We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise”

Waterfront Cafe & Bar
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, New Zealand, Pizza, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (iframe width="425" height="350" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" src="http://maps.google.co.nz/maps?hl=en&ie=UTF8&q=waterfront+cafe+mangonui&fb=1&gl=nz&hq=waterfront+cafe&hnear=Mangonui&view=map&cid=17404973711529897645&ved=0CEkQpQY&ei=is-8TNHVE6GitgP7nuTeBg&ll=-34.994427,173.534683&spn=0.006295,0.006295&iwloc=A&output=embed")(/iframe)(br /)(small)(a href="http://maps.google.co.nz/maps?hl=en&ie=UTF8&q=waterfront+cafe+mangonui&fb=1&gl=nz&hq=waterfront+cafe&hnear=Mangonui&view=map&cid=17404973711529897645&ved=0CEkQpQY&ei=is-8TNHVE6GitgP7nuTeBg&ll=-34.994427,173.534683&spn=0.006295,0.006295&iwloc=A&source=embed" style="color:#0000FF;text-align:left")View Larger Map(/a)(/small)
Opua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice place to eat in Mangonui. The food is fresh and well presented. The menu makes a welcome change from standard cafe fare. Dining here was a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    101
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Seafood & Great Views”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Wonderful food & views over the harbour. Service was a little slow but I put this down to walking in at 7:45pm hoping for a table. Recommend the seafood risotto, the fish of the day & the calamari starter (dear husband loved the chorizo calamari mix!). It was the first night of our Northland holiday & a great start.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathietay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Scallops!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Wow! I had the scallops plate and it was delicious! Service was a little surly for nz but the food was amazing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank joford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
169 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent three nights running”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate dinner here three nights running, a week ago. All visits were excellent - delicious food and welcoming, excellent service. It was very busy each evening, so we booked in advance each time. Between us, we must have tried 4-5 items on the menu and all were very good, including the beef, seafood risotto (which they were happy to adapt as I do not like scallops), the snapper etc... Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD - EVENTUALLY”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We, two couples, dined at the Waterfront Cafe having reserved a table on the previous day. Most tables were "Reserved" although the reservations were not taken up. The place was virtually empty for the entire evening. The "Reserved" thing may be a way of declining off-the-street requests for a table from undesirables. Although there was only a handful of diners, service was slow and it was frustrating trying to attract the waitress's eye to request more drinks. With better attention, they could sell more wine and beer.

One of our foursome had the seafood platter which scored 10 out of 10. Another had lamb which was also perfect. The other two opted for aged fillet of beef, medium rare. Anyone who'd ordered very, very, very well done would have been delighted. The beef fillets were badly burnt and the black exteriors were crusty carbon. Our complaint to the waitress was indifferently received but in due course, a couple of replacement fillets were received along with freshly cooked vegetables. They were absolutely perfect. The beef fillets were large, tender, tasty and cooked to - perfection. There's no other word.

The replacement dinners saved the day and a super evening was had by all of us. We ended up with four excellent meals which left us inclined to visit again in the future. Quite why the chefs served up cinders in the first instance is both unfathomable, inexcusable for professionals and poor. However, that was satisfactorily resolved so enough said.

The toffee and date pudding desserts were excellent. The home-made cheesecakes were not and tasted "off" to me but in fairness, I am not an authority on them so I could be wrong. The range of desserts was limited.

At $228, it wasn't inexpensive for what we had and I'm glad I didn't pay any more. I have experienced better value throughout New Zealand.

I respectfully suggest that The Waterfront Cafe needs to pull up it's "quality control socks" and service delivery. It has the potential to be perfect. In anticipation of perfection, I'll visit again if only for the aged fillet of beef. When they get it right, it's brilliant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yotpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Cafe & Bar also viewed

Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 
Mangonui, Northland Region
 

Been to Waterfront Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing