We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Herons Cove”
other travelers have booked this property
In full bloom!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage
Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Relax in the evenings with a wood burning stove
Living Area
Cosy Kitchen
Main Bathroom, includes bath and shower
Main ensuite bedroom with old fashioned brass bed
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom with iron bedsteads
'Welcome to Herons Cove Cottage'
Gateway to your perfect escape!
Early morning calm
View from Front Deck
View from rear of property
view from drive
Secluded and Sheltered back decking, perfect for summer BBQs
Enjoy a romantic moonlight drink on the front deck overlooking water
Entrance Gates
Sailboat passing Jeremy Irons Castle near Cottage
Boats heading up Ballydehob Harbour past Cottage to local Festival
The Twelve Arch Bridge in Ballydehob
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballydehob, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
InezCulle...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Herons Cove”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Herons Cove for 4 nights. I can't quite put into words how fantastic we both found the cottage and surrounding area, it really was everything we wished for and more! From accommodating our late check in, to providing us with a welcome hamper Kathleen made us feel at home from the moment we met her. The cottage is simply stunning and reflects everything that's so wonderful about the West of Cork. While tucked away in the most remote and quiet of locations its proximity to the surrounding towns and amenities makes it the perfect get away. We arrived late and in the dark but woke to the most beautiful of views. The cottage is equipped with absolutely everything one could possible think of needing and the personal touches and local knowledge offered really make the experience memorable. We would highly recommend this cottage and all it offers to anyone wishing to experience the warmth and beauty of holidaying in Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenmug...
Trimsaran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Absolutely wonderful location very quiet, no traffic.It is a place that makes you want to return to , the Cottage was immaculate everything that you could need, 3mins walk to private small beach not suitable for swimming but lovely to sit by which the owners Kathleen and Tony have put a bench and table there. They made us so welcome nothing was too much trouble.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: not enough sun
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calmness & Peace in a Perfect Package!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing cottage and definitely a home from home. A beautifully presented and comfortable cottage on the shore of Roaring Water Bay in a stunning location. Facilities both indoor and out were perfect.

We wanted for nothing from the moment we walked in the door! The welcome and service we received from Kathleen and Tony was second to none - we felt like part of their extended family.

Cottage is private and secluded but within easy driving distance of local pubs & restaurants and the must-see sights of West Cork and Kerry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quintessential Irish Cottage - A Home Away From Home”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My girlfriends & I spent one glorious week (not nearly enough time) at Heron's Cove Cottage. We were very unfamiliar with the area, as it was our first time in Ireland, but we could not have chosen a better place to stay. Heron's Cove Cottage is located a mere ten minute drive from the heart of Ballydehob; and it's proximity (within 30 minute drive) to other villages including Schull, Bantry, Skibereen, and Glandore made it the perfect hub to rest after a long day of sightseeing.

The cottage itself was incredibly charming-- clean, cozy, and equipped with all the amenities & creature comforts of home (washer & dryer, stove/oven, kitchen appliances, hair dryer, wifi, etc.). Also, there are two decks for your viewing pleasure (front & back of the cottage), which is where we spent much of our time enjoying (in our opinion) the quintessential Irish landscape. The view of Roaring Water Bay is simply stunning. I should mention that the midges come out in full-force when the sun begins to set, so I'd recommend bringing citronella candles or bug spray to keep them away.

Between the warm welcome we received from Kathleen & Tony (owners), and the cozy, country charm of the cottage, we felt instantly at home. Kathleen & Tony went above & beyond when they ordered & delivered not one, but TWO birthday cakes for my friends who were celebrating their birthdays in Ireland-- that is service that you cannot get anywhere else! We LOVED our stay & play to visit again...and when we do, you can bet that we'll be staying at Kathleen & Tony's place!

**For high-quality images of the cottage & our stay, visit http://www.onwindsweptlane.com/2013/06/herons-cove-home-away-from-home.html **

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A toss-up between the quaint cottage, stunning views, and Kathleen & Tony!
Liked least: Those pesky midges!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M
Cahir, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem, a home from home!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Had a fabulous stay at Herons Cove, very inviting and cosy, a little gem, great amenities, felt like a home from home, location & scenery is beautiful and tranquil, Kathleen welcomed us with a basket of goodies which is a very nice touch, will definitely be back, it was hard to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosiness of the property & scenery
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceyh71...
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Real Getaway, Relaxing, Spectacular location - A place you must see”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in the most breathtaking setting overlooking roaring water bay, this is the place to go if you want to enjoy the tranquility of beautiful West Cork and get away from it all. The cottage is well equipped, I had a really warm and friendly welcome from Kathleen and her husband Tony, with a really nice touch of a welcome basket - Thank you. Great for bird watching and I saw 4 seals in the Bay! Wifi worked really well and I had a fantastic stay, able to recharge my batteries. Thank you Kathleen and Tony you have a beautiful cottage and I appreciated your warm welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed March 16, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and Kathleen
Liked least: There is just a little bit of a drive off the main road on a one lane country road but it actually added to the experience!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$118
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing