We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Puketiti Lodge Is the Perfect Place to Stay in Doubtless Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Puketiti Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mangonui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puketiti Lodge
Northland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Puketiti Lodge Is the Perfect Place to Stay in Doubtless Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

I just came back from a whirlwind 2-week trip to NZ, and spent the last 4 nights of my trip at the Puketiti Lodge in Mangonui. This place is run by a wonderful Kiwi-German lady named Siggi. She designed the lodge herself, and is very helpful and knowledgeable about all the things that you can do in the Far North, because she has done them all herself!

The accommodation itself is luxurious, super clean, and surprisingly affordable. It's set among hundreds of acres of olive groves. It has 3 suites, plus a 4th "great" room that can accommodate a large family or a group of backpackers. Each room is spacious, and has a to-die-for view over the Mangonui Harbor. In addition, there's a huge sunny deck for entertainment and BBQ; a common kitchen area; a lounge area; and a study for high-speed internet and phone access.

I really enjoyed my stay there, and would highly recommend this place to anyone who is planning to visit the Doubtless Bay/Cape Reinga area. For the price, you won't find a better bargain anywhere in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoopersBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

The rooms are really spacious and tastefully decorated. The wooden deck lead to an breathtaking view of the bay. Friendly staff. Definitively a good value.
One drawback: when people are talking late at night on the gate it is a little difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisskiwi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

Two years ago I spent Christmas, New Years and a simply amazing time at Puketiti Lodge. I was on an eight months trip and this was definitely the place I felt home most, hence I stayd for two whole weeks. The extremely friendly, funny, chatty owner showed me the most beautiful and secretive places in the whole area. The rooms are luxurious and cosy at the same time, all very clean and elegant. Thumbs up - a real insider's tip!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelloverworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planetearth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

Puketiti Lodge offers stunning views of Doubtless Bay, either from a huge deck or from the beautifully decorated, comfortable rooms. The communal areas are comfortable, attractive and equipped with all the comforts of home. And speaking of home, the charming and gracious owner, Siggi, will make you feel right at home. She is also able to recommend great local places to visit that don't necessarilty appear in the guidebooks.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agreenerplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
2.2 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
3.1 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
3.8 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puketiti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puketiti Lodge

Property: Puketiti Lodge
Address: 10 Puketiti Dr, Mangonui 0494, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Mangonui
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing