We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did we stay in the village brothel? Terrible night at Mangonui hotel”
Review of Mangonui Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mangonui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mangonui Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Mangonui B&B and Inns
Cuxhaven, Germany
Level Contributor
275 reviews
273 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Did we stay in the village brothel? Terrible night at Mangonui hotel”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you want an overnight experience, you will never forget, come to old, ugly Mangonui pub hotel. We had booked another b+b online from abroad, but this was overbooked on the first day of our stay there and the owners telephoned for one hour but could only find this alternative for us. What a bad place (and I think as village people they knew.)
As we heard the tremendous noise from the hotels pub we didn't want to get there but as there were no other places we had to accept. Oh, we should have slept in our rental car, then we would have had a good nights sleep in comparison to this hovel. The room not only seemed to be a hundred years old, it indeed was (hotel build 1905). So was the bed.Because of the sagging mattress I had to put a blanket under the mattress set, only to avoid to sleep on floor height. It seemd there was only one brand new item in this hotel : the sound machine of the pub. The horrible noise didn't stop until 2 a.m. but that was not the happy end of this night. Some pub guests , all drunken went to their rooms, some were talking and drinking on the terrace right below our room. The toilet facilities of the hotel, opposite to our room and smelling of urine were visited a lot by the drunken guests. It was so loud. Then a lady (or was she a hooker?) was crying and shouting "f... you" and some other phrases , not friendly as well.
Oh how happy we were when this night was over and we could leave - of course we didn't get any price reduction. The next night we stayed at the b+b we originally had booked - what a heavenly place until.... until we got a visit from the police. The Mangonui hotel had accused us for having stolen a blanket. If they would have put fresh linens on their sagging mattresses, they easily would have find it. But why should they do so if the drunken guests from the pub wouldn't register if bed linens are clean or not. Never,never again at this hell.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tobias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We booked in for three nights but only ended up staying one. The noise from the pub downstairs was just too much to get any sleep, especially since our room was on the corner next to the outdoor area. We were hanging out til 1am when the pub closed - only to find the music and drunken shouting kept going past 3am ... on a Wednesday! Would be great if you wanted to stay up all night drinking but that isn't really our thing.

Basic rooms, great views from the deck and handy to the world famous fish and chip shop.

Make sure you ask to see your room first - the website shows all pictures of rooms with double plus single beds but we were originally assigned a room with just a double bed (not queen - double).

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly84NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mangonui hotels

Haberfield, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The town is on of New zealand's oldest towns ,and the Hotel together with other buildings in the town are classified by the New Zealand Histoical Trust. Situated overlooking Doubtless Bay, with great veiws from the verandah,it is not a flash hotel ,it is a two story weatherboard building over a hundred years old!!!!!!!!
Its rooms are adequate with good beds, showers and toilets ,and are decorated in the period it was built. There is a small cafe/ restaraunt which does pretty good food. The owners and staff are very friendly , and the tarrif is very reasonable, the bar is great.. A great place to stay and explore the West coast of the North Island of New zealand. Have a look at their web site. Laurie Ps Old Pacha Mama got it right.

Room Tip: Ask for a verandah room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lAURIE URANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The smell of fried grease from the tasty treat shop on the 1st floor permeated the halls and rooms. Room was tiny and hard for two people to move around, barely a place to put suitcases, and double bed was awful. On the flip side, nice view of the bay, and the bar was fine -although we could have done with out World wide wrestling on the large screen. The hotel has potential. Recommend that you ask to check the place out and see the room before paying. We wish we had, as we would have kept going.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed here mid-week on a tour of Northland. The website makes it clear that this is basically backpacker accommodation not a hotel as such. Very convenient for the Fish and Chip shop and lovely balcony with a view over the bay. The bedrooms were fine for backpacker style and they were on the side of the hotel so away from the bar. We didn't experience any noise problems as another reviewer had suffered.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

We stumbled upoln the Mangonui Hotel after failing to find the B&B we thought we wanted. From our first contact with owner Paddy O'Reilly, we knew this was our place. The rooms were a great value -- spacious and with a view of the water. The food was basic but delicious. The patrons (including an 86-year-old WWII veteran with lots of stories) immediately made us feel part of the community. It was a lively crowd, very friendly, and we learned much about the area. Everyone had suggestions for a day trip. The second night of our stay, the fish we caught that morning had been smoked and was available to share with everyone. If you're looking for a sedate stay, this is not the place. If you want a great price, comfortable room, and a chance to experience local culture, you couldn't do better. MORE FUN THAN ANYONE SHOUJLD EXPECT!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldPachaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Travelled to the Bay of Islands from Auckland and decided to head further north and on the recommendation of a friend, visit the famous Mangonui Fish Shop (which is worth it). I found this hotel in an out of date copy of the Lonely Planet and tried to check it out online but couldn't find any reviews.
We arrived during the day and the hotel is attached to a large bar with betting shop - there was loud music which didn't phase us as it was the middle of the day. Our room was very basic and not particularly clean, but for what we paid ($100 a night) I wasn't complaining and the big windows did open out on to a great view of the ocean. We went out - had a look around, went for fish and chips and then, being 6 months pregnant at the time, decided to call it a night at 10.30pm so headed back to the hotel. The music was even louder and by the now the bar seemed quite busy with mostly older men, drinking and shouting. We watched a film on our laptop to wait until the noise died down and to calm my nerves (the raucous shouting and crashing about was making me quite nervous). Mid-night, still no sign of the noise stopping and there were slamming doors thrown in to mahem. I am not normally bothered by a bit of noise, but it was REALLY loud, as if our room was inside the bar - music blaring, men shouting/swearing and doors crashing. There was no way we could sleep through it, but we tried, with our ear-plugs in. At 2am, with the noise as loud as ever, my husband and I decided that we would not get any sleep so we may as well leave. We loaded up our car and then did the decent thing and managed to hail the manager (who was drinking in the bar) and told him as we couldn't sleep, we were leaving - offering to pay half ($50 - friends have since said we shouldn't have paid a cent.) We then had the 6 hour drive home to Auckland in the fog and rain. Got home at 8am, went to bed and felt a huge sense of relief. The hotel has an odd feeling about it. If you like a deafening party and just want to roll in to bed drunk at goodness knows what time, this might be the place for you. For everyone else who may want to get a good night's sleep and see the fantastic part of the country up there, stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naisbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangonui hotels
0.4 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
0.4 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Ranui Lodge
#12 of 12 in Mangonui
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangonui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangonui Hotel

Property: Mangonui Hotel
Address: Beach Rd, Mangonui, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Mangonui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing