We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Ownership eventually has seen benefits” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1904 Cafe - CLOSED

1904 Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: 1904 Cafe. Mangonui. Open 8.30 Am. Licensed Cafe. Free wi-fi Kiwi Cafe Enjoy a stunningly beautiful panorama of Mangonui Harbour where the ambiance is soothing to the soul. Alternatively dine inside where it is warm and sunny in all weathers. Enjoy the historical Kauri building of 1904. Originally the Mangonui Telegraph and Postal Shop. We showcase our history with the Northwood Collection of Black & White Photography. Canvas's in our Gallery are available for sale at $300. Inc. Free delivery Nationwide. We offer a delicious range of pastries, sandwiches, quiches, sweet slices and cakes including our renowned Jam & Cinnamon Donuts, Custard Fingers s & Apple Strudel. All Day Breakfast & Lunch Menu plus Cabinet Fare & Daily Specials prepared by our Chefs. Our Mediterranean Platter is a favourite choice amongst our guests in the late afternoon. We support local growers and offer you quality artisan products from Northland. Our drinks menu caters for all ages & tastes. Our wine list highlights local vineyards at affordable prices. Families are very welcome. Well behaved family dogs are warmly received and watered.
Mangonui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“New Ownership eventually has seen benefits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was always a great café, but after new ownership it took quite awhile for things to improve, from the coffee to the service, but thankfully that is the case now. The young staff are lovely and very friendly and may the good coffee and service continue.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank subee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne H, Owner at 1904 Cafe, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi subee40 of Mangonui, this is Marianne of 1904 Cafe Mangonui. Thank you for letting us know you are enjoying your experience at our cafe. We strive to ensure we please with great coffee, food taste, presentation and pricing & of course exceptional service. Please come back often and do introduce yourself to me, I love getting to know my locals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mangonui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Past meets the now”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great food, views and service, love the theme! They even have an outdoor pizza oven, delish! Nice with a wine, sitting outside.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixCandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne H, Owner at 1904 Cafe, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi & a big belated thank you. Times are busy. As mentioned before to establish strong friend ships or relationships with my community is all important. I feel very privileged to be a Northlander, what a beautiful place our Mangonui is. Gods best work, we are blessed1 . Suzie thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“coffee great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great coffee, home made hot cross buns, and FREE WiFi, lovely out door setting opposite the Post Office, and views of the harbour, lovely old building

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank christine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangonui, New Zealand
1 review
“1904 Cafe = Fab view, Super food and Charming & efficient staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This local cafe has become my firm favourite for all the obvious reasons - thoughtful and friendly service, really good quality food, glorious setting and great coffee. Marianne, Grant and team put their heart into their work and it's a great feeling!.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Paws418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
1 review
“Try the new Seafood platter..it's great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

You just have to have seafood when in Mangonui...after all it is a fishing village, so it is very fitting that Café 1904 has introduced not only seafood pizzas but seafood platters to its menu.
I have to say that many a time my friends and I have decided at various times of a weekend afternoon that a glass of wine and a platter would be just the thing.... and hey presto, now we can indulge thanks to Marianne realising that Mangonui and Café 1904 should be the seafood destination of the north. Today we were the first to partake of their new offering. And what a fabulous treat our platters were. Packed to the gunnels with snapper, mussels, roe, chunky smoked salmon, eel, prawns, I know I have missed something here...and lots of crusty bread.
What really made the afternoon, though, beside the gorgeous weather was Marianne's interest in ensuring we were looked after, cared for and fed well. Not that difficult really...but unfortunately absent from so many eateries. So for value for money, honest food and good old fashioned attention to customers you really can't go wrong heading to Mangonui to try out this wee gem.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SammyP11467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1904 Cafe also viewed

 
Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing