We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Chalong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

I like views (sea, mountain, garden, pool). Views from level 4 is superb if you don't mind the stairs. This is the highest building in the area. Breakfast is cool. Spa is nice, but more expensive than the town.

If you are looking for the nightlife, do not go there. Choose Patong area. Close to the pier going to Phi Phi island. You have to travel about one hour to the pier in the north if you go James Bond Island.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    94
    28
    15
    14
See reviews for
42
119
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
140 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

The track in is very rough, our driver was cautious but concerned; it did take a little to locate it - but we got here in the end! This is more of a local style establishment, no frills but clean and well kept. The rooms are excellent value for money, however we would choose to stay in one of the stand alone villas next time; options for sea view or garden. We took a look through them and they presented quite well. We found the food was reasonably simple, but fresh and enjoyable. The staff really worked hard at looking after us, the front counter crew had great english skills! The two pools were great; beautifully maintained, as were the gardens. Don't miss out on Kaneang Seafood directly in front of the pier at Chalong; this restaurant was one of the best we tried; they also collect you and return you back to your accommodation - service with a smile, seafood unlimited! We'll definitely return!

Room Tip: We had a pool view room, nice and simple Asian style hotel room. For very few more dollars you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanW-QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We booked with a booking website and therefore got a very small room, very clean though. Location 10 min walk to main road and the chalong area is not very nice. Pools were amazing, sea view, we were there in low season, weather was great and we had place to ourselves! Restaurant has good choice of food and drink reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollydollyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Ao Chalong Villa & Spa offers a nice, cozy alternative to the hustle and bustle of larger properties and the major brands. Everything works, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

With a garden villa area ("back" of the property) and sea-view villa area ("front" of the property, both encompassed by free form pools and lush garden greenery, each villa is very roomy, clean and nicely decorated, complete with a portico/balcony. The villas and their balconies are situated such that you are not breathing down your neighbors neck, with the vegetation wrapping around you to add that extra sense of privacy. The garden pool area is larger and arguably quieter, with most guests tending towards the seaview area and deck during the day with the restaurant/bar situated nearby.

Villas 105 & 108 have partial sea views, while 106 & 107 have full 180degree seaviews. These latter two rooms also have direct access to the deck which make for great gathering places for sun-downers and evening cocktails.

The property offers a beautiful view of Chalong Bay and the many moored sailing yachts, but stick to the pools or visit one of the many nearby beaches (Nai Harn is my favourite), as the beach fronting the hotel is clean, but utilitarian.

The single restaurant provides a morning buffet breakfast, and though quite simple and standard, is satisfying. It makes great local cuisine for lunch and dinner, and serves ice cold beer and decent cocktails. If you are a wine drinker, I suggest you buy your own at the nearby Villa supermarket (10min drive) or Wine Connections (10-15min walk).

Room Tip: Villa's 106 & 107 have the best sea view, long balconies and direct access to a huge deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lazza29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have stayed three times at Aochalong now, and have booked again for 2012.

Having read many of the other reviews, they all seem to complain about the isolation. My suggestion: do what we do and hire a car from Phuket Airport (we have been dealing for almost 10 years with Jeab at Andaman Car Rental - they collect you from the airport in your car, which you drive away, and you drive back to the airport on your way out and leave with their rep - simple, no hidden charges for added insurance etc.) There is a major supermarket a 5-minute drive from the Aochalong, in a complex which also includes a well-known coffee/snack restaurant, massage etc), a bottle shop and international deli, and numerous small local restaurants are a few minutes' walk away. If you desire big(ger) shopping opportunities and large, international restaurants, Phuket City or Patong are a mere 20-30 minute drive away.

But back to Aochalong: if you are into party central (=Patong), then don't stay here. If you want access to all-night bars and loose women, don't stay here. If you want to spend all day frolicking in the sea, don't stay here. If you want to travel in peak season, don't stay here - it will feel overrun and cramped.

If, however, you enjoy peace and quiet and water views, friendly, low-key service, and - like us - enjoy travelling out of peak holiday periods, this is for you. The beach is a shocker because this side of Phuket is the boat-side, from which diving tours and ferries to Krabi leave.I must emphasise that there is no SMELL associated with this - just gravelly sand and anchored boats. But the sea is still beautiful and you can enjoy it from the open-air restaurant or from the pool or - if you choose well - your seaview villa.

There are two absolute beachfront villas and I highly recommend you book into one of these. Generally, the discounted hotel booking sites cannot guarantee these, so best to book direct with Aochalong. They are a little more expensive, but we are talking around A$100/night here, not trillions of $s.

All rooms are kept sparkly clean. The bathrooms are a titch on the small side, but water is plentiful, if water pressure sometimes varies. Yes, the mattresses are "on the floor" in the villas - that's because they are Asian-style mattresses. Some of the reviews make it sound as though someone has slapped a cheap bit of rubber on a cement floor! The mattresses sit on a timber platform. Great for those who suffer from bad backs - I do, and I come away from our week at Aochalong well-rested and refreshed, with no aches and pains. There is also a day bed/sofa type platform in the TV/living room area. Be aware that - as you will see from the property's photos - there are no sealed-off living/sleeping areas - the two areas are separated by a partial wall and a step-down. The advantage of this is (a) more light and (b) you can swing the TV around to face either the bed or the sofa!

The villas have a full-size fridge and a sink, but curiously no crockery/cutlery - just drinking glasses. Easy-fixed. We pop up to the supermarket (5 minutes away) on the first day and stock up on extremely cheap plastic plates, bowls, cutlery (including a good knife for cutting up fresh fruit which we buy at markets) and a jug, all for a grand total of around $10, and we're away! Depending on where our next destination is, we generally leave these for the room cleaning staff and they are ecstatic.

The beach-side pool is small but lovely and clean and fresh, and there is another away from the beach in the main hotel complex which houses the office and admin.

The restaurant is low-key, but serves a lovely breakfast (you can have continental or Thai) and even has a tiny bar.

If you have a relaxed attitude, the staff can be incredibly friendly and accommodating (although English language skills are occasionally wanting ... but there is nothing unusual in that if you stay in not-international-chain properties in Thailand). We were even taken in to the 'family' Songkran celebrations, embraced as part of the family, which was very touching.

We have been back. We will be back. I cannot recommend this property highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two absolute beachfront villas. Superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maruschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

we came to the island and last minute we looked on the internet for different places and called a cap to drive us to this place because the said on thair website its next to a beautifull beach with white sand and onlzt ten minutes to opuket town for only 750 thb.

when we arrives very late the room was ok and we checked in.
the problem of this place is. "the beach with white sand" is actually a harbor and the told us nobody is allowd to go swimming there and wen we saw dirtiness of the water we didn`t want to go into it.
on the website the hotel wrote "ten minutes to puket town" wich was actually ten to 15 minutes drive with a car to the city. or 600 thb one way by taxy. and so shops or other restaurants were next to this place.
so if you don`t want to be cut off everything and spent all of your money in this hotel (the prices for food and drinks are exrrtemly high!) AVOID this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is a great place if you like to be away from the hectic pace in Kata or Patong. It's about an hour drive from the airport, although every where we went seemed to take about an hour in Phuket. We arranged a transfer from the airport and a driver was waiting out front when we arrived after 10.30pm.

Check in was quick and efficient and our sea view villa was spacious and clean - with a nice little balcony overlooking the pool, although we would have preferred the villas right on the end that looked straight out over the Andaman Sea. My only real criticism of this hotel is that the showers only run with cold water. After a long flight and suffering from a slight cold I really wanted a hot shower.

We liked the fact that this place was away from the busyness of Phuket. We spent our first morning swimming in the pool which is surrounded by lush tropical plants. In the afternoon we hired a driver to take us to Expo Market. (cheap t-shirts, singlets and cheap copy designer bags.) It cost us about A$30 one way. He dropped us off and introduced us to another driver who wanted to drive us around and take us to the tourist spots.

Anyway after a few hours at expo market we headed back to the villa for a swim in the pool which was lovely. And a pinacorada - delicious. The complimentary breakfast was fine - eggs, toast, cereal, fruit and juice. Lunch and dinner in the restaurant was also reasonably priced.

I had a scrub in the spa which only cost about $18. The Thai lady was very sweet but had limited English and the half naked guy in the next cubicle took me by surprise but other than that it was quite relaxing. Even with the cold showers I'd recommend this place for the peace, quiet and the lovely pool.

Room Tip: Ask for the villas on the end (one on either side of the pool) that look over the Andaman Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dhama49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalong
5.0 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 83 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
6.3 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
4.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Chalong Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Chalong Villa & Spa

Property: Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Address: 5/26 Moo 9 Soi Porn Chalong , East Chaofa Rd, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Chalong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Chalong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ao Chalong Villa & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ao Chalong Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Chalong Villa And Spa
Ao Chalong Villa Hotel Chalong
Ao Chalong Hotel
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing