We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
137
15
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
137
15
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic building cape reinga new zealand short walk garden room far north wrap around balcony two nights stayed one night small hotel bed was very comfortable mangonui fish shop charming accommodation modern updates tourist attractions small garden tui suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 154 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Looking for place to stay while exploring the Northland region in New Zealand as part of a Round-the-World tour, one find all sorts of accommodation, but seeing the picture and description of the Old Oak we looked no further and booked immediately.
Later we became a little nonplussed while staying in Auckland, when we received a email with a code and instructions for entering the hotel and our first floor Ponga suite, but when we arrived in Mangonui everything worked exactly as per description (in case it doesn't Ring video doorbell may help).
The Old Oak is rumoured to have been built by a Scotsman of Kauri wood in 1861, so it is really old by NZ standards, but it has been renovated and provided with modern amenities like air condition, a bathroom with both shower and a free standing bathtub with lion's feet that is all the rage these days.
We soon found ourselves (as every evening) on the surround balcony, with a bottle of New Zealand white wine from a nearby shop and enjoying the fantastic views of Mangonui harbour part of Doubtless Bay. In the morning we were ready for a glorious sun up, with fog lingering in valleys of opposite peninsula.
Well, we also toured the Northland with visits to Cape Reinga, waded through the Te Paki stream to get to the Ninety Mile Beach and tasted the Fish and Chips at The Mangonui Fish Shop. But The Old Oak was a real attraction in itself. When we left we finally met Zoltan and Louise, who keep the old hotel in perfect shape. Recommended!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Via2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldOak, Manager at The Old Oak Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Dear Via2r,

Thank you for leaving us this fantastic review, you're making us blush...
We're so pleased you enjoyed staying with us and all the beauty, that Doubtless Bay has to offer.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Old Oak one day.

Best wishes,

Louise and Zoltan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

Fabulous place to stay. Zoltan and Louise were wonderful hosts and the rooms were beautiful. There was a lot of history in this old building. A perfect place to stay if you are on your way up to visit Cape Reinga as we were.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Karren64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldOak, Manager at The Old Oak Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2019

Thank you so much for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and loved the history of the building. Hope you all had a great day out up at the Cape!
All the best,

Zoltan and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019

Gorgeous location across the road from the water with lovely balcony to sit and relax on.
Loved the small touches of fresh cut flowers and fresh milk.
Quaint, idyllic, historic building.
Hosts were very friendly and welcoming.
Only down side was the noise from the road and air conditioning unit outside which kept us awake.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Gourmetkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldOak, Manager at The Old Oak Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We are thrilled to hear you loved all the small touches of the room. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you here again one day.

Kind regards,
Louise and Zoltan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019

spent two nights with the family

the good
- little one had her own room well appointed. she loved it
- charming room
- kitchen
- walking distance from the center of the town
- comfy bed
- indian next door is not bad
- view from the main bed room

not so good
- bathroom is a little bit on the small side

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldOak, Manager at The Old Oak Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Hi Axel,

So pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed staying in the Ruru Suite. Thanks for pointing out the features!
Hope to see you here again one day.
Kind regards,
Louise and Zoltan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Mangonui, our base for exploring the Northlands. The Old Oak was simply excellent, large room, clean and well-appointed, huge comfortable bed with extra pillows, efficient heating and AC, TV with lots of quality channels, kettle and fixings for coffee and tea, fridge (with fresh milk! Don't see that often), outdoor seating area protected from the rain. But... it was a bit odd that from check-in to check-out we never met our hosts. Perfectly accommodating over the phone, but disembodied.
We would certainly return.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldOak, Manager at The Old Oak Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Thank you for your detailed review, we are thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable say at The Old Oak and enjoyed all it's amenities. Yes.. we can imagine it's a cosy place to be when it rains!
Hope to welcome you back again one day.
All the best,

Zoltan and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews