We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Puketiti Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mangonui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puketiti Lodge
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Such a great place to stay. Siggi (the owner) makes you feel like part of her family. She let us use herbs and veggies from her garden to cook a great meal on the BBQ to eat out on the deck at sunset. Siggi had some great suggestions for things to do and see. The rooms were large, very comfortable, clean, modern and simply decorated. The whole house was amazing really with no heating required thanks to an ingenious sun-heated floor system designed by Siggi. In fact the whole place is very Eco-friendly. Probably our favorite place we stayed at out of half a dozen in the north island. Loved it.

Stayed: January 2012
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Puketiti Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

Although slightly over the shoestring budget ($40/dormbed), Iknow now there is no better place to spend the extra penny.
I wanted to stay forever in the shower, on the terrace, in the comfy beds and chatting with the lovely hostess. Just open the curtains and enjoy the ocean views out of your bed...
So pick up a bottle of good wine at the local wine center in Mangonui, make sure you book ahead and enjoy the awesome views in this amazing place!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Wenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

With a warm welcome from the hostess, we checked in to our room with ensuite bathroom and double windows which enter to the deck that looks over the valley and the lake of Mangonui , New Zealand.
It was heavenly. A few of the best nights we spent on NZ.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antwerpgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

I just came back from a whirlwind 2-week trip to NZ, and spent the last 4 nights of my trip at the Puketiti Lodge in Mangonui. This place is run by a wonderful Kiwi-German lady named Siggi. She designed the lodge herself, and is very helpful and knowledgeable about all the things that you can do in the Far North, because she has done them all herself!

The accommodation itself is luxurious, super clean, and surprisingly affordable. It's set among hundreds of acres of olive groves. It has 3 suites, plus a 4th "great" room that can accommodate a large family or a group of backpackers. Each room is spacious, and has a to-die-for view over the Mangonui Harbor. In addition, there's a huge sunny deck for entertainment and BBQ; a common kitchen area; a lounge area; and a study for high-speed internet and phone access.

I really enjoyed my stay there, and would highly recommend this place to anyone who is planning to visit the Doubtless Bay/Cape Reinga area. For the price, you won't find a better bargain anywhere in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoopersBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

The rooms are really spacious and tastefully decorated. The wooden deck lead to an breathtaking view of the bay. Friendly staff. Definitively a good value.
One drawback: when people are talking late at night on the gate it is a little difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisskiwi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Two years ago I spent Christmas, New Years and a simply amazing time at Puketiti Lodge. I was on an eight months trip and this was definitely the place I felt home most, hence I stayd for two whole weeks. The extremely friendly, funny, chatty owner showed me the most beautiful and secretive places in the whole area. The rooms are luxurious and cosy at the same time, all very clean and elegant. Thumbs up - a real insider's tip!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelloverworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Puketiti Lodge offers stunning views of Doubtless Bay, either from a huge deck or from the beautifully decorated, comfortable rooms. The communal areas are comfortable, attractive and equipped with all the comforts of home. And speaking of home, the charming and gracious owner, Siggi, will make you feel right at home. She is also able to recommend great local places to visit that don't necessarilty appear in the guidebooks.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agreenerplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
5.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
3.2 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
2.3 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Doubtless Bay Villas
Doubtless Bay Villas
#1 of 3 in Cable Bay
128 reviews
4.8 mi away
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation
2.4 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puketiti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puketiti Lodge

Address: 10 Puketiti Dr, Mangonui 0494, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Mangonui
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing