We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!”
Review of Mangonui Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mangonui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mangonui Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Mangonui B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I were one of four couples who stayed here for a night recently. We later found out it is used for 'unsavoury activities' frequently and we weren't surprised.
Our rooms were $100 a night and the one my husband and I had (Room 10) was disgusting; like a cupboard with not even a double sized bed, despite the publican saying it was. When I suggested the room was not worth $100 he had the cheek to say he could have let it out '14 times' that night! Yes, we could guess why!
The dining room is the local takeaway shop.
In contrast, Opononi, Whangaroa and Duke of Marlborough pubs were we stayed for the other three nights were all fantastic.
Do not stay here!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank lindylou51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We wanted to stay in this area to visit Coopers Beach and the surrounding area we used to holday in every Christmas. We had not been there for over 40 years. As expected there were some huge changes but the Mangonui Hotel looked amazingly well preserved, such a pretty historic hotel. It was interesting staying there. The view from the bedroom looked straight across the road to the sea and there were glass double doors in the bathroom with a great view. Only in Zermatt had we ever stayed in a place with amazing views for a bathroom! Inside it did not look as well kept up as the outside but it was a 'character hotel' and we wanted something different.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon1969_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

avoid it if possible. the rooms are ugly and smelly. the beds have not been changed for at least 50 years and the rooms smell like fish and chips everywhere, definitely one of my worst hotels, I have ever been to...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itchn1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mangonui hotels

Cuxhaven, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you want an overnight experience, you will never forget, come to old, ugly Mangonui pub hotel. We had booked another b+b online from abroad, but this was overbooked on the first day of our stay there and the owners telephoned for one hour but could only find this alternative for us. What a bad place (and I think as village people they knew.)
As we heard the tremendous noise from the hotels pub we didn't want to get there but as there were no other places we had to accept. Oh, we should have slept in our rental car, then we would have had a good nights sleep in comparison to this hovel. The room not only seemed to be a hundred years old, it indeed was (hotel build 1905). So was the bed.Because of the sagging mattress I had to put a blanket under the mattress set, only to avoid to sleep on floor height. It seemd there was only one brand new item in this hotel : the sound machine of the pub. The horrible noise didn't stop until 2 a.m. but that was not the happy end of this night. Some pub guests , all drunken went to their rooms, some were talking and drinking on the terrace right below our room. The toilet facilities of the hotel, opposite to our room and smelling of urine were visited a lot by the drunken guests. It was so loud. Then a lady (or was she a hooker?) was crying and shouting "f... you" and some other phrases , not friendly as well.
Oh how happy we were when this night was over and we could leave - of course we didn't get any price reduction. The next night we stayed at the b+b we originally had booked - what a heavenly place until.... until we got a visit from the police. The Mangonui hotel had accused us for having stolen a blanket. If they would have put fresh linens on their sagging mattresses, they easily would have find it. But why should they do so if the drunken guests from the pub wouldn't register if bed linens are clean or not. Never,never again at this hell.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tobias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We booked in for three nights but only ended up staying one. The noise from the pub downstairs was just too much to get any sleep, especially since our room was on the corner next to the outdoor area. We were hanging out til 1am when the pub closed - only to find the music and drunken shouting kept going past 3am ... on a Wednesday! Would be great if you wanted to stay up all night drinking but that isn't really our thing.

Basic rooms, great views from the deck and handy to the world famous fish and chip shop.

Make sure you ask to see your room first - the website shows all pictures of rooms with double plus single beds but we were originally assigned a room with just a double bed (not queen - double).

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly84NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haberfield, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The town is on of New zealand's oldest towns ,and the Hotel together with other buildings in the town are classified by the New Zealand Histoical Trust. Situated overlooking Doubtless Bay, with great veiws from the verandah,it is not a flash hotel ,it is a two story weatherboard building over a hundred years old!!!!!!!!
Its rooms are adequate with good beds, showers and toilets ,and are decorated in the period it was built. There is a small cafe/ restaraunt which does pretty good food. The owners and staff are very friendly , and the tarrif is very reasonable, the bar is great.. A great place to stay and explore the West coast of the North Island of New zealand. Have a look at their web site. Laurie Ps Old Pacha Mama got it right.

Room Tip: Ask for a verandah room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lAURIE URANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The smell of fried grease from the tasty treat shop on the 1st floor permeated the halls and rooms. Room was tiny and hard for two people to move around, barely a place to put suitcases, and double bed was awful. On the flip side, nice view of the bay, and the bar was fine -although we could have done with out World wide wrestling on the large screen. The hotel has potential. Recommend that you ask to check the place out and see the room before paying. We wish we had, as we would have kept going.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangonui hotels
0.4 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.6 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
2.8 mi away
Doubtless Bay Villas
Doubtless Bay Villas
#1 of 3 in Cable Bay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangonui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangonui Hotel

Property: Mangonui Hotel
Address: Beach Rd, Mangonui, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Mangonui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing