We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Spot to stay in Mangonui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We chose the Old Oak based on Trip Advisor reviews and were so glad that we did. We had the pleasure of staying two nights toward the end of our seven week trip to New Zealand.
We arrived later than expected because we had stopped on our trip from Paihia to do several hikes. Gary greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room (Ruru Suite).
Our two bedroom suite was lovely. The larger bedroom has access to the balcony overlooking the water. The small bedroom worked well as a place to put our bags and sort things. The kitchen and eating area were in the middle. We chose to eat in both nights and the kitchenette worked very well for us.
Gary helped us in planning our activities. We headed up to Cape Reinga and did several of the hikes he recommended. We also made stops at several other spots he had identified. It was such a help. We were heading to the Hokianga area when we left and he also recommended places to stop along the way.
We spent our early morning and late evening time sitting on the balcony looking at the water and all the birds. It was wonderful to have coffee or wine and a fantastic view.
This is a wonderful spot and I would love to return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and view of the water.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasemarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 113 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

Old inn, refurbished into dream-come-true elegance. In fishing village with access to good cafés and sunsets. Peaceful, quiet, beautifully furnished. Nice walking, excellent views, artsy shops. Well managed by Kiwi/American owners.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIldCarrot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have just returned from a fantastic weekend away at this very beautiful place. Located on the waterfront. My balcony was right off the double room. The room was beautifully decorated and thoughtfully put together. We were welcomed warmly by the owners. There was lots of attention to detail. I agree with previous reviews - stay at least 2 nights

Room Tip: The rooms at the front had a beautiful deck that was great in the morning for coffee and the evening...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed one night at The Old Oak the evening of the Mangonui Wine and Food and Market day. The hotel is a well thought out tasteful mixture of old and new . The situation is perfect if you want to absorb the flavour of this wonderful village on the edge of a habour. The owners are delightful as was the whole experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the spacious Ponga room and could not fault it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard Miller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Had read about this gem in Mangonui some time ago so when the opportunity presented itself for a 2 night stay we jumped at it. We were not disappointed !
From the time of check in to check out the hosts were understated, helpful and unobtrusive while the ambience was truly inspiring. The refurbishment and attention to detail superb. The location restful and the locale in keeping with true Northland history and New Zealand slendour

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

You need at least two nights to get the benefit of this fantastic historical and listed building. We stayed in the Ponga suite and it was brilliant. Views across the bay and a balcony to die for. Every facility in the three room suite (lounge, bedroom and bathroom). Claw foot bath had brilliant views. Expensive at $275 but worth every cent. Could not recommend it more.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank StaresDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Beautiful sympathetically modernised property. Excellent room, Great proprietors Amazing location, Beautiful area. Good fishing locally beautiful scenery. All n all First class. We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was upstairs overlooking the garden and fantastic with a roll top bath, Huge bed, satellite TV and DVD Player, Small kitchenette unit and three rooms. plus a beautiful private balcony overlooking the harbour

Room Tip: I think the best room is the one with the roll top bath upstairs
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenstownRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.4 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
3.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
41 reviews
1.9 mi away
Doubtless Bay Lodge
Doubtless Bay Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mangonui
34 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Oak Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Oak Boutique Hotel

Address: 66 Waterfront Drive, Mangonui, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range: $126 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Oak Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful small hotel features just six rooms - three suites, two premium studios, and a standard room. The heritage building has been modernised for the comfort of our guests with new bathrooms, lighting, plumbing, and insulation and has been decorated with a contemporary mix of modern and country. All rooms, other than our petite standard room, have modern heating and cooling systems and our three suites feature kitchenettes. The property is home to a colonial inspired garden with organic herb and vegetable beds, formal rose garden, petanque court, harbour view verandas and a courtyard nestled into the hillside of native bush and ferns. Guests can relax in the gardens and on the verandas in a private and tranquil setting. The Old Oak provides superior service with 24 hour management, daily housekeeping, and concierge services. Enjoy fishing, swimming, country walks, and strolls along Waterfront Drive in the 19th century whaling village of Mangonui. Mangonui village features r ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Old Oak Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing