We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachside Haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Marino Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Marino Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 9 Mangonui B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beachside Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This older style lodge is in a perfect location right on the beach. The rooms are clean & well fully fitted with all you would need. The owners are extremely helpful & eager to make your stay as good as possible. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The lodge has new enthusiastic owners who were determined to make our stay as good as possible. They are working on making lots of improvements but they already have one of the best locations in northlands with fully fitted lodge rooms right on the quietest most scenic part of lovely Coopers Beach. We were spoilt for choice as to where to take our evening wine, on our own terrace at the grassy picnic area spot or on the beach. The excellent value for money makes this a place to stay that I can be fully confident of recommending. This was the best value for money we found on our round the world trip.
In january 2014 when we visited the owners had only been in a month but they clearly want to provide the best possible stay for their guests and by now I expect that it will be even better as they sweep away the older elements of the accomodation. This place is a really good choice but will soon be a real gem!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peedee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

we had a ground floor unit right on the edge of the beach,30 second walk to the waters edge.
It was great value for money,older but clean and very reasonable in price.
And to top things off I went out for a swim with 2 dolphins that were in the bay.
ThIs really my holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We agree totally with Neil K's review. Our kitchen and bathroom were basic, but the spotlessness made up for it. The bed and bedding gave us the best sleep in the week too.

We'd stayed elsewhere for nearly twice the price, where things were tired and grubby.

The stunning location deserves the most - we're sure it will happen with this couple in charge.

We will be back for a longer stay next summer.

Gay and David

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in coopers beach as part of our honeymoon roadtrip. The location was fantastic,the room and service was everything that we needed.We felt that the rates were very good considering what we had been paying that week around the place. We enjoyed our stay, thank you very much.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barrisst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

San Marino Lodge has the most idyllic location, sandy beach front lined with pohutukawa trees for shade and great views over Doubtless bay. Tobie and Phil, new owners, were friendly and most helpful. Units are self contained, from the 70s, very clean and adequate. Don't forget the Monganui fish shop just over the hill.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rozwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed fro a week in early February and tried out three different rooms over a week. Toby and her husband has only taken over a couple of weeks before. Toby tried extremely hard to make everyone comfortable and happy. Everywhere was very clean. We had stayed there 18 years earlier and knew that the facilities were basic, but the view and proximity to the beach is superb and all in all it's comfortable and excellent value for money, We stayed completely on spec because we knew it was right onto the beach and the views are superb These guys will make it. It will take them some time for them to make up for the years of neglect the place has suffered, but they will get there. Having run a B and B ourselves, we know how hard it is. I think the only issue is time. Some rooms have better resources than others, but all are fine. We cooked our own meals most nights and this worked well. Toby is making a list of what each room needs, As we stayed in several rooms, we were able to help draw up what was needed in each one. If you want somewhere with stunning views and right onto the beach and have a limited budget, this is the place to stay. Would be good for pensioners. As a long established gay couple, we also wanted totally gay friendly and we have no complaints whatsoever in that respect. We definitely recommend that you give them a go. Regards, Neil

Room Tip: The only room we didn't like was one with bunks for kids, which only had a double bed rather tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.5 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
11.8 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
0.9 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
3.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marino Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino Motor Lodge

Property: San Marino Motor Lodge
Address: 3 San Marino Drive | Doubtless Bay |, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Mangonui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marino Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on the gorgeous Coopers Beach!! Soak up the warm sun and enjoy watching your children play on the beach.Take in the wonderful sun sets. Take the family fishing on the beach. Wonderful walks and perfect for the hikers who enjoy the great outdoors.Situated approx. 40 minutes north of Kerikeri, and 20 minutes to Kaitaia. Eight self contained units, with well equipped kitchens, microwave ovens and hob top stoves, electric frying pans. Coffee and tea available. Cooked/ Continental breakfasts available on request delivered to your unit.Units ranging from studio, sleeps 2 - 3 , through to small family units sleeps 4, with a dbl bed and twin bunks and larger family units, sleeps 5 - 6.Units serviced daily. Cable TV and SKY Sport with new flat screen T.V's in selected units. Wi-Fi available. BBQ facilities available along with plenty of freezer space for those catches of the day!! Benches for cleaning the fish and safe parking available for the boat. Come and enjoy the beautiful arts and crafts at the local markets and sample the foods and wines in historic Mangonui's restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your San Marino Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing