We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acorn Bar & Bistro - CLOSED

Acorn Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: The Acorn Bar & Bistro is located in the historical seaside village of Mangonui, Northland. A beautiful 40 minute drive north of Kerikeri. The Acorn overlooks the peaceful Mangonui harbour. Serving fresh, regional & seasonal cuisine with local and international flavours. The owners, Cassandra & Terry also enjoy showcasing the excellent local wines grown and made in this sub tropical climate. A worldclass bistro in Northland. Also catering to small and elegant weddings and functions, up to 35 pax.
bittern
Level Contributor
380 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Very nice restaurant with excellent choices and wine to match. The Australian owners certainly run this place very smoothly. Thanks fro a fabulous evening when we visited in October!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank bitterntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Fantastic food in a rustic restaurant”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

On holiday from Auckland we heard about this fantastic little restaurant in Manganui, it lived up to all it's expectations. The service was incredible and the food even better. Had a great night & will definitely visit again if we're in the area :-) Jaz & Mike

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasminandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahipara, New Zealand
1 review
“Magnifique!”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Last night was the second time my partner and I visited the Acorn, and it was just as amazing as the first. The food, is divine, service is top-notch and the atmosphere is both quaint and intimate. I adore French-style cooking with all the love and beautiful ingredients that are put into each dish, and here, they do it all well. We will continue going here for such a great dining experience and bring my family here when they visit from overseas!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennileni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT ALL ROUND”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Weekend away with friends, called into the local information centre who gave us the recommendation. How right they were, the food, the atmosphere and the attentive staff were all brilliant. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D-LJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra W, Owner at Acorn Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments. Our team are thrilled you enjoyed your experience at The Acorn Bar & Bistro. We hope to meet and welcome you once again in the future. Until then Bon Appetit. Cassandra & Terry Warin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Food, gorgeous service, brilliant unforgettable evening.”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were introduced to the Acorn Bar and Bistro by a Northland local a few months before our first dinner there. Cassandra was so friendly and the breakfast was so delicious we decided to bring our family back for a special dinner 2 nights before our wedding. The night in itself was memorable, but Cassandra and her team made it unforgettable and went the extra mile to make it special for us. We felt so welcomed and comfortable as if we ourselves were locals (we're actually far from it - we're a blend of Americans and Cantabrians). The food was delicious and it was wonderful to know the Acorn supports the local industries and suppliers. Thank you Acorn Bar and Bistro!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kbc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra W, Owner at Acorn Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
On behalf of all our passionate team here at The Acorn Bar & Bistro we wish to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed creating a memorable evening for you and look forward to greeting you again one day. Until then Bon Appetit Cassandra & Terry Warin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acorn Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 
Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing