We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent three nights running”

Waterfront Cafe & Bar
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, New Zealand, Pizza, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (iframe width="425" height="350" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" src="http://maps.google.co.nz/maps?hl=en&ie=UTF8&q=waterfront+cafe+mangonui&fb=1&gl=nz&hq=waterfront+cafe&hnear=Mangonui&view=map&cid=17404973711529897645&ved=0CEkQpQY&ei=is-8TNHVE6GitgP7nuTeBg&ll=-34.994427,173.534683&spn=0.006295,0.006295&iwloc=A&output=embed")(/iframe)(br /)(small)(a href="http://maps.google.co.nz/maps?hl=en&ie=UTF8&q=waterfront+cafe+mangonui&fb=1&gl=nz&hq=waterfront+cafe&hnear=Mangonui&view=map&cid=17404973711529897645&ved=0CEkQpQY&ei=is-8TNHVE6GitgP7nuTeBg&ll=-34.994427,173.534683&spn=0.006295,0.006295&iwloc=A&source=embed" style="color:#0000FF;text-align:left")View Larger Map(/a)(/small)
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
169 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent three nights running”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate dinner here three nights running, a week ago. All visits were excellent - delicious food and welcoming, excellent service. It was very busy each evening, so we booked in advance each time. Between us, we must have tried 4-5 items on the menu and all were very good, including the beef, seafood risotto (which they were happy to adapt as I do not like scallops), the snapper etc... Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    101
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD - EVENTUALLY”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We, two couples, dined at the Waterfront Cafe having reserved a table on the previous day. Most tables were "Reserved" although the reservations were not taken up. The place was virtually empty for the entire evening. The "Reserved" thing may be a way of declining off-the-street requests for a table from undesirables. Although there was only a handful of diners, service was slow and it was frustrating trying to attract the waitress's eye to request more drinks. With better attention, they could sell more wine and beer.

One of our foursome had the seafood platter which scored 10 out of 10. Another had lamb which was also perfect. The other two opted for aged fillet of beef, medium rare. Anyone who'd ordered very, very, very well done would have been delighted. The beef fillets were badly burnt and the black exteriors were crusty carbon. Our complaint to the waitress was indifferently received but in due course, a couple of replacement fillets were received along with freshly cooked vegetables. They were absolutely perfect. The beef fillets were large, tender, tasty and cooked to - perfection. There's no other word.

The replacement dinners saved the day and a super evening was had by all of us. We ended up with four excellent meals which left us inclined to visit again in the future. Quite why the chefs served up cinders in the first instance is both unfathomable, inexcusable for professionals and poor. However, that was satisfactorily resolved so enough said.

The toffee and date pudding desserts were excellent. The home-made cheesecakes were not and tasted "off" to me but in fairness, I am not an authority on them so I could be wrong. The range of desserts was limited.

At $228, it wasn't inexpensive for what we had and I'm glad I didn't pay any more. I have experienced better value throughout New Zealand.

I respectfully suggest that The Waterfront Cafe needs to pull up it's "quality control socks" and service delivery. It has the potential to be perfect. In anticipation of perfection, I'll visit again if only for the aged fillet of beef. When they get it right, it's brilliant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yotpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We dined here a few days ago and enjoyed very good food and professional service. No complaints. I had lamb, which was delicious. My friends had pizza, which was also good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yellowjoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The pits”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

There's not much choice for food in Manganui so we opted to have breakfast here even though it smelled a little stale and looked a bit tatty. There wasn't much we fancied so opted for a simple bacon croissant and museli and fruit. The croissant was stale though I could not be sure of this as it and the tiny amount of bacon inside had been incinerated. The museli was a cheap variety from a packet and the fruit was no more than a couple of segments of orange and a few slices of banana. Both were outrageously expensive for what was delivered by a bored and dis interested waitress. Avoid!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badddriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited on a Thursday and it was half price pizza night (Which seems to be a once a week thing during the low season). The food was very tasty. We tried both the lamb and the seafood pizzas, it was exceptional. The service was a little slow, mostly because they were busy and they make everything from scratch to order. Also, the front door was constantly being left open so it was very chilly. I'd go again. I'd suggest going a little off hours so that your food doesn't take so long.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Cafe & Bar also viewed

Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 
Mangonui, Northland Region
 
Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 

Been to Waterfront Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing