We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best fish and chip meals we've had.....”

World Famous Fish and Chips
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Mangonui
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the best fish and chip meals we've had.....”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stumbled across Mangonui travelling back from Cape Reinga, a real gem. This waterfront eatery looked inviting and we were impressed with the selection of sea food meals available. The claim about being world famous fish and chips had to be tested. Served up (we were eating in) in newspaper the great traditional English way got the taste buds going. Well, what a fab meal - the portion could have been a bit bigger but awesome tasting snapper and well cooked chips.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pathfinder48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    124
    122
    100
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location and great food”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Five of us travelling on a girlie weekend from Australia and we had been advised to try the fish and chipschere. As advised the fish was delicious and the location beautiful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KazNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh and Fantastic, great spot”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Having lived in Qld , Australia for the last 22 years this was heaven. The fish and chips in Brisbane are virtually inedible , unless you like the taste of ammonia. Discovered Mangonui and the famous fish & chip shop 2yrs ago and are a convert. Love the fresh fish of the day and the NZ oysters are to die for. Being able to buy a Beer or wine with the meal is a great touch. The view over the bay as you eat was spectacular. Prices compared to OZ are cheap. What more can I say.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“why charge for tomato sauce???”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have been coming here for the last 18 years. All up 6 times. The best fish and chips shop is gone. We were 2 adults 2 children. After ordering snapper and bluenose, and the cost to it being approximately $ 60 for 500 grams, seems like gold. The prawns $ 18 were not fresh. If you want a small kids juice in tetra pack will cost you 3.50. If you like chips this is extra too. But the most amazing trade tactics is tomato sauce. This will cost you extra too. Hey guys the lemons are free-why not charge for that too. Our fine dining experience $ 120 for 4 pax.
This is the last time we will be going there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank makedonija2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Having heard great things about the fish and chips here we were looking forward to our visit. Unfortunately we were very disappointed at the price and the quantity. The blue nose was a nice piece of fish, but not big enough, we also had hoki which was average. We ate on the deck which was clean and tidy, would not recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kim2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Famous Fish and Chips also viewed

Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 
Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 
Mangonui, Northland Region
 

Been to World Famous Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing