We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in Rue, number one appartment overlooking the sea, directly over the bay. There was a storm brewing and we could not have been in a better spot to watch the weather.

You can actually see the bay from the beautiful and comfortable bed.

It was quiet season which was ideal as the town was quiet.

The caretakers Shirley and Phill was increadably, always available, giving advise on restaurants.
Willing to book activities and sort out issues. They have only been here a short while and are turning things around. The room was spotless.

We got beautiful freshly laundred towels daily. Also tea and coffee. The kitchen is well stocked and clean.

Wonderful romantic place to stay and Phillip and Shirley made it all the better.

Room Tip: Be carefull of this room when it is high season. I expect it could be very noisy in the street that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    57
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
173
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Location was great, right in the heart of the little Mangonui settlement. We stayed in a room called Waru. The linen was lovely and fresh. Unfortunately the sofa bed in the lounge was very uncomfortable . Even the kids could feel the springs and it was very saggy. The kitchen and bathroom were tired but usable. The mugs could do with a scrub as they had tea taninn stains. Could be fixed in a jiffy. A big plus about this accommodation was the size of the lounge/dining/kitchen area. It was huge compared to other places. Also the host was lovely, super friendly and very helpful when we accidentally lost the tv tuning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieSueNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a weekend here with friends and this is the perfect place to stay in Mangonui (and indeed Doubtless Bay). A really quaint & cool colonial dwelling but with all the mod cons to make it comfortable. We stayed in Ono which hasnt been done up as have the rest of the units but still very comortable and with fantastic views over the harbour which is right there. Being a city person it was a bit hard to get used to the peace and quiet at night, very relaxing. Great restaurant in the retail part of the complex and our friend caught a big Kawhai right in front of the motel. Unbelievable. The location is very central to Mangonui and great for exploring the rest of Doubtless Bay

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view, most appear to have one but one or two don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 529MarkS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokolbin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were very lucky to be given "Whitu" - what a fabulous comfortable,perfectly clean, homely space complete with kitchen and everything you could ever need. The big cosy bed was to die for and the veranda with spectacular views kept us well entertained. In fact we extended our stay it was such a treat to be here. I never wanted to leave. Delia shared her local knowledge of secret out of the way places which we soaked up and enjoyed every minute of. Local cafes below served excellent meals.This accommodation was by far the best we stayed in during our 12 day "Tiki Tour" of Northland. Thank you Delia, you do an amazing job. We will be back in a heart beat

Room Tip: We loved the Whitu room, its elevation, veranda & views make it very special & private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently with a few colleagues. Perfect location right in the middle of town with the most fantastic morning views of the harbour! Everything you require is provided, full kitchen including microwave, even plunger coffee in the morning.
Rooms are clean and tidy, nothing fancy but just perfect for a weekend getaway. If you can get the rooms with a balcony view of the harbour then you are in for a treat. Great service from the Father/Daughter owners!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stutwentysix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a really quaint place to stay, decor is a bit dated but it doesn't matter as the view more than makes up for it.
It has a lovely balcony you can sit out on weather permitting
Lady owner is very pleasant and helpful.
I would go back to this place anytime

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubbies35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We are from Swansea, South Wales, UK, during our Tour of Northland we stayed at the Mangonui Waterfront Motel for 6 nights in Feb 2013.
The Motel is situated on a slight rise just across the road from the water front.
It is an easy level walk to all the Towns ammenities, Restauraunts, Cafe's, & Shops etc.
There is a pleasant Boardwalk with seats overlooking the Inlet.
We stayed in the Waru Unit, a ground floor Apt with all facilities.
There is ample parking space on site.
Delia our Host was very Welcoming, Hospitable, & Friendly, and catered for our every need.
An extra bonus were the Fresh White Towels, changed Daily, the best we have had on all our travels.
Well Done Delia & Grant, a real "Home from Home".
We would not hesitate to recommend this Accommodation.

Room Tip: The Waru Unit is on Ground level with other units in front, it has a Partial Seaview. Front and hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.2 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
130 reviews
12.5 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.9 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangonui Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangonui Waterfront Apartments

Property: Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Address: Cnr Waterfront Drive & Thomas Street, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangonui Waterfront Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Northland in classic style at the Mangonui Waterfront. Our apartments offer an unrivalled waterfront lifestyle, in the centre of Mangonui village, just metres from the harbour edge. Located centrally between Cape Reinga, Northland's golden West Coast beaches, and the Bay of Islands, Mangonui Waterfront, serves as a hub for Northland exploration, by car, boat, bike or foot - time is on your side in Mangonui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Mangonui Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing