We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage with beautiful views of the Cork...”
other travelers have booked this property
In full bloom!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage
Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Relax in the evenings with a wood burning stove
Living Area
Cosy Kitchen
Main Bathroom, includes bath and shower
Main ensuite bedroom with old fashioned brass bed
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom with iron bedsteads
'Welcome to Herons Cove Cottage'
Gateway to your perfect escape!
Early morning calm
View from Front Deck
View from rear of property
view from drive
Secluded and Sheltered back decking, perfect for summer BBQs
Enjoy a romantic moonlight drink on the front deck overlooking water
Entrance Gates
Sailboat passing Jeremy Irons Castle near Cottage
Boats heading up Ballydehob Harbour past Cottage to local Festival
The Twelve Arch Bridge in Ballydehob
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballydehob, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
HappyBurt...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with beautiful views of the Cork coastline”
Reviewed June 24, 2019 for a stay in June 2019

A lovely traditional Irish cottage, full of quirky charm but with modern amenities. Its situation on a peninsula just south of Ballydehob, with a great view of Roaring Water Bay, is very private and quiet - perfect for a get-away-from-it-all holiday, but with the amenities of the village of Ballydehob ten minutes' drive away along very narrow lanes.

The cottage has three bedrooms, a bathroom and an en-suite shower room, a large living/dining/kitchen leading to a sunny patio, plus a utility-room with dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. Outside is a another sitting area flanked with abundant roses, overlooking a field and a private path which leads down to the shore.

The cottage is furnished and decorated in an Irish country style, comfortable and obviously well-loved by the owner, with lots of pottery items and maritime-themed ornaments. It has central heating throughout plus a log burner should the weather turn chilly.

The owner is a charming lady, who is very happy to assist with queries regarding places to visit, where to shop and where to eat. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cottage, and we hope to return again to such a beautiful part of Ireland.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2019
Thanks Pamela and Richard! I really appreciate you taking the time to put it on a review review on TripAdvisor.
It was a pleasure to meet you both amd we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savvytour...
1 review
“Cosy Cottage with Stunning Views near Ballydehob Village in West Cork”
Reviewed June 2, 2019 for a stay in May 2019

Heron's cove cottage was as described and much more. There were only two of us on holiday along with our one-year old daughter. It was like travelling back in time, the kitchen cottage cum casual living area was so quaint and cosy with so much character and ambience. The cottage was immaculate, we had everything we could possibly need for our week's stay and even a High-Chair and Travel Cot were provided which saved some valuable boot-space!
The whole place is secluded and serene with a beautiful atmosphere.
We took walks down to the private strand along a designated pathway through a field and sat at the table and chairs provided at the shore-line. The views of roaring water bay from the cottage are stunning. The cottage has front (the views!) and back timber decking to sit out on along with a bbq. Unfortunately the weather was only so so during our stay so we didn't avail of the bbq.

Ballydehob village is easy to navigate to for groceries at Carnier's shop and service station and we ordered takeaway pizza's for casual dining from Antonio's Pizzeria on the Main Street which were really tasty. Vincent Coughlan seafood restaurant was a really lovely option for dinner too during our stay along with other eateries in Crookhaven and Schull.

We found the cottage to be great base for touring the scenic coastline of mizen head peninsula along with nearby Schull, Crookhaven, Barleycove beach, Skibbereen, Glengarriff to name but a few local attractions.

Kathleen (the owner) was very friendly and helpful and left a gift of a bottle of red wine out for us on arrival which was thoughtful and appreciated.

We really enjoyed our week's holiday in West Cork and in particular our lovely relaxing stay in Heron's Cove cottage. It is truly like a little sanctuary/haven. We would highly recommend this property and area for family, couple's and groups.

Date of stay: May 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2019
Thanks Michelle and Padraig! It was lovely meeting you and your little girl. Thank you for your kind review. Hopefully you will make the long journey again in the future. Glad you enjoyed the Cottage and West Cork. Enjoy the rest of your Summer. Kathleen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer06...
1 review
“Simply the best!!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2019 for a stay in May 2019

If you are looking for a hideaway for yourself, a retreat for a couple, a getaway with the kiddies or simply a breakaway with your mum of 85, then Heron's Cove Cottage, Ballydehob, Co. Cork. is the place for you. Mum and I spent a blissful week in Kathleen and Tony's beautiful cottage. The added bonus was the beautiful surroundings and the view. It is exceptional. Kathleen and Tony are the perfect hosts. It is a great base to tour West Cork and I am hoping to return in September / October.

Date of stay: May 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2019
Thanks Eileen ! It was a pleasure to meet you and your Mom Bernadette. So glad you enjoyed the Cottage and area. Looking forward to having you back. Kathleen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathfinde...
1 review
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed September 12, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Lovely cottage in good location to enjoy peace and quiet especially when sitting on the deck overlooking Roaring Water Bay The cottage was equipped with everything we needed and Kathleen was a great host who made sure we knew how to work everything before she left us to go on her own well deserved holiday. This was our seventh time staying in the Ballydehob area and we ate in more times than ever before because we didn't want to leave the cosy cottage. However, there are plenty of places to eat in Ballydehob or a few miles away in Schull if you prefer to dine out. The cottage is off the 'beaten track' but this just added to its appeal and made it the perfect location for us. Thank you Kathleen, we hope to see you again next year.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2018
Thanks so much Jane and Chris. It was lovely meeting you both. I'm so glad you enjoyed the Cottage and the area...which I know you are very familiar with. We would love to welcome you to stay again. Very kind regards. Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper33
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved this place so much!”
Reviewed August 23, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The house is beautiful, so tastefully decorated, so comfortable. It has all the equipment needed and more.
It has a fine view on the cove, in a secluded and peaceful environment.
Kathleen has been a wonderful and kind host, making us feel at home.
We loved touring the area, following her advices.

It was very difficult to leave this place.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2018
It was such a pleasure to meet this lovely young family. They embraced Ballydehob and West Cork .... packing in so much in just one week ! I'm so glad they enjoyed the Cottage and West Cork. Thanks for choosing our Cottage and we hope you will return soon. Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan K
County Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Idylic Haven Overlooking the Sea”
Reviewed July 28, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

My brother, his wife, their dog and myself stayed here the last week of July.
We were joined for a few days by my 2 daughters and my 2 grandchildren.
This beautiful cottage is filled with amazing memorabilia in every space and every room.
It overlooks a sea inlet with great views of the surrounding countryside.
There is a walk down to the sea where we skimmed stones across the water.
There were even cows to add to the scene.
It lies at the end of a narrow lane and has no through traffic.
For peace and tranquillity away from the hustle and bustle – it would be hard to find a better place.
We had an amazing time here – The weather was great and our host Kathleen was amazing.
This cottage has everything down to needles and thread.
5 Stars is too little. You won’t be disappointed.
Thank you Kathleen for a fantastic week away.

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2018
Thanks Alan! You're so kind . It was really lovely meeting you and Jack and Kate and Raglan. I felt like we knew you forever! I'm glad you enjoyed the Cottage and your week. Hopefully you will be back soon. Enjoy the rest of your Summer.
Warmest wishes Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C7718PGph...
1 review
“Perfect getaway in a beutiful part of the world!”
Reviewed July 18, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Just returned from a week in Heron's Cove with my wife, daughter and parents in law. The cottage was in a fab location and had everything we needed. Kathleen was a great host and was very knowledgeable of the local area to help us get the best out of the week. The location is extremely peaceful with lovely views accross the bay. We would definately consider returning :-). Thanks!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2018
Thanks Phil, Martina, Olivia, Willie and Ann! It was a pleasure to meet you all and you certainly made the most of the week and weather . We would love to welcome you to stay with us again. Enjoy the rest of your Summer. Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing