We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing day out”
Review of River Rovers

River Rovers
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.00*
and up
Private Tour: Phang-Nga Through the Back Door from Phuket
More Info
$84.00*
and up
Private Phuket Islands Cruise: In the Steps of Lord Buddha
More Info
$84.00*
and up
Private Tour: The Kayaking Dream in Phang Nga from Phuket
Ranked #8 of 51 Tours in Chalong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Phuket, the pearl of the Andaman, is famous for its white beaches and tropical nature; offering so many off the beaten tracks to explore and experience. If you’re a nature lover, planet lover, or simply just want a holiday to love and always remember then you've come to the right place...River Rovers Eco Cruises!We are an independent Eco-Tour Company, taking small tours to all of the out of the way places, to see the natural beauty and Ecosystems that surround Phuket. We take no more than 6 guests on our Live-a-Board tours and a maximum of 10 guests for our Day tours, taking you away from the crowds of tourists, to show you the real Thailand with all of its treasures on offer.With our shallow draft of only 8 inches, we can pull up just about anywhere, without climbing on dinghies and clambering up the side of boats, perfect for all ages and abilities and wheel chairs are welcome too.You will experience a wonderland of wildlife, unspoiled by tourism.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“A relaxing day out”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were a party of 4 adults and 6 young children (eldest 9, youngest 3). The busy day tripping excursions were never going to suit us so we found River Rovers through Tripadvisor. The children had a great time at the fish farm, feeding the monkeys and kayaking around. Because it was just us on the boat we could flex the schedule and spend as much or little time at each location as we wished. Luck fed us with tremendous tidbits, the chicken drumsticks are a must!

If you have teenage children you might find that they want a more exciting, fast boat. The Pitta does chug along as some reviews point out, but it was fine for us. You also stay within the bay area so the snorkeling isn't great for fish watching. If you want this then consider booking a different tour.

All in all, everyone of us had a great day, the best day of the holiday. When we return we'll be looking at booking the 3 day trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotsoxyPhuket, Owner at River Rovers, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hi Claire,
Thank you very much for your great review and we look forward to seeing you all again, I would just like to point out that we can do snorkeling trips to other islands such as Coral Island, Bon Island and Bu Bu Island there the water is crystal clear most times and you can feed the fish, but that is another trip and is just as much fun, same food and drinks but different islands.
Best wishes
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    26
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“best day tour in Phuket”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We came to Phuket on a last minute holiday, so when I tried to book the other top tours recommended by tripadvisor, most of them are booked out. I didn't ring River Rovers at first due to few negative reviews complaining its small engine, too quite, etc, but this tour turned out to the best of all the tours we had. John Gray's sea canoe tour would be almost as good as this one, but we are more into clean/clear water, so river rovers wins in our opinions.

Gordon took us first to the sea gypsy village, great for young kids. I picked up a 600g decent size lobster and let the fish farm owner cooked on his little stove, the best and freshest lobster ever, and only 1000BHT, that's less than A$30.

We then cruised down to the river to find the monkey, and sure enough, the whole tribe greeted us on the way back, very tame and gentle,(although between themselves there was a small fight about who is getting the pineapple and who is getting the watermelon), much better than those aggressive ones by the monkey temple.

Gordon has this amazing thai cook on board, morning tea is fruit plus the lobster we bought, snacks before lunch was chips and deep fried chicken drumsticks, which must have been marinated overnight: juicy, delicious with a little sweetness, probably the best chicken drumsticks i have ever had! By that stage we are all full. But an hour later, Gordon's thai cook brought out more food, traditional thai food, and cooked to perfection. The tom kha gai was very nice, plus quite a lot other stir fry dishes all tasted as good as the ones in the restaurants. We were totally stuffed at the end, but a few swims near the island gives us some more excuses to pack down more food.

Our 8 yo son said he would rate this one 10 out of 10, hubby and I both agreed. It's quiet compare to other tours run by bigger companies, but we get to see a part of real thailand, the part that locals visit, the parts that nature still exist because the big crowd of tourist can't reach that part of world, yet.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank fatnfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable day cruise”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

One morning in early May 2012, Gordon arranged for the three of us to be collected at our hotel and transported to Chalong Bay to begin what was to be an amazing (the best?) day of our holiday.
We meandered along the coastline, up channels in the mangroves to see the wildlife all this while Luk was preparing the most delicious food (it never seemed to stop!) and Gordon was ensuring we didn't dehydrate......
All in all, a fantastic day and would recommend this to anybody.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cruise along the Chalong Bay”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised that we were the only ones on the cruise (accidental and most uncommon) as there were no other bookings on the day we went. Gordon and Luk were most hospitable and made our tour truly an enjoyable one. Gordon was very good with my young boy and my friend, who recently broke her ankle as well as having vision impairment, in helping them enjoy the tour as much as anyone. Gordon was particularly helpful with my friend with getting on and off the boat. Lunch was prepred on the boat and it was simply delicious and amazing, particularly the soup, tom yum khai. The boat was very comfortable. Feeding monkeys was truly an awesome experience. Never seen that many monkeys in my life, up close and personal !! Thanks Gordon and Luk. Thanks Gordon for taking photos and emailing them to us!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jkchobreuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable experience of our holiday:)”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

This tour is perfect for those who do not like the crowded touristy organised tours. Gordon and Luck are very friendly, Gordon arranged a mini bus to pick us up from our hotel and take us to Chalong Bay, where we boarded the boat. We had such a great day. We fed the Monkeys, visited the fish farm, ate delicious food prepared by Luck, snorkelled amongst fish, kayaked, visited unpopulated islands and went swimming in beautiful warm clear water.We had such an enjoyable time that we booked another trip with him. The second tour was just as good, food was the best we had in Phuket (thanks Luck) and Gordon went out of his way to make sure our second day with them was just as memorable as the first. When we arrived back in Australia Gordon emailed photos of our wonderful 2 days with him and Luck. My brother has just visited Phuket and I recommended this trip. He and his family loved it too!
Thank you Gordon and Luck and HAPPY SAILING.
Kerry and Peter

Helpful?
2 Thank PeterL271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Rovers also viewed

Chalong, Phuket Town
 

Been to River Rovers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing