruise around Chalong bay with delicious lunch aboard. Au even sang a song at the end of the cruise, a happy ending to a wonderful morning. I would highly recommend this safari to family with children, it is both educational and fun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BusymummyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“45m Elephant Trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent for those with young children who'd get bored easily. Our 4 and 2yr olds loved the elephant tricks and the short ride.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AartiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Safari also viewed

 
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing