We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well preserved historic building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“well preserved historic building”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This historic quaint building has been rennovated beautifully. We stayed in the Kauri garden room - immaculately clean, enormous extremely comfortable bed, flatsceen cable tv with vast number of channels and fabulous contemporary bathroom. Very welcoming owner.
Only minor point was the skylight above the bed. Alot of people will like this but it lets in the light in the morning. Although it probably helps keep the room light in the daytime. some sort of blind would be great to close if you wanted the room darkened in the mornng. Our room was right at the back of the house and was very quiet. It is 2 min walk to cafes, and the famous 'Fish and Chip' shop so great location. Value for money : we just hit shoulder rates at $185 per night which was ok. For Peak rates we may have stayed back in Paihia where you can get more faclites for the $ and day tripped to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
76
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This beatifully restored and tastefully decorated boutique hotel exceeded our expectations. Warm welcome, great location with stunning decor - attention to detail amde this an absolute jewel for our short stay
The owners deserve success.
We hope they can resurrect the adjoining restaurant as this would make for such a desirable destination stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in this lovely little hotel a few months ago. Was upgraded to a more superior room when we arrived as they were quiet - very nice. Lovely welcome from the owners, nice decor etc. couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikinbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here with my partner from Christmas Eve for 3 nights. We were upgraded upon arrival which was a nice surprised. The property has been fantastically renovated and although it was done a couple of years back, it's been looked after so well, it looks like the renovation has just been completed.

We generally like to keep ourselves to ourselves and don't mingle with the hosts. However, Jean and Gary were so friendly and welcoming they really made us feel at home. There was not much open locally in the way of restaurants etc as it was Christmas, so Jean and Gary shared their own food and wine with us and treated us like we were family.

We had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a great place to stay.

NB - the bed was the comfortable bed I have ever slept in!

Fantastic place Jean and Gary - thanks so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darwin1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for four nights in January in the Tui room. The hosts Jean and Gary were very friendly and welcoming during our visit. The hotel has been well restored and is in a good location being a short stroll from the local restaurants. Our room was one of the smaller rooms, which we knew about before booking so expected. We had a covered outside patio area which was nice to sit in after being out in the sun all day. The bathroom was a good size with a good sized shower, etc. The room was spotlessly clean and the hotel overall had a relaxing feel. There were also nice touches, like chocolates for the evening! The only thing we felt was that the hotel was a touch overpriced for the quality of the rooms, e.g. our room had no aircon or heated towel rail, as a result we had a hot room and wet towels. Having said that we stayed in peak season so........... I would recommend this to travellers who are not familiar with NZ and who want to experience some kiwi " heritage " as it is a really gorgeous place. We are " kiwis" so the " charming " touches were not really selling points to us. You will not be disappointed if you go for a room with the air con!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with air con. Also the views are amazing so if your budget stretches get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess3016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a delightful place to stay. We had spent a couple of nights in Auckland and then arrived in Mangonui for 3 nights... we were in the downstairs suite with an outside verandah, facing the garden. No trouble with traffic noise despite facing the road. The owners are very welcoming and made this a special place to stay.

Mangonui is such a relaxed and lovely little town. Morning run/walks along the waterfront were stunning - just step outside and go. The room was a good size, well equipped and very comfortable. Sadly the Acorn restaurant, which has rave reviews, was closed for the moment. However, we ate at The Waterfront Cafe, a two minute walk away and it was so good that we returned there for each evening.

Room Tip: Pohotukawa Suite is wonderful - great having the verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is overlooking the harbor of Mangonui. It is a lovely place to stay. Jean is an excellent hostess and the hotel has been meticulously restored. We had t he two bedroomed suite upstairs and couldn't fault it. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowjoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.4 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
132 reviews
12.6 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
0.2 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
1.9 mi away
Doubtless Bay Lodge
Doubtless Bay Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mangonui
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Oak Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Oak Boutique Hotel

Property: The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Address: 66 Waterfront Drive, Mangonui, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Oak Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful small hotel features just six rooms - three suites, two premium studios, and a standard room. The heritage building has been modernised for the comfort of our guests with new bathrooms, lighting, plumbing, and insulation and has been decorated with a contemporary mix of modern and country. All rooms, other than our petite standard room, have modern heating and cooling systems and our three suites feature kitchenettes. The property is home to a colonial inspired garden with organic herb and vegetable beds, formal rose garden, petanque court, harbour view verandas and a courtyard nestled into the hillside of native bush and ferns. Guests can relax in the gardens and on the verandas in a private and tranquil setting. The Old Oak provides superior service with 24 hour management, daily housekeeping, and concierge services. Enjoy fishing, swimming, country walks, and strolls along Waterfront Drive in the 19th century whaling village of Mangonui. Mangonui village features r ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Oak Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing