We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, lovely welcome!”
other travelers have booked this property
In full bloom!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage
Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Relax in the evenings with a wood burning stove
Living Area
Cosy Kitchen
Main Bathroom, includes bath and shower
Main ensuite bedroom with old fashioned brass bed
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom with iron bedsteads
'Welcome to Herons Cove Cottage'
Gateway to your perfect escape!
Early morning calm
View from Front Deck
View from rear of property
view from drive
Secluded and Sheltered back decking, perfect for summer BBQs
Enjoy a romantic moonlight drink on the front deck overlooking water
Entrance Gates
Sailboat passing Jeremy Irons Castle near Cottage
Boats heading up Ballydehob Harbour past Cottage to local Festival
The Twelve Arch Bridge in Ballydehob
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballydehob, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Rhona A
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, lovely welcome!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage is in a beautiful spot. We really felt we had got away from it all - it was very peaceful. It is quite new, but furnished in the old style by Tony and Kathleen. It's very pretty outside and in, and you can tell they have put a lot of love into it. It has everything you need for your stay. They are lovely people - they were so friendly, kind and helpful and made us feel most welcome. We liked Rosie's Bar in Ballydehob. On Friday evenings there is a "session" where musicians come along and join whoever is there - it started with 3 and by 10pm there were around 15 with all sorts of instruments. Great atmosphere! The Mizen Head Drive is a must - pick a clear day as the scenery is breathtakingly beautiful. The Sheeps Head walk to the lighthouse is well worth doing, but you have to be quite sure-footed as it's a bit tricky in places - the cliffs by the lighthouse have no barriers, so not ideal if you have young children. We loved West Cork and its people and will return to this special part of the world. Thank you, Kathleen and Tony, for helping to make our stay so memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome and the view
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like, but some bigger saucepans and/or sauté pan would be useful for larger families.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel H
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely spot”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a really enjoyable stay. The views from the deck were beautiful and it was a wonderfully peaceful location. We found the cottage very welcoming and cosy and it was a lovely getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: The bed
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peace and Beauty”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you want to experience the peace and tranquillity that West Cork has to offer, you'll find it here at Herons Cove. The house is well equipped, comfortable, pretty and full of interest. The Sheehans have thought of everything because they have used it as a holiday cottage themselves - unlike some places where you have the the necessities but no atmosphere. A beautiful view over the inlet, framed by pretty garden plants (the roses and lavender were glorious when we stayed!) we were lucky to be able to watch seals and sea birds as the tide ebbed and flowed. Loved it! Thank you Kathleen and Tony.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The fact that we had to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda R
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total peace & tranquility”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What an amazing place! Kathleen & Tony welcomed us with a lovely food hamper. The cottage is equipped with everything you could think of & very spacious. The views from the decking are truly magnificent.We saw seals in the bay & lots of different birds so take binoculars. Is an ideal base for traveling around the Mizen & Sheeps Head peninsulas. Crookhaven, Barley Cove, Bantry, Schull, Skibbereen are all worth a visit asis Mizenhead. A stroll in Balllydehob is a must as the bridge is fabulous. Plenty of pubs in town! Having
your own beach at the bottom of the garden is wonderful, so quiet.You will have a wonderful holiday here. We will return again & again to this most wonderful little piece of heaven! Thank You Kathleen &Tony for making us so welcome

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lytshak
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Amazing secluded and comfortable house”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Sea frontline, Antonio’s Ristorante & Pizzeria at the village is great, close to Baltimore, Nice drive

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreana...
Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation in tranquil cove setting with excellent nearby restaurants”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Herons Cove Cottage for 10 days. We were attracted by the cottage itself, the quiet location, the local cuisine, and the West Cork area in general.

From the moment of making a booking enquiry to the moment of departure, the owners were extremely prompt, helpful, and friendly...just lovely people! No question or inquiry was too much.

Upon arrival at the cottage, we were delighted to find that it was every bit as beautiful as it looked in the photos. This cottage is so warm and cosy, and is set on a beautiful quiet cove which put us in a state of relaxation immediately; settling in was effortless. We were particularly struck by how generously the cottage is fitted out, in all respects, including bedding, kitchen equipment, childrens games, books, towels, soaps, and just everything really. The beds and sofas are extremely comfortable, and there is nothing which was not provided. We were very impressed.

During the time we spent there, we were thrilled to find that practically everything is within a 15 min drive, give or take a little. The cottage is very centrally located for West Cork in general. Ballydehob, a beauitful friendly Irish village, is only a few mins drive away, and Skull, Skibbereen and Bantry are all within a 15 min drive. Baltimore is approx 20 mins drive. Barley Cove beach and Crookhaven are within 30 mins, and are so worth the drive - breathtakingly beautiful. All of the nearby towns have superb restaurants, from very reasonably priced to more expensive if you want to really treat yourself. Antonio's is an Italian restaurant located right in Ballydehob, and is a lovely experience with authentic quality Italian food, lovely staff, and very affordable.

All in all, we had a tremendous break, and loved the whole area, but in particular we couldn't say enough about the cottage, it has everything for the perfectly relaxing holiday, and the location couldn't be better as it is so central to everything. We're already planning our next holiday there

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house is fitted out very generously and is ever so cosy
Liked least: There was nothing I did not like about the house and the location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anilum80
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful cottage”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my husband wanted go away from everybody for a New Years. Choosing this cottage was the best decision. We stayed only for 2 nights, but it was hard to leave. It definitely felt like from home to home. Inside is beautiful , very cozy clean.In the pictures living room looks bit small, but is not.In the house you can find everything you need ( even cooking books, toys for kids and a lot of everything else.) I would definitely recommend for a families with kids, for a couples, someone who wants to run away from everybody. I definitely will come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing