We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff make this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Chalong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Staff make this place”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't give the resort or accommodation excellent but I would the thai staff - they make this place with their sincere friendliness.
The website certainly makes this place look great. It's certainly good but needs some updating in the rooms and bathrooms.
Water went the nights we stayed. We weren't overly bothered but would have been if just travelled a long distance!
So, keep your lovely staff because that's what makes this place :)

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Itsinthepress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Owner at Palm Garden Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Itsinthepress,

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked our staff so much. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience as we have had a water shortage due to the lack of rainfall since December and our infrastructure is not quite as developed as in other countries and this can affect us, especially after so many months without rain.
Wewill certainly keep our staff, we like them as much as you do :-)

We hope to welcome you back soon, maybe next time in our resort in Khao Lak.
Team Palm Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    37
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
62
21
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
phoenix az
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here with a group and went diving with Sea Bees for the week. Being small has its advantages. The staff is very helpful and soon know your name and make you feel very welcomed. Usually had breakfast on the boat, but off days ate on the buffet, glad to always see yogurt and fruit in addition to regular breakfast fare. Had several dinners and some lunches here, could get service to the pool or eat on my cool patio. The grounds are immaculate and the rooms are very clean, but be sure to bring your own shampoo as no little bottles in your room. You do get new bottled water everyday and there is a mini-fridge too. Loved the hammock on my patio, great for napping after a massage. Had 4 massages during my week visit @ $7.50 for a Thai massage or $10.50 for oil, what a great treat in paradise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Owner at Palm Garden Resort Phuket, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hellio Sundevil,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad the combination of the resort as well as the diving with Sea Bees worked well. Sounds like you got the best out of Thailand: diving, food, massages and, not forgetting, naps on the hammock :-)
The hammock mises you - when will you be back?

Team Palm Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My bf and I just returned from there. We stayed at this resort because it's near Chalong beach where our dive boats depart. We would recommend this if you are planning to dive or prefer quiet than party. It's away from the hustle and bustle, good service, good food and surrounded by nature, that is, mosquitoes, crickets, birds and cats haha! Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper!
Room has soap bars, towels, tv with cable, good wi-fi, a small balconey, fan and aircon. We didn't like the shower because water was either cold or too hot, must be faulty. You'll have to walk to restaurant for hot water but it's ok coz it's a compact resort.
Taxis are more expensive in Phuket than Bangkok. A cab to and fro Patong will cost you 1600baht and 30-40 minutes ride depending on traffic. There's no food nearby but the hotel food, reasonably priced and good can keep you satisfied for a few meals before you crave for something else. A cab to and fro Phuket Town where there are big shopping malls cost 800 baht. You can be adventurous and take a private motorcycle, operated by the motorbiker himself for 200 baht one way. My bf and i squeezed into one and was quite an experience.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and paid a good rate.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, it's close to nature and crickets can be loud at times. Mosquito repellant come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aki_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Phuket, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Aki_07,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Palm Garden Resort and liked our food. You are right, the resort is in a very quiet and natural environment, which is why we like it so much :) There are in fact, plenty of restaurants nearby providing a diversity from Thai to European and coveirng most price ranges and only a few minutes' walk away.
Well done for going on a motorbike ride (glad you had your own chauffeur) and hope it made your time more interesting and adventurous.

We hope to see you back soon.
Team Palm Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Best hotel i've stayed at so far. Beautiful with the houses surrounding the pool in a nice garden. Really friendly staff and they make a mean cocktail. Also, they helped me book whatever tour i found on the internet. Even if they were not familiar with the tour company. Just gave them the contact details and they would book it for me. It was a relaxing stay and i had a great time. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CJeuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Phuket, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello CJeuring,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are glad you liked our resort, the staff and the cocktails - even though they were "mean" :-) Of course we try to make your holiday as perfect as possible and are more than happy when we are able to help you with anything you need.

We look forward to having more cocktails available for your next trip back!
Team Palm Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangarron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way back to Bangkok, and could have stayed much longer. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the bungalows are clean, nicely decorated and with everything that you need. The food is really good and a decent price.
The pool is lovely, beautifully set out with plenty of loungers to relax the day away. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will hopefully be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello MoggiesMews,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you liked our resort that much and everything fulfilled your expectations. You are right, the pool is fantastic and a perfect place to relax.

We will be waiting to welcome you back next year,
Team Palm Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Lots of friends scared me before I went to Phuket, telling it was too crowded. I decided to stay in this hotel because it was cozy and near Chalong , where it's easy to hire a boat to go to other Islans. It really worked . I recommend lone Island (great restaurant) and Coral Island (perfect snorkeling).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank nanavansteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello nanavansteen,

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear you had a great time in our Palm Garden Resort and even had the chance to explore the islands around Phuket. Phuket can be quite crowded and noisy, which is why we like the resort so much – to escape all the trouble :-)

We hope to see you back soon, maybe next time in Khao Lak,
Team Palm Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

This was the nicest place that we had the pleasure of staying in on our trip. The staff are wonderful, the little bungalows are gorgeous, the swimming pool is superb and the restaurant food is delicious. The owner is very clever because there is literally no reason to leave the resort! Right down to the cocktail happy hour, they have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and even luxurious. It may not be within walking distance of the beach, but we were happy to stick to the pool after 2 weeks of the beach on different islands. The staff organised any taxis we needed, including to the airport. It's a little hard to get to only because it's hidden away from the main roads and surrounded by trees. If I could give it six stars I would!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank seosamh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello seosamh90,

Thank you very much for your lovely review – we are already blushing :-)

It is true though, the resort is not next to the beach but our team is more than happy to organize you a taxi or a Tuk Tuk. But like you already mentioned except for that you do not need to leave the resort, especially not for happy hour :-)

Thank you very much for your imaginary six stars,
Team Palm Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalong
5.9 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 87 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
0.9 mi away
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
#2 of 15 in Chalong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#4 of 87 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
3.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
6.0 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Resort Phuket

Property: Palm Garden Resort Phuket
Address: 4 / 10 Moo 5 Soi Ruam-U-Thit | Viset Rd, Chalong, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Chalong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Chalong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Resort Phuket 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having only 24 Thai-style bungalows, situated in a beautiful garden close to Chalong Pier, ensures an individual service that will make you feel at home right away. Each air-con cottage's creature comforts include a mini-bar, safe deposit box, TV, a private covered terrace and a hammock for those inclined to snooze a lazy afternoon away. The resort-owned diving centre offers diving courses from beginner up to instructor level, as well as a wide variety of dive trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Palm Garden Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Resort Phuket Hotel Chalong
Palm Garden Resort Phuket Chalong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing