We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mangonui Motel(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
$71
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Lodge Motel(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loredo Motel(Kaitaia)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs(Matauri Bay)(Great Value!)
$1,111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingfish Lodge(Whangaroa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Koha Lodge(Te Ngaere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
117
10
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape reinganew zealandshort walkpohutukawa suitetwo nightsfar northindian restaurantrestaurant next doorexcellent hotelsuite upstairsend of the daylovely suitebeautiful gardenhistoric buildingexcellent facilitiesfishing villagetranquil location
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 129 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2011

After a very long drive we arrived at The Old Oak to a warm welcome from Jean the owner. We stayed for five nights in the 'Ponga Harbour and Garden View Suite', which was just wonderful, we could not have asked for more. Sitting out on the veranda in the morning and early evening taking in the view was so relaxing.

The Hotel has been tastefully renovated by the owner with some beautiful and clever little touches - it was an old boathouse many years ago. All in all everything was immaculate - it was just what we needed for our last five days in NZ after a rather hectic trip to visit family.

Idyllic and peaceful in the beautiful and unspoilt fishing village of Mangonui in the Northland of New Zealand - this is a perfect place to stay - we really hope to be able to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desjane_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We left the beautiful Bay of Islands to travel north with a little sadness and thought maybe we should have stayed the extra 2 days there and took our Cape trip from Paihia. However we were so glad that we took both the trip with spectacular coastal detours and the stay in beautiful Mangonui. Jean the hostess is a relocated Los Angel who fell in love with Mangonui on a trip and moved here. She has restored the Old Oak hotel with great style and flair, every comfort and every modern convenience. We were upstairs with a balcony view over the water. Our suite had a lounge with comfy chairs that turn into loungers, table and chairs, plasma, aircon, internet, and pay TV. Separate bedroom had a kitchenette for toast, cereal etc and separate bathroom with clawfoot bath and separate shower. Out in the back garden there is a BBQ available, and the garden next door has fresh herbs and lettuce. A great location and we loved everything about it, even Monster the cat who darts across the road to chase the seagulls.
Next door is a charming bistro The Acorn, which serves dinner, as well as brioche and coffee in the mornings. We had a beautiful dinner there one night and enjoyed Mangonui’s world famous fish and chips on the other. Mangonui is a picturesque harbour (like most of the area we travelled). Jean directed us to a terrific lookout with commanding views of the area. A short distance away are good swimming beaches. There are a selection of gift shops and a wine store. But mostly its just very peaceful and relaxing.
We went on a trip to Cape Reinga from there (booked by Jean), leaving about 9.30 and returning 6pm – a long day, but worth it. (see my separate review for this). People from Paihia had an even longer day, with a 6.30am start. Take our advice and head up to Mangonui and take your trip from there, plus get to see all the coastal scenery on the way up.
I can’t recommend the Old Oak highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronnykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Staying at the Old Oak was simply perfect!! Our room, Ruru, was beautifully decorated, modern and comfortable. The hotel really has a lot of personality. The Old Oak is a huge part of Mangonui history and while the hotel is much more modern now, it is speckled with some Old Oak artifacts which I thought was ingenious and very chic.
The hotel is steps away from the water and faces the most BEAUTIFUL view. Jean, the owner, had wonderful suggestions for things to do around Mangonui and the Far North and while we had an amazing time exploring New Zealand, we were just as excited to return to the Old Oak each night. Sitting on the hotel's veranda or getting a drink at the the Acorn Bar & Bistro right next door were some of the best moments of my trip.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaGio16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I can’t say enough about The Old Oak. In a word, it is paradise. The inn is beautifully restored, the rooms are impeccably decorated, and the location is idyllic. (Oh, and the bed was really comfy!) The hosts were fantastic, too: they’re so knowledgeable about the area and full of great ideas about where to go and what to see in the Far North. And, last but not least, the bistro next door is yummy! I want to go back!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmorrisonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Totally renovated boutique hotel along the walking area of town. The bay is across the road. Luxury linens and pillow and bed was very comfortable. Separate bath tub and shower. Fast internet. Management was very helpful, knowledge about the area and moving to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodhi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews