We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Motel”
Review of Mangonui Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mangonui Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Motel”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We are back in Malaysia & what a great place to be in NZ, South island was better though but the northern part of North Island after Paihia is fantastic including Mangonui. Cape Reinga is awesome...like a heavenly place. View is wow!!.
Mangonui Motel was the best.The hospitality was superb where we put up on Oct 16 & 17, 2013. It was the best place in our 3 weeks stay in NZ via rental car in NZ. The ambiance, location, view, facilities & hospitality is something I will never forget. Honestly, I will go there again.
My stay in NZ was unforgettable.
Those who have not visited NZ, you have missed something!! I have traveled the 5 continents but NZ & Brazil are tops for me!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harban S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very helpful staff as i got in about 6pm it was dark so they lent me a torch to find my way around and down to the restaurants on the foreshore. Very picturesqe overlooking the bay. The units are all refurbished warm and comfortable . Water pressure is what you would expect of an older building. Very reasonable price;

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views and unit 6 is on the end elevated for panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfie2456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

An excellent place to stay a few nights. Mangonui is a lovely little port with mainly yachts but also a few commercial fishing boats to see going out and returning. We saw fish jumping one evening at sunset, apparently as they chased smaller fish.
Yes, the view is pushed pretty hard on the advertising billboards - but it is not a static view. I liked watching people fishing from dinghies, bigger boats on the move and many fish breaking the surface, as we had a drink in our Unit before going down to the Waterfront restaurant. (The Thai restaurant is excellent also, and for novelty value the outdoor deck of the fish and chip shop is very good.)
We have wandered about the world a bit over the years. I can think of few places that have competed with the Mangonui Motel outlook from our Unit of sea based activity at sunset.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a road trip to the far north. We looked at other B&B's and hotels in the area, ~Taipa, Coopers Beach etc and it was school holidays so not much left to choose from, however happy enough stay at the Mangonui Motel. Yes the motel style is older, dated and circa 1970 but it is clean and tidy and every unit has a wee patio and private lawn with the loveliest views of the harbour and wharf. The price was OK for what we got, wouldn't want to pay any more though. The couch was a bit saggy as you watched TV but loads of TV channels. We were in a unit further away from the motel office so the wi-fi didnt reach down to us so we just walked a few paces up the hill and could access wi-fi no problem. There is a small track at the end of the driveway that takes you down to the township of Mangonui, it comes out by the old court house which is now an art gallery. You can mooch about the town and then take the wee track back up to the hotel, it only takes 5mins walking uphill.

Room Tip: Ask about whether you can access wi-fi from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argamemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

"Awesome view" stresses this motel's brochure adverts and the various billboards it's had put up around the charming Northland village of Mangonui. True enough: the motel had an awesome view of Doubtless Bay...but we could have seen that by driving to the top of the hill and parking outside the neighbouring church. The fact is that this was, by a long way, the worst motel apartment we stayed in New Zealand. We stayed in unit 2. Maybe others were better...but I saw no obvious evidence of that. In our apartment, the kitchen units were dated, shabby and tired and the kitchen itself was not particularly well equipped for self catering, with no sharp knife for cutting meat. A small but steady stream of ants marched from the living room area into the cooking space. The two single spare beds in the dull and uninspiring living area had scratched and torn divan bases, that there had been no attempt to hide. Throughout the apartment there were signs of wear and tear, with peeling and scratched paint in places on the walls, broken window latches, shabby and cheap old curtains that didn't fit or close properly (and didn't reach to the ceiling so failed to cut out light from the top windows) and decor and linen that simply didn't match or co-ordinate. There was a garden area but the once-white plastic garden furniture was blackened with dirt and mould. In the cramped and dated bathroom, the old-fashioned metal shower cubicle had kiddies' fish and dolphin fun stickers stuck on the walls...as if a guest's child had run riot once upon a time and the owners had just never been bothered to clean it up. The seal where the shower cubicle walls met the base had gone and was half covered by a piece of tatty, black sticky tape. The bedroom had a comfy, firm bed but furniture was cheap and dated, though reasonably tidy. On our arrival the owner (who seemed a pleasant enough chap) shouted down from his balcony that the room was open but that he was going for his tea...and that was the last we saw of him until checking out. On our return to the room after the first full day's stay, we were greeted by a message saying the office was shut and would remain so until the following morning. I then found that my bath towel had been cleared away but not replaced and had to go to the office before checking out to get a fresh one. The owner did apologise and, as a result, didn't charge us for a couple of phone calls we'd made - but it was another example of sloppy housekeeping and disinterested management. Despite all these disappointments, the price was more than we had paid at really good apartments/motels elsewhere. Not good value. Don't stay at the Mangonui Motel. That said, don't let this put you off visiting Mangonui itself which is lovely, friendly little place with some good places to eat and drink and several other motels, B&Bs and rooms to rent.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popgunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, Owner at Mangonui Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
It is now 2014. I have renovated to modern standards 3 of my 6 one bedroom apartments. I will try to post a photo here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

It's hard to say what makes this place so charming. The location - overlooking the harbour with great views from all rooms is part of it but I also loved the 60s modernist styling. It's been painted and refurnished but fortunately not modernized. I loved the way the units all have their own little private lawn where you get the last of the evening sun. We liked it so much we extended our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We have just returned from a visit to Northland beaches, where we based ourselves in Mangonui at the Mangonui Motel (a very wise choice indeed!).

We had only been home in Auckland for a few days after a month in the Bahamas when we decided to make the trip north. As it turned out, our trip to Mangonui has been the perfect antidote to the post-holiday blues. From the moment we arrived, Richard (our host and motel owner) made us feel very welcome. The views from our motel unit (atop the Mangonui hill) were just awesome! (like the brochure says). Richard's knowledge about the region is limitless which made our stay all the more enjoyable.

This place is a total gem. After a hard day out and about at the different beaches in the area, as well as a couple of vineyards, there is nothing better than relaxing with a sunset cocktail and enjoying the amazing vista from Mangonui Motel. Very peaceful and restful, just watching the fishing boats and yachts returning after a day out, the last of the day's rays shining on their sails - perfection!

We dined at the local Thai restaurant (Thai Chef and Restaurants) on Richard's recommendation. Amazing food - the best outside of Thailand we decided - and we have been to Thailand most years over the last 20. On our last night, late diners that we are, we made best attempts to also enjoy the fish and chips at the 'World Famous Mangonui Fish Shop', but arrived five minutes after closing (8pm). So we are yet to experience that, but from all accounts the Mangonui Fish Shop lives up to its name.

The Mangonui Motel units are very well appointed, even down to champagne flutes! The bathrooms are big, kitchen well equipped, very comfortable beds, a squillion cable tv channels. Stunning views from the bedroom and lounge which both have ranch sliders onto a sloping lawn and the amazing vista.

We can't wait to go back. We now have the sand of the stunning Northland beaches and the beautiful Bahamas inextricably mixed between our toes. Best of all was our choice of Mangonui as a base point and staying at the Mangonui Motel - a central location, with all attractions easily accessible. A lovely place to come home to at the end of a day in the region.

Room Tip: All the rooms share the same amazing view.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KiwiFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.3 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
12.4 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
3.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.9 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangonui Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangonui Motel

Property: Mangonui Motel
Address: 1 Colonel Mould Drive, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mangonui Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six large 50 sq mtr one bedroom apartments. Located on a private area with awesome sea and harbour views. Full facilities for cooking, separate bedrooms, free wifi is available, free parking at your room. 5 Minute walk to the village. Perfect for exploring the Far North of New Zealand on day trips ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Mangonui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing